BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-30-2008, 02:08 AM   #1
lebreeze
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 m3 , 2014 991
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: windsor

Posts: 594
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 e92 m3  [0.00]
comes w/ runflats ?

I was just wondering if the new m3 came with runflats. My CA told me today that it did. I am from canada so i dont know if our m3 did come with runflats. In the brochure it says there is a runflat indicator so does that mean there is runflats?

lebreeze
lebreeze is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 02:11 AM   #2
gorun
Lieutenant
 
gorun's Avatar
 
Drives: W166 ML63 PP
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Where the roads are crap...

Posts: 513
iTrader: (0)

Dont think it does
gorun is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 02:24 AM   #3
dangoma
Your Mom
 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Danville, CA

Posts: 234
iTrader: (0)

CA's are stupid.
Mine said that the car did not come with a spare cause the car had runflats.
Um talk about not knowing what he is selling.
I clearly corrected him and made him feel stupid.
dangoma is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 02:46 AM   #4
lvwirelessguy
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3, 2012 Golf TDI
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 702

Posts: 947
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2005 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to lvwirelessguy
///M cars do not come with run flats thankfully!
lvwirelessguy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 03:17 AM   #5
kbk_75
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Alpine White E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bombay, India

Posts: 404
iTrader: (0)

The M3 does not come with runflat tyres. It does have a tyre pressure monitoring system. I've had my tyre pressure monitor indicate a puncture three times in four months, when, in fact, there wasn't one. IMHO, what's happening is that the system alerts you when your current tyre pressure drops beyond a certain percentage of the pressure you "set" the tyres at.

In actual fact the system is not measuring tyre pressure at all, but tyre rotation speed, if I'm not mistaken.
kbk_75 is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 04:17 AM   #6
lvwirelessguy
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3, 2012 Golf TDI
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 702

Posts: 947
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2005 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to lvwirelessguy
The E92 M3 has Direct TPMS, an easy way to tell is by the solid metal valve stems

I believe all 07 and newer BMWs have Direct TPMS

Older cars had Indirect TPMS which measures the air pressure indirectly by monitoring individual wheel speeds and other signals available in the vehicle
lvwirelessguy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 04:30 AM   #7
Malbolge
Major General
 
Malbolge's Avatar
 
Drives: TiAg Z4 Coupe 3.0Si
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: EE

Posts: 5,192
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbk_75 View Post
In actual fact the system is not measuring tyre pressure at all, but tyre rotation speed, if I'm not mistaken.

in europe, my car for sure, doesn't have anything in the wheels, the tmps is in ABS unit i think, just measuring circumference of the wheels and the difference between, and if its alarming.. you get an alarm.
__________________
'07 TiAg E86 Z4 Coupe 3.0si
Malbolge is offline   Estonia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 04:36 AM   #8
OzStriker
Captain
 
OzStriker's Avatar
 
Drives: Ford Falcon Ute, Ducati 1198S
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne

Posts: 923
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via MSN to OzStriker
There is a bit of wrong info here.

The E92 M3 comes with either FTM (Flat Tyre Monitoring) or TPM (Tyre Pressure Monitoring).

In Australia we have FTM which as has been mentioned above simply measures change in wheel diameter through a change in wheel RPMs. You need to reset this each time you change the pressure in the tyres, the car does a short reinitialisation over a few metres and uses this wheel diameter to detect any change if a tyre deflated.

TPM is standard in the USA as it is mandatory in all new cars over there, and has been since September 2007.
__________________
BMW E92 M3 6MT, G-Power SKII supercharged, custom exhaust with 100 cell cats and Remus Sport mufflers, Brembo 380mm BBK, BMW Performance steering wheel, LUX H8 angel eyes, CF CSL boot, Hamann CF diffuser, Vorsteiner CF lip, CF grilles, CF gills, CF bonnet vents, BMW Performance stripes, RAC RG63 wheels, Eibach lowering springs, camber modifications.
OzStriker is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 06:32 AM   #9
kbk_75
Lieutenant
 
Drives: Alpine White E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bombay, India

Posts: 404
iTrader: (0)

Oz, quick question, how often do you check and "reset" your tyre pressures? Have you faced a false alarm Tyre Puncture warning with your car?
kbk_75 is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 07:26 AM   #10
mkoesel
Moderator
 
Drives: IB/PS M-DCT E93 M3
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canton, MI

Posts: 13,554
iTrader: (1)

Anyone know why they chose to put a TPMS button on the dash for the M3, vs. having it only available via iDrive (or the dash computer for non-iDrive) in the normal 3 series? Is it just because they had an extra button with the DTC button gone, or is there something special about the M3 TPMS that makes the button necessary?
__________________
2008 Interlagos Blue E93 M3 - FOR SALE - Engine failure at 95k miles.
Best offer takes it: http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthr...1#post16279561
mkoesel is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 07:41 AM   #11
OzStriker
Captain
 
OzStriker's Avatar
 
Drives: Ford Falcon Ute, Ducati 1198S
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne

Posts: 923
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via MSN to OzStriker
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbk_75 View Post
Oz, quick question, how often do you check and "reset" your tyre pressures? Have you faced a false alarm Tyre Puncture warning with your car?
Well I check pressures weekly I suppose...No false alarms. In reality you only need to reset it if one tyre gets seriously deflated, but good practise to reset each time you check pressures.
__________________
BMW E92 M3 6MT, G-Power SKII supercharged, custom exhaust with 100 cell cats and Remus Sport mufflers, Brembo 380mm BBK, BMW Performance steering wheel, LUX H8 angel eyes, CF CSL boot, Hamann CF diffuser, Vorsteiner CF lip, CF grilles, CF gills, CF bonnet vents, BMW Performance stripes, RAC RG63 wheels, Eibach lowering springs, camber modifications.
OzStriker is offline   Australia
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 08:02 AM   #12
Gearhead999s
Major General
 
Gearhead999s's Avatar
 
Drives: E93 335is(wifes)E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto

Posts: 6,685
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OzStriker View Post
There is a bit of wrong info here.

The E92 M3 comes with either FTM (Flat Tyre Monitoring) or TPM (Tyre Pressure Monitoring).

In Australia we have FTM which as has been mentioned above simply measures change in wheel diameter through a change in wheel RPMs. You need to reset this each time you change the pressure in the tyres, the car does a short reinitialisation over a few metres and uses this wheel diameter to detect any change if a tyre deflated.

TPM is standard in the USA as it is mandatory in all new cars over there, and has been since September 2007.

I beleive the Canadian cars come with the FTM not the TPM.I know 100% that my wifes 335 w 19's came with FTM and I am thankfull for that as I did not have to bother with sensors on her snow tire package and as I have a track setup coming for the M at least I do not have to bother with the sensors.
Gearhead999s is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 10:14 AM   #13
ersin
Brigadier General
 
ersin's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

Posts: 4,012
iTrader: (1)

No runflats for the M3. The other 3 series come with runflats standard. I believe all new cars must have a tire pressure monitoring system of some kind by federal regulation. I do not know details of this regulation. Maybe with runflats you do not need the pressure monitoring.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
ersin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 10:26 AM   #14
mkoesel
Moderator
 
Drives: IB/PS M-DCT E93 M3
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canton, MI

Posts: 13,554
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ersin View Post
No runflats for the M3. The other 3 series come with runflats standard. I believe all new cars must have a tire pressure monitoring system of some kind by federal regulation. I do not know details of this regulation. Maybe with runflats you do not need the pressure monitoring.
As OzStriker pointed out, all cars sold in US must now use TPMS. This is regardless of whether the car has runflats or not.

Many (most?) regions of the world only require the simpler FTMS, which BMW actually prefers for it simplicity.
__________________
2008 Interlagos Blue E93 M3 - FOR SALE - Engine failure at 95k miles.
Best offer takes it: http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthr...1#post16279561
mkoesel is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-30-2008, 10:35 AM   #15
ersin
Brigadier General
 
ersin's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

Posts: 4,012
iTrader: (1)

Thanks for clearing that up, mkoesel.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
ersin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2008, 04:52 PM   #16
Davinhci
Colonel
 
Davinhci's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 M3 E92 & 08 E70 X5 4.8
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX

Posts: 2,474
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
yep no run flats, just repair kit like on the E46
Davinhci is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2008, 05:31 PM   #17
my2008m3
New Member
 
my2008m3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebreeze View Post
I was just wondering if the new m3 came with runflats. My CA told me today that it did. I am from canada so i dont know if our m3 did come with runflats. In the brochure it says there is a runflat indicator so does that mean there is runflats?

lebreeze
Yes Lebreeze, the CANADIAN M3 does indeed come with Michelin Pilot Sport run flats. The 2008 Canadian M3 has FTM (flat tire monitor), which is described in the manual as a system which detects pressure loss by comparing the rotation speeds of the four tires while the car is moving. The flat tire will change it's rolling circumference, thus resulting in a different rpm than the other three.
my2008m3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2008, 08:34 PM   #18
lebreeze
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 m3 , 2014 991
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: windsor

Posts: 594
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 e92 m3  [0.00]
now i am confused. Why would only canadian m3 come with runflats????????????
lebreeze is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2008, 09:17 PM   #19
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

Posts: 7,365
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by lebreeze View Post
now i am confused. Why would only canadian m3 come with runflats????????????
I can only assume he's being sarcastic? Michelin Pilot Sports or PS2s do not come in a runflat version, and if they did, it would mean very different suspension settings.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350

Last edited by GregW / Oregon; 03-31-2008 at 09:34 PM.
GregW / Oregon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2008, 09:29 PM   #20
turb934
First Lieutenant
 
turb934's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Posts: 325
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by my2008m3 View Post
Yes Lebreeze, the CANADIAN M3 does indeed come with Michelin Pilot Sport run flats. The 2008 Canadian M3 has FTM (flat tire monitor), which is described in the manual as a system which detects pressure loss by comparing the rotation speeds of the four tires while the car is moving. The flat tire will change it's rolling circumference, thus resulting in a different rpm than the other three.
Canadian M3's do not have run flat tires. Tires are Pilot Sport PS2, not Pilot Sport.
turb934 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2008, 02:09 AM   #21
E46 Dave
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

No more runflats on M models just tire sealent kit in a can.
E46 Dave is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2008, 10:02 AM   #22
rawedge2
First Lieutenant
 
rawedge2's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 STI - 08 M3
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: long island

Posts: 330
iTrader: (1)

and if sealant cant take care of it??? will bmw bring a spare... cuz i would not want the car towed..?? how does that all work?
rawedge2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST