BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-30-2008, 02:08 AM   #1
lebreeze
Lieutenant
Canada
11
Rep
595
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 m3 , 2014 991
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: windsor

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 e92 m3  [0.00]
comes w/ runflats ?

I was just wondering if the new m3 came with runflats. My CA told me today that it did. I am from canada so i dont know if our m3 did come with runflats. In the brochure it says there is a runflat indicator so does that mean there is runflats?

lebreeze
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 02:11 AM   #2
gorun
Lieutenant
gorun's Avatar
10
Rep
518
Posts

 
Drives: W166 ML63 PP
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Where the roads are crap...

iTrader: (0)

Dont think it does
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 02:24 AM   #3
dangoma
Your Mom
United_States
4
Rep
234
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Danville, CA

iTrader: (0)

CA's are stupid.
Mine said that the car did not come with a spare cause the car had runflats.
Um talk about not knowing what he is selling.
I clearly corrected him and made him feel stupid.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 02:46 AM   #4
lvwirelessguy
Captain
United_States
14
Rep
954
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3, 2012 Golf TDI
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 702

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2005 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to lvwirelessguy
///M cars do not come with run flats thankfully!
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 03:17 AM   #5
kbk_75
Lieutenant
India
7
Rep
404
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bombay, India

iTrader: (0)

The M3 does not come with runflat tyres. It does have a tyre pressure monitoring system. I've had my tyre pressure monitor indicate a puncture three times in four months, when, in fact, there wasn't one. IMHO, what's happening is that the system alerts you when your current tyre pressure drops beyond a certain percentage of the pressure you "set" the tyres at.

In actual fact the system is not measuring tyre pressure at all, but tyre rotation speed, if I'm not mistaken.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 04:17 AM   #6
lvwirelessguy
Captain
United_States
14
Rep
954
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3, 2012 Golf TDI
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 702

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2005 M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Yahoo to lvwirelessguy
The E92 M3 has Direct TPMS, an easy way to tell is by the solid metal valve stems

I believe all 07 and newer BMWs have Direct TPMS

Older cars had Indirect TPMS which measures the air pressure indirectly by monitoring individual wheel speeds and other signals available in the vehicle
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 04:30 AM   #7
Tallest
Major General
Tallest's Avatar
No_Country
105
Rep
5,248
Posts

 
Drives: TiAg Z4 Coupe 3.0Si
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ***

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbk_75 View Post
In actual fact the system is not measuring tyre pressure at all, but tyre rotation speed, if I'm not mistaken.

in europe, my car for sure, doesn't have anything in the wheels, the tmps is in ABS unit i think, just measuring circumference of the wheels and the difference between, and if its alarming.. you get an alarm.
__________________
'07 TiAg BMW Z4 Coupe 3.0si / Everything
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 04:36 AM   #8
OzStriker
Captain
OzStriker's Avatar
Australia
23
Rep
923
Posts

 
Drives: Ford Falcon Ute, Ducati 1198S
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via MSN to OzStriker
There is a bit of wrong info here.

The E92 M3 comes with either FTM (Flat Tyre Monitoring) or TPM (Tyre Pressure Monitoring).

In Australia we have FTM which as has been mentioned above simply measures change in wheel diameter through a change in wheel RPMs. You need to reset this each time you change the pressure in the tyres, the car does a short reinitialisation over a few metres and uses this wheel diameter to detect any change if a tyre deflated.

TPM is standard in the USA as it is mandatory in all new cars over there, and has been since September 2007.
__________________
BMW E92 M3 6MT, G-Power SKII supercharged, custom exhaust with 100 cell cats and Remus Sport mufflers, Brembo 380mm BBK, BMW Performance steering wheel, LUX H8 angel eyes, CF CSL boot, Hamann CF diffuser, Vorsteiner CF lip, CF grilles, CF gills, CF bonnet vents, BMW Performance stripes, RAC RG63 wheels, Eibach lowering springs, camber modifications.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 06:32 AM   #9
kbk_75
Lieutenant
India
7
Rep
404
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White E92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bombay, India

iTrader: (0)

Oz, quick question, how often do you check and "reset" your tyre pressures? Have you faced a false alarm Tyre Puncture warning with your car?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 07:26 AM   #10
mkoesel
Moderator
United_States
184
Rep
13,842
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 SO/CSAT F80 M3
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canton, MI

iTrader: (1)

Anyone know why they chose to put a TPMS button on the dash for the M3, vs. having it only available via iDrive (or the dash computer for non-iDrive) in the normal 3 series? Is it just because they had an extra button with the DTC button gone, or is there something special about the M3 TPMS that makes the button necessary?
__________________
A gen-u-ine BMW eff-eight-zero with them tandem clutches in the transmission and that dad gum sun roof on the top-a da cawr.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 07:41 AM   #11
OzStriker
Captain
OzStriker's Avatar
Australia
23
Rep
923
Posts

 
Drives: Ford Falcon Ute, Ducati 1198S
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Send a message via MSN to OzStriker
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbk_75 View Post
Oz, quick question, how often do you check and "reset" your tyre pressures? Have you faced a false alarm Tyre Puncture warning with your car?
Well I check pressures weekly I suppose...No false alarms. In reality you only need to reset it if one tyre gets seriously deflated, but good practise to reset each time you check pressures.
__________________
BMW E92 M3 6MT, G-Power SKII supercharged, custom exhaust with 100 cell cats and Remus Sport mufflers, Brembo 380mm BBK, BMW Performance steering wheel, LUX H8 angel eyes, CF CSL boot, Hamann CF diffuser, Vorsteiner CF lip, CF grilles, CF gills, CF bonnet vents, BMW Performance stripes, RAC RG63 wheels, Eibach lowering springs, camber modifications.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 08:02 AM   #12
Gearhead999s
Major General
Gearhead999s's Avatar
93
Rep
6,814
Posts

 
Drives: F25 2.8d(wifes)F82 M4
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by OzStriker View Post
There is a bit of wrong info here.

The E92 M3 comes with either FTM (Flat Tyre Monitoring) or TPM (Tyre Pressure Monitoring).

In Australia we have FTM which as has been mentioned above simply measures change in wheel diameter through a change in wheel RPMs. You need to reset this each time you change the pressure in the tyres, the car does a short reinitialisation over a few metres and uses this wheel diameter to detect any change if a tyre deflated.

TPM is standard in the USA as it is mandatory in all new cars over there, and has been since September 2007.

I beleive the Canadian cars come with the FTM not the TPM.I know 100% that my wifes 335 w 19's came with FTM and I am thankfull for that as I did not have to bother with sensors on her snow tire package and as I have a track setup coming for the M at least I do not have to bother with the sensors.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 10:14 AM   #13
ersin
Brigadier General
ersin's Avatar
United_States
42
Rep
4,070
Posts

 
Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

No runflats for the M3. The other 3 series come with runflats standard. I believe all new cars must have a tire pressure monitoring system of some kind by federal regulation. I do not know details of this regulation. Maybe with runflats you do not need the pressure monitoring.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 10:26 AM   #14
mkoesel
Moderator
United_States
184
Rep
13,842
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 SO/CSAT F80 M3
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canton, MI

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ersin View Post
No runflats for the M3. The other 3 series come with runflats standard. I believe all new cars must have a tire pressure monitoring system of some kind by federal regulation. I do not know details of this regulation. Maybe with runflats you do not need the pressure monitoring.
As OzStriker pointed out, all cars sold in US must now use TPMS. This is regardless of whether the car has runflats or not.

Many (most?) regions of the world only require the simpler FTMS, which BMW actually prefers for it simplicity.
__________________
A gen-u-ine BMW eff-eight-zero with them tandem clutches in the transmission and that dad gum sun roof on the top-a da cawr.
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2008, 10:35 AM   #15
ersin
Brigadier General
ersin's Avatar
United_States
42
Rep
4,070
Posts

 
Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Thanks for clearing that up, mkoesel.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2008, 04:52 PM   #16
Davinhci
Colonel
Davinhci's Avatar
United_States
25
Rep
2,474
Posts

 
Drives: 08 M3 E92 & 08 E70 X5 4.8
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2008 M3  [0.00]
yep no run flats, just repair kit like on the E46
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2008, 05:31 PM   #17
my2008m3
New Member
my2008m3's Avatar
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebreeze View Post
I was just wondering if the new m3 came with runflats. My CA told me today that it did. I am from canada so i dont know if our m3 did come with runflats. In the brochure it says there is a runflat indicator so does that mean there is runflats?

lebreeze
Yes Lebreeze, the CANADIAN M3 does indeed come with Michelin Pilot Sport run flats. The 2008 Canadian M3 has FTM (flat tire monitor), which is described in the manual as a system which detects pressure loss by comparing the rotation speeds of the four tires while the car is moving. The flat tire will change it's rolling circumference, thus resulting in a different rpm than the other three.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2008, 08:34 PM   #18
lebreeze
Lieutenant
Canada
11
Rep
595
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 m3 , 2014 991
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: windsor

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2008 e92 m3  [0.00]
now i am confused. Why would only canadian m3 come with runflats????????????
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2008, 09:17 PM   #19
GregW / Oregon
Commander-In-Chief
United_States
137
Rep
7,647
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 Coupe, 2012 ML350
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lake Oswego, OR

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by lebreeze View Post
now i am confused. Why would only canadian m3 come with runflats????????????
I can only assume he's being sarcastic? Michelin Pilot Sports or PS2s do not come in a runflat version, and if they did, it would mean very different suspension settings.
__________________

Greg Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
2015 M4 Coupe - Silverstone/Sakhir/CF
2012 ML350

Last edited by GregW / Oregon; 03-31-2008 at 09:34 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2008, 09:29 PM   #20
turb934
First Lieutenant
turb934's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
325
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by my2008m3 View Post
Yes Lebreeze, the CANADIAN M3 does indeed come with Michelin Pilot Sport run flats. The 2008 Canadian M3 has FTM (flat tire monitor), which is described in the manual as a system which detects pressure loss by comparing the rotation speeds of the four tires while the car is moving. The flat tire will change it's rolling circumference, thus resulting in a different rpm than the other three.
Canadian M3's do not have run flat tires. Tires are Pilot Sport PS2, not Pilot Sport.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 02:09 AM   #21
E46 Dave
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
33
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

No more runflats on M models just tire sealent kit in a can.
Appreciate 0
      04-01-2008, 10:02 AM   #22
rawedge2
First Lieutenant
rawedge2's Avatar
17
Rep
332
Posts

 
Drives: 05 STI - 08 M3
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: long island

iTrader: (1)

and if sealant cant take care of it??? will bmw bring a spare... cuz i would not want the car towed..?? how does that all work?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST