BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing
 
E92-lighting
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-17-2008, 10:14 PM   #23
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,613
iTrader: (3)

my next comp is a mac
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2008, 10:17 PM   #24
AJerman
Major
 
AJerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC

Posts: 1,381
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to AJerman Send a message via MSN to AJerman Send a message via Yahoo to AJerman
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crimson92 View Post
my next comp is a mac
Good choice. I love my MacBook.
__________________
2008 BMW 335i: Jet Black, Jade Gray, Gray Poplar, 6MT - Stock... for now.
AJerman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-17-2008, 11:43 PM   #25
darkphantom
Banned
 
Drives: E93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The place for Bimmers

Posts: 5,949
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to darkphantom
Knowing MSFT - they'll probably extend support for XP - if not, you still have support 5 years after the last Service pack which is SP3 - due out soon if not out already.

btw, Vista sucks ass even with SP1 - wait for Windows 7

Vista is like ME - sucks and no one likes it.
darkphantom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2008, 09:38 AM   #26
AJerman
Major
 
AJerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC

Posts: 1,381
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to AJerman Send a message via MSN to AJerman Send a message via Yahoo to AJerman
Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstClass View Post
Try playing games on a Mac.

I think the Windows cycles will go like this. Windows 98 -> XP -> Windows 7
Nobody ever really used Windows 2000 cause it was shit and the same deal with Vista. Those two were/will be skipped right over.
Haha, wait, I just saw this one.

Windows 2000 was shit and no one used it? You aren't in the computer industry are you? 2000 wasn't a home OS, but it was used quite a bit and was a VERY good OS. XP was basically just a pretty version of 2k with all the stuff added to make it user friendly. The server versions of 2000 are still very widely used. In fact, I just logged off of a client that was running Windows 2000 Server.

To say Windows 2000 was shit has got to be by far one of the silliest statements I've ever heard. I'd replace 2000 with ME or Bob or something if you want.
__________________
2008 BMW 335i: Jet Black, Jade Gray, Gray Poplar, 6MT - Stock... for now.
AJerman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2008, 09:41 AM   #27
hks786
Major General
 
Drives: *
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK

Posts: 5,348
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spool View Post
Fuck Vista, power hungry and non of my old school software ever work...and too lazy to find updates...


XP foe lyfe
+1

I love the Vista interface etc. It was easy to get used to, but I'm afraid it is very power hungry. You need more hardware to run certain things like games on Vista than you would if you ran XP Pro.

I went back to XP Pro very quickly, but I have a Vista-like theme. Looks very classy
__________________
hks786 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2008, 10:16 AM   #28
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
 
UncleWede's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

Posts: 2,284
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJerman View Post
I'm not sure why you had trouble setting up wireless. When it detects your network all you have to do is click it in the tray icon and it will ask you for your wireless key.
I looked and had a wireless card, but each time I tried to connect to a wireless network, it said I needed a wireless device. I followed the link it provided, it showed a wireless card, but it had to be active, followed the link and got back to the original place where it again told me I needed a device. I finally had to switch to classic setup of control panel and desktop, right-click network properties and then configure just like I've done hundreds of times in any other WindOS. Oh, and between each link click, it asked me AGAIN if I really wanted to do that.
UncleWede is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2008, 10:22 AM   #29
hks786
Major General
 
Drives: *
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK

Posts: 5,348
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleWede View Post
I looked and had a wireless card, but each time I tried to connect to a wireless network, it said I needed a wireless device. I followed the link it provided, it showed a wireless card, but it had to be active, followed the link and got back to the original place where it again told me I needed a device. I finally had to switch to classic setup of control panel and desktop, right-click network properties and then configure just like I've done hundreds of times in any other WindOS. Oh, and between each link click, it asked me AGAIN if I really wanted to do that.
I turned that security thing off. I forgot what it's called. It asks you for permission for EVERYTHING. Even if you see a nice wallpaper on the net and you try to use it for your desktop.
__________________
hks786 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2008, 11:19 AM   #30
UncleWede
Long Time Admirer, First Time Owner
 
UncleWede's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 325i Arctic
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Oxnard, CA

Posts: 2,284
iTrader: (0)

Since it was my first try, I didn't know where that was at. Kinda like the default firewall in XP SP2. All teh desktops at work are Pro and behind a Cisco firewall or two, why do I need that darn thing? Plus it blocked me from seing the virus and event logs on those machines. It's now on my installation sheet to make sure firewall is turned off.
UncleWede is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2008, 05:23 PM   #31
FirstClass
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posts: 3,199
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJerman View Post
Haha, wait, I just saw this one.

Windows 2000 was shit and no one used it? You aren't in the computer industry are you? 2000 wasn't a home OS, but it was used quite a bit and was a VERY good OS. XP was basically just a pretty version of 2k with all the stuff added to make it user friendly. The server versions of 2000 are still very widely used. In fact, I just logged off of a client that was running Windows 2000 Server.

To say Windows 2000 was shit has got to be by far one of the silliest statements I've ever heard. I'd replace 2000 with ME or Bob or something if you want.
I meant ME, not 2000.
__________________
328xi Coupe, Montego Blue on Black with Alum, Step, Sport, Premium, CA, PDC, Cold Weather (Damn Pennsylvania winters)
Current Mods: Heavy right foot - Planned Mods: Lightweight right foot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jh valley View Post
shit, if i had that kind of money id buy a gtstreet for monday, an ascari a10 for tuesday, a DBS for wednesday and id just ride jessica alba the rest of the week.
FirstClass is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-18-2008, 05:26 PM   #32
AJerman
Major
 
AJerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC

Posts: 1,381
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to AJerman Send a message via MSN to AJerman Send a message via Yahoo to AJerman
Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstClass View Post
I meant ME, not 2000.
Haha, ok, that makes MUCH more sense then.
__________________
2008 BMW 335i: Jet Black, Jade Gray, Gray Poplar, 6MT - Stock... for now.
AJerman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-18-2008, 03:12 PM   #33
AllydNYC
Loading...
 
AllydNYC's Avatar
 
Drives: 08' 328xi | 91' E30 318is
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gilbert, AZ

Posts: 2,188
iTrader: (15)

Garage List
2008 328xi  [5.00]
Microsoft is probably getting pissed off that everyone is still on XP so their gonna have to push people to get Vista now. I hated Vista myself.
AllydNYC is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      06-06-2008, 03:05 PM   #34
RIP-A4
estudioG design+interiors
 
Drives: 2007 335i coupe
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: whittier, CA

Posts: 403
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwhype View Post
had vista for 3 weeks now...itunes doesnt work...flash drives are not recognized, updates occur everyday....but i think half those are because i have all sorts of add-ons
wow....time for windows 7
__________________
RIP-A4 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-06-2008, 03:12 PM   #35
AJerman
Major
 
AJerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wake Forest, NC

Posts: 1,381
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to AJerman Send a message via MSN to AJerman Send a message via Yahoo to AJerman
I don't get it, is this just a one post a month thread?
__________________
2008 BMW 335i: Jet Black, Jade Gray, Gray Poplar, 6MT - Stock... for now.
AJerman is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST