BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
VF Engineering
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-23-2008, 12:33 PM   #23
SHADY1
Hamann M3 Fan
 
SHADY1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 Jerez Black M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Killeen, Texas

Posts: 2,718
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
Talking Good stuff now thats what I call having the need for speed

I love the mods you put on your car I will have to do this stuff to my M3
__________________

JZB,6MT, My mods 360 Forged 20inch wheels,VF650 Supercharger,SPEC Super Twin Disk Clutch,Hamann CF roof spoiler,H&R springs,CF grills,Hamann rear trunk spoiler,Hamann Side Skirts, ARKYM full CF bumper, Gintani Race exhaust, AA X-pipe catless,RPI scoops,AA SSK, Arkym CF Double Sided Vented Hood,Arkym CF rear Diffuser
SHADY1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 01:24 PM   #24
SlammedR8
Brigadier General
 
SlammedR8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Audi R8 V10 +2013 Audi S4
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto

Posts: 4,936
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to SlammedR8
NICE!

Im looking at a software upgrade, but Im in Canada - can I do the software upload myself or how does it work?

So according to the dyno, you gained 44hp, but that includes your intake and exhaust?
__________________
SlammedR8 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 01:51 PM   #25
KonigsTiger
Racying Dynamics
 
KonigsTiger's Avatar
 
Drives: E92M3 RS46 Club Sport, others
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dweller

Posts: 4,398
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slammedm3 View Post
NICE!

Im looking at a software upgrade, but Im in Canada - can I do the software upload myself or how does it work?

So according to the dyno, you gained 44hp, but that includes your intake and exhaust?
I'm afraid they must have the ECU in order to modify it.
__________________
==================================================
KonigsTiger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 02:03 PM   #26
mkoesel
Moderator
 
Drives: 2015 Felt IA2
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canton, MI

Posts: 13,673
iTrader: (1)

Wow, nice results.
__________________
A gen-u-ine BMW eff-eight-zero with them tandem clutches in the transmission and that dad gum sun roof on the top-a da cawr.
mkoesel is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 02:42 PM   #27
SlammedR8
Brigadier General
 
SlammedR8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Audi R8 V10 +2013 Audi S4
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto

Posts: 4,936
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to SlammedR8
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW-M-Mexico View Post
I'm afraid they must have the ECU in order to modify it.
Oh Damn!!

So do those dynos show your gains with your exhaust/intake as well? or just the ECU?
__________________
SlammedR8 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 05:45 PM   #28
GnokGnik
Captain
 
Drives: E92 335i, 997 C2S
Join Date: May 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 936
iTrader: (0)

Off topic: Is it possible to buy a extra ECU? lol.
GnokGnik is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 06:01 PM   #29
KonigsTiger
Racying Dynamics
 
KonigsTiger's Avatar
 
Drives: E92M3 RS46 Club Sport, others
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dweller

Posts: 4,398
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slammedm3 View Post
Oh Damn!!

So do those dynos show your gains with your exhaust/intake as well? or just the ECU?
Yep, it does include thee exhaust and intake.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GnokGnik View Post
Off topic: Is it possible to buy a extra ECU? lol.
Nop, it is very difficult to get an ECU to replace your existing one as a buch of codes are unique to it.
__________________
==================================================
KonigsTiger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 06:04 PM   #30
KonigsTiger
Racying Dynamics
 
KonigsTiger's Avatar
 
Drives: E92M3 RS46 Club Sport, others
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dweller

Posts: 4,398
iTrader: (0)

BBK and these seats ordered from BMW peformance are also on there way!!!! These seats are not sold in the USA or Canada since they are not DOT approved for some reason.
Attached Images
  
__________________
==================================================
KonigsTiger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 06:19 PM   #31
lucid
Major General
 
lucid's Avatar
 
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 8,034
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW-M-Mexico View Post
BBK and these seats ordered from BMW peformance are also on there way!!!! These seats are not sold in the USA or Canada since they are not DOT approved for some reason.
As I like to say, you are the "Mod General" of this forum man! Replace the system assigned "Lieutenant Colonel" in your avatar with that!

I assume you ordered the seats in Mexico? If not, from where? Also, do you know if the side airbags will still for with those seats?

Thanks.
__________________
lucid is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 06:30 PM   #32
KonigsTiger
Racying Dynamics
 
KonigsTiger's Avatar
 
Drives: E92M3 RS46 Club Sport, others
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dweller

Posts: 4,398
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucid View Post
As I like to say, you are the "Mod General" of this forum man! Replace the system assigned "Lieutenant Colonel" in your avatar with that!

I assume you ordered the seats in Mexico? If not, from where? Also, do you know if the side airbags will still for with those seats?

Thanks.
Hahaha!! Don't know why you would say that .

Anyway, yes, ordered in Mexico since I couldn't get them in the USA or Cananda and yes, they do have the air bags (one of the first things I asked). What I don't know yet (and did ask) is whether the back of the seats is CF or simple plastic (probably plastic) and how much of a weight saving is there. I was told it is considerable but don't know how much yet. Also, they come ONLY in Alcantara and ONLY in Anthracite, just like in the pic above and are bearly being produced right now.
__________________
==================================================
KonigsTiger is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 08:29 PM   #33
TonyTone
Major
 
TonyTone's Avatar
 
Drives: M3 VERT
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: FL

Posts: 1,179
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Skype™ to TonyTone
What would be the wrhp??
TonyTone is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 08:48 PM   #34
lucid
Major General
 
lucid's Avatar
 
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 8,034
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW-M-Mexico View Post
Anyway, yes, ordered in Mexico since I couldn't get them in the USA or Cananda and yes, they do have the air bags (one of the first things I asked). What I don't know yet (and did ask) is whether the back of the seats is CF or simple plastic (probably plastic) and how much of a weight saving is there. I was told it is considerable but don't know how much yet. Also, they come ONLY in Alcantara and ONLY in Anthracite, just like in the pic above and are bearly being produced right now.
They will most likely be plastic. But, the CF/Plastic difference would be small compared to the savings you will get from stock->plastic. I think there are 6 motors in each stock seat. I would expect total savings in the 80lb-100lb range. Please weigh the new seats before you put them in, and the stock seats when you take them out, and let us know.

It sounds like I might need to drive down to Mexico soon!

How much is the dealer charging you there for the seats?
__________________
lucid is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 09:04 PM   #35
Archibald Donnington
Lieutenant
 
Archibald Donnington's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 mini coop s
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 483
iTrader: (0)

Shhhhh. Don't let BMW NA get an earfull of this or....
Let's hope they don't treat the flashing to the M's as they do the 335's.
aaron
__________________
a family man...
Archibald Donnington is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 09:07 PM   #36
lucid
Major General
 
lucid's Avatar
 
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 8,034
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archibald Donnington View Post
Let's hope they don't treat the flashing to the M's as they do the 335's.
They most likely will...
__________________
lucid is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 09:34 PM   #37
ihyln
Banned
 
Drives: M3post sucks
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: M3post sucks

Posts: 3,385
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
2002 530i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to ihyln
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW-M-Mexico View Post
Hahaha!! Don't know why you would say that .

Anyway, yes, ordered in Mexico since I couldn't get them in the USA or Cananda and yes, they do have the air bags (one of the first things I asked). What I don't know yet (and did ask) is whether the back of the seats is CF or simple plastic (probably plastic) and how much of a weight saving is there. I was told it is considerable but don't know how much yet. Also, they come ONLY in Alcantara and ONLY in Anthracite, just like in the pic above and are bearly being produced right now.
They aren't DOT approved because of the lack of side airbags. I do believe that BMW does sell the seats with the side airbags for US consumption.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucid View Post
They most likely will...
Definitely yes to that. I wouldn't flash till after my warranty expires.
ihyln is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 10:02 PM   #38
JEllis
Brigadier General
 
JEllis's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 M3, E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SD CA/Yuma

Posts: 4,674
iTrader: (4)

Great numbers!!!

Jason
__________________
http://www.m3post.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic14547_7.gif
JEllis is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-23-2008, 11:57 PM   #39
drsnooz
Professor
 
drsnooz's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E60 M5
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Viva Las Vegas!!!

Posts: 437
iTrader: (3)

Nice work BMW-M-Mexico! Thanks for the post.
drsnooz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2008, 03:48 AM   #40
edlms
Private First Class
 
edlms's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Singapore

Posts: 149
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW-M-Mexico View Post
Hahaha!! Don't know why you would say that .

Anyway, yes, ordered in Mexico since I couldn't get them in the USA or Cananda and yes, they do have the air bags (one of the first things I asked). What I don't know yet (and did ask) is whether the back of the seats is CF or simple plastic (probably plastic) and how much of a weight saving is there. I was told it is considerable but don't know how much yet. Also, they come ONLY in Alcantara and ONLY in Anthracite, just like in the pic above and are bearly being produced right now.
i heard they have the side airbags, but don't have seat sensors to detect if you have a passenger or not...

as for my previous query, i was wondering if i can send them my ECU for a reflash, or do they physically need the car present to optimise the reflash?

thanks.

you're the MOD LORD!!!

cheers
__________________
GruppeM CAI, GruppeM Titanium Exhaust, Matt Black Grills, Custom Steering Wheel, Alcantara Steering Wheel, BMW Performance Steering Wheel, M Tech Pedals, M Tech Gear Knob, 19" Schmeiden Rims-Gunmetal, 3D Rear Diffuser, AA SSK
edlms is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2008, 05:20 AM   #41
slipknot
Lieutenant
 
slipknot's Avatar
 
Drives: omega 2.5
Join Date: May 2008
Location: rotterdam

Posts: 413
iTrader: (0)

great....I expect more than 500 from the csl
slipknot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2008, 06:01 AM   #42
d_dot
4 * General
 
d_dot's Avatar
 
Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

Posts: 645
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
wow so i can i buy a second ecu to have it done up and switch back to the original when i take the car in for service???
d_dot is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2008, 07:43 AM   #43
lucid
Major General
 
lucid's Avatar
 
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: USA

Posts: 8,034
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_dot View Post
wow so i can i buy a second ecu to have it done up and switch back to the original when i take the car in for service???
As someone mentioned already, I don't think you can swap ECUs in and out at will. My SA told me that car specific info is recorded by the ECU such as mileage. If he is correct, I imagine the dealer needs to program a new ECU before it can be installed.
__________________
lucid is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      07-24-2008, 08:17 AM   #44
d_dot
4 * General
 
d_dot's Avatar
 
Drives: F12 M6,Audi R8 Lambo Gallardo
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tri-State

Posts: 645
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to d_dot
Damn guess I will b voinding my warranty cause I need that software in my life!
d_dot is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST