BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-02-2008, 08:23 PM   #1
SiNiStErE92
First Lieutenant
 
SiNiStErE92's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fl

Posts: 312
iTrader: (0)

Ordering a new computer :>

So i wanted a desktop that was a good overall package at the right price, that was also a pretty good gaming platform. After tons of research i think i found the computer im going to order . For the price i think the performance, versatility is pretty good. What do you guys think?
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...SYXS-DC-981005
SiNiStErE92 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2008, 03:14 PM   #2
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
 
UltimateBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

Posts: 3,287
iTrader: (0)

Never heard of that brand of computer before. But reading through the hardware listed, it sounds pretty dated.

http://www.dell.com/content/products...ref=dthp&s=dhs
The link above is to the 420 series from Dell. They are about $300 more, but you get what you pay for. You'll also get about a year free of customer service from Dell.

If you just want to pay some money and 'poof' have a decent system you will have to pay a premium. If you cut corners, there is no telling what will be in that box they send you. Lastly, if your primary concern is cost then I emplor you to look into building your own system. It's really not that hard to do, putting it together is just as easy as charging your cell phone in most cases. And you will get alot of bang for your buck, but I realize it is not for everyone.
__________________

Last edited by UltimateBMW; 12-04-2008 at 12:02 PM. Reason: grammar
UltimateBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-03-2008, 03:19 PM   #3
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
 
UltimateBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

Posts: 3,287
iTrader: (0)

The system posted in the OP raised some flags when they list every component by name, except the CPU. "a 2.2ghz dual core intel" So I did some digging.

Don't know if this is it or not, but its the only cpu that newegg.com sells that could match.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116063
__________________
UltimateBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2008, 01:05 AM   #4
SiNiStErE92
First Lieutenant
 
SiNiStErE92's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fl

Posts: 312
iTrader: (0)

Wow man thanks for investigating. I was real close to pulling the trigger on this thing until i read your first post.You convinced me to look elsewhere . Thank you that would have been a bad decision.
SiNiStErE92 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-04-2008, 02:50 PM   #5
Speedtrap
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: A very fast car :)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London

Posts: 1,800
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateBMW View Post
Never heard of that brand of computer before. But reading through the hardware listed, it sounds pretty dated.

http://www.dell.com/content/products...ref=dthp&s=dhs
The link above is to the 420 series from Dell. They are about $300 more, but you get what you pay for. You'll also get about a year free of customer service from Dell.

If you just want to pay some money and 'poof' have a decent system you will have to pay a premium. If you cut corners, there is no telling what will be in that box they send you. Lastly, if your primary concern is cost then I emplor you to look into building your own system. It's really not that hard to do, putting it together is just as easy as charging your cell phone in most cases. And you will get alot of bang for your buck, but I realize it is not for everyone.
Thats really good price...
__________________
Speedtrap is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2008, 01:55 PM   #6
Neurorad
Major
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Drives: 330xi 6MT Blk/Blk SP
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Location, Location

Posts: 1,209
iTrader: (0)

My new Dell desktop shipped yesterday...

...somewhat concerned about Vista

Looking forward to the monitor upgrade.
Neurorad is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-10-2008, 05:16 PM   #7
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
 
UltimateBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

Posts: 3,287
iTrader: (0)

What are the specifics of your purchase? How big is your new monitor?
__________________
UltimateBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2008, 11:19 PM   #8
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post
My new Dell desktop shipped yesterday...

...somewhat concerned about Vista

Looking forward to the monitor upgrade.
Running Vista 64-bit + Service Pack 1 here, no problems yet, but again, I have 6GB of ram

I wouldn't sweat it if you have atleast 2gb of ram and a decent video card though....Windows 7 Beta 1 is getting released in January, might want to try that out...which is like a SUPER patched VIsta...
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2008, 10:48 AM   #9
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
 
UltimateBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

Posts: 3,287
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphantom View Post
Running Vista 64-bit + Service Pack 1 here, no problems yet, but again, I have 6GB of ram

I wouldn't sweat it if you have atleast 2gb of ram and a decent video card though....Windows 7 Beta 1 is getting released in January, might want to try that out...which is like a SUPER patched VIsta...
4gb of ram is my minimum recommendation for running Vista 64.
__________________
UltimateBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2008, 11:36 PM   #10
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateBMW View Post
4gb of ram is my minimum recommendation for running Vista 64.
was thinking he wanted 32-bit
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2008, 01:30 AM   #11
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
 
UltimateBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

Posts: 3,287
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphantom View Post
was thinking he wanted 32-bit
When did we start talking about 32bit?
__________________
UltimateBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2008, 02:41 AM   #12
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltimateBMW View Post
When did we start talking about 32bit?
well he said he was somewhat concerned about Vista, and from the first specs 2GB of ram meant 32-bit...
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2008, 11:01 AM   #13
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
 
UltimateBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

Posts: 3,287
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphantom View Post
well he said he was somewhat concerned about Vista, and from the first specs 2GB of ram meant 32-bit...
The OP posted a computer with specs, which he ended up not buying.

The poster you quoted bought a new computer, but didnt divuldge any other information about it at all. I think your mixing the 2 guys up, perhaps.
__________________
UltimateBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2008, 12:25 PM   #14
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
^oh haha, maybe, but unless that other poster is getting >3.2GB of ram...I don't think he needs a 64-bit OS
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-16-2008, 05:48 PM   #15
UltimateBMW
Brigadier General
 
UltimateBMW's Avatar
 
Drives: MP4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South

Posts: 3,287
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphantom View Post
^oh haha, maybe, but unless that other poster is getting >3.2GB of ram...I don't think he needs a 64-bit OS
werd
__________________
UltimateBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2008, 02:12 PM   #16
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
OP - what'd you decide?
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2008, 02:18 PM   #17
pdjafari
Colonel
 
pdjafari's Avatar
 
Drives: Axe Murderer with headlights
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Earth

Posts: 2,402
iTrader: (5)

Im prob. going to move onto my 5th build, looking at the new intel i7 chips that use the 45nm technology. look to be much better than anything AMD currently has (phenom)...
pdjafari is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2008, 02:31 PM   #18
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjafari View Post
Im prob. going to move onto my 5th build, looking at the new intel i7 chips that use the 45nm technology. look to be much better than anything AMD currently has (phenom)...


look at my 1337 rig thread. I just build an i7 rig (920 2.66ghz) and that thing is rock solid - vista 64bit
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2008, 11:24 AM   #19
E(@M#
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 94' corolla
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: FL

Posts: 207
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjafari View Post
Im prob. going to move onto my 5th build, looking at the new intel i7 chips that use the 45nm technology. look to be much better than anything AMD currently has (phenom)...

do it..if youre into gaming and are running an sli or crossfire setup.... the scaling is incredible...clocl for clock..puts most yorkfields to shame
E(@M# is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2008, 12:10 PM   #20
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
yup
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2008, 12:17 PM   #21
radix
there's something different about him
 
radix's Avatar
 
Drives: -
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: -

Posts: 896
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkphantom View Post
^oh haha, maybe, but unless that other poster is getting >3.2GB of ram...I don't think he needs a 64-bit OS
I'm not sure how you came up with that number... A 32-bit register can address up to 4GB of RAM directly (or the maximum size of an unsigned int):

Code:
bash-3.2$ perl -le 'print 2**32'
4294967296
64-bit architectures offer other advantages as well, including faster processing for some tasks.
radix is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      12-23-2008, 12:22 PM   #22
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
Quote:
Originally Posted by anmcguire View Post
I'm not sure how you came up with that number... A 32 bit register can address up to 4GB of RAM directly (or the maximum size of an unsigned int):

Code:
bash-3.2$ perl -le 'print 2**32'
4294967296
64-bit architectures offer other advantages as well, including faster processing for some tasks.

here ya go

Quote:
For example, the System Information dialog box may report 3,120 megabytes (MB) of system memory on a computer that has 4 GB of memory installed (4,096 MB)....If a computer has many installed devices, the available memory may be reduced to 3 GB or less. However, the maximum memory available in 32-bit versions of Windows Vista is typically 3.12 GB.
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929605
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST