BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-15-2008, 10:55 AM   #23
lucid
Major General
 
lucid's Avatar
 
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 8,034
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by southlight View Post
Had a similar experience. Added half a liter with the bc reading of 1/4 over minimum and the oil level didn't change at all. But my conclusion is to wait till the indicator tells to add 1l (or 1 qrt) and then doing just that and add exactly 1l (or qrt). Otherwise you have filled up but confused the reading.
So, I am suggesting add it in 1/4 qrt increments. You are suggesting 1 qrt increments. The manual is suggesting 1/2 qrt increments (which I tried and did not work). Oh, boy this is getting too technical and precise for me!

However you look at it, no dipstick FTL!
__________________
lucid is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-15-2008, 11:11 PM   #24
sayemthree
Brigadier General
 
sayemthree's Avatar
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa

Posts: 4,845
iTrader: (0)

anyone here overfill....uh......I mean change there own oil yet?
sayemthree is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-16-2008, 02:42 AM   #25
milk242
Private First Class
 
Drives: Car
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Irvine

Posts: 132
iTrader: (0)

wow this is really pathetic that we have to discuss about this kind of problem. I want a dipstick or a better sensor.
__________________
14 S4
14 X5 35i (on order)
milk242 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2008, 12:57 AM   #26
!Xoible
Banned
 
Drives: ....
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: .

Posts: 46,037
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 M3  [3.50]
2007 335i  [4.50]
2008 528i  [4.00]
2006 Infiniti - G35 ...  [4.00]
just gave me this error right now. i put 1/4 of a quart and it still says at minimum add a quart after about 5 minutes of detecting oil level. i let it sit, i want to see how it is in the morning. i might add another 1/4 of a quart
!Xoible is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2008, 09:17 AM   #27
KonigsTiger
Racying Dynamics
 
KonigsTiger's Avatar
 
Drives: E92M3 RS46 Club Sport, others
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dweller

Posts: 4,398
iTrader: (0)

Take it to the dealership and don't mess so much with this!
__________________
==================================================
KonigsTiger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2008, 09:32 AM   #28
Rick
Stackin' Chips
 
Rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 AW M3 Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Monica, CA

Posts: 607
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///Mantis View Post
just gave me this error right now. i put 1/4 of a quart and it still says at minimum add a quart after about 5 minutes of detecting oil level. i let it sit, i want to see how it is in the morning. i might add another 1/4 of a quart
Careful man, better to be a little low than too full. I learned this hard way. I agree with taking it to the dealer.
__________________
Rick is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      07-17-2008, 10:33 AM   #29
!Xoible
Banned
 
Drives: ....
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: .

Posts: 46,037
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2008 M3  [3.50]
2007 335i  [4.50]
2008 528i  [4.00]
2006 Infiniti - G35 ...  [4.00]
so this morning i added a bit more, i would say less than 1/8th on top of the 1/4th of last night's. i did the measurement it took about 7 minutes to tell me im low and need a quart. so i turned it off went to grab coffee came back did the measurement again and it's same. so i just added another 1/4th right now.

i noticed that my oil only drops when i use M mode. when i dont my oil is the same level.
!Xoible is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2008, 10:27 AM   #30
Q-Tip
Living The Dream
 
Drives: 08, M3, Sedan, Alpine, Fox,
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Charleston, SC

Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)

oil change

i was told the the new M3 / V8 has two drain plugs. which means to get all of the oil out and do a complete oil change both are to be drained. any feed back would be appricated.

Thanks,
Q-Tip is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-25-2008, 10:36 AM   #31
KonigsTiger
Racying Dynamics
 
KonigsTiger's Avatar
 
Drives: E92M3 RS46 Club Sport, others
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dweller

Posts: 4,398
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Q-Tip View Post
i was told the the new M3 / V8 has two drain plugs. which means to get all of the oil out and do a complete oil change both are to be drained. any feed back would be appricated.

Thanks,
I would honestly check with a technician at the dealership. There are enough of these cars by now that have been serviced that they would know this right of the top of their heads.
__________________
==================================================
KonigsTiger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2008, 02:41 PM   #32
sayemthree
Brigadier General
 
sayemthree's Avatar
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: usa

Posts: 4,845
iTrader: (0)

two drain plugs - yes - you can see them on this thread:

http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=156520
sayemthree is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-26-2008, 05:59 PM   #33
batchelorc
Lieutenant
 
batchelorc's Avatar
 
Drives: Deez nuts
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kansas City

Posts: 561
iTrader: (0)

Is there a way to siphon oil out through the top somehow rather than releasing a plug underneath? Car says my dealer overfilled and I really don't want to try draining out the bottom. Dealer is more than an hour away; don't care to go back up.
batchelorc is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 11:49 AM   #34
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,537
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by batchelorc View Post
Is there a way to siphon oil out through the top somehow rather than releasing a plug underneath? Car says my dealer overfilled and I really don't want to try draining out the bottom. Dealer is more than an hour away; don't care to go back up.
No. Suggest carefully loosening one of the drain plugs (car on jack stands or ramps) until some dribbles out. Wear a latex glove.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 03:10 PM   #35
bher
Enlisted Member
 
bher's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 - 6MT - SSII
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Brussels

Posts: 42
iTrader: (0)

Yesterday, oil level was 25% after 4000 mls.
I added 1/2 liter and wait (drive on speedway) 45 minutes, then reading was 75% (1 square missing). I am happy with 75% full and will continue to do like that.
I don't need 100% full and certainly do not want overfill.
I don't want to be too low (missing 1 liter) and will have in the trunk 1/2 liter just in case during long/hard trip

Just my 2 ps
bher is offline   Belgium
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 04:59 PM   #36
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,537
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Another thing to be careful of...

Be careful when you remove the oil filler cap. When I did the rubber gasket separated from the cap and fell down into the suspension. I was able to retrieve it, but it was kind of a pain.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 05:36 PM   #37
lucid
Major General
 
lucid's Avatar
 
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 8,034
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregW / Oregon View Post
Be careful when you remove the oil filler cap. When I did the rubber gasket separated from the cap and fell down into the suspension. I was able to retrieve it, but it was kind of a pain.
Are you changing your own oil?

I checked the color of the oil after 4700. It didn't look dirty to me--yet. Let's see if it looks dirty before the computer indicates an oil change...
__________________
lucid is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-27-2008, 09:07 PM   #38
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,537
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucid View Post
Are you changing your own oil?

I checked the color of the oil after 4700. It didn't look dirty to me--yet. Let's see if it looks dirty before the computer indicates an oil change...
I will probably change at 7k or so.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST