BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-22-2013, 10:05 AM   #1
ThatGuyMikee
Captain
ThatGuyMikee's Avatar
12
Rep
702
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 m3 e90 6spd
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Staten island

iTrader: (2)

Brake pad reset wont take?

I replaced my rotors and pads all around but didnt change the pad sensors because they werent bad/pad didnt wear enough to throw the light on the dash

I still had a month left on the dash that told me when i first started the car and would go away, i thought id reset it and no i get a brake warning come up saying i need to replace my pads -_-

I keep tryin to reset it and i keep getting ----- for the front and rear

Some say i need to get new sensors and try again, some say just unplug mine and plug it back in and reset it(which i tried no luck)
__________________
Originally Posted by onebadmofo

Some people buy cars to look at them and call them their babies, but not me. This car is my bitch and I bought it to drive it.
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2013, 10:31 PM   #2
ThatGuyMikee
Captain
ThatGuyMikee's Avatar
12
Rep
702
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 m3 e90 6spd
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Staten island

iTrader: (2)

Bump
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2013, 12:22 AM   #3
HP Autosport
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
420
Rep
11,447
Posts


 
Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, Brembo, GIAC, Koni, Ohlins, Performance Friction, Quaife, Stoptech, Vorshlag

iTrader: (29)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatGuyMikee View Post
I replaced my rotors and pads all around but didnt change the pad sensors because they werent bad/pad didnt wear enough to throw the light on the dash

I still had a month left on the dash that told me when i first started the car and would go away, i thought id reset it and no i get a brake warning come up saying i need to replace my pads -_-

I keep tryin to reset it and i keep getting ----- for the front and rear

Some say i need to get new sensors and try again, some say just unplug mine and plug it back in and reset it(which i tried no luck)
If you have already tried that, you should replace them with new ones and try resetting again.

We have had customer with Autozone sensors that did not want to reset and replacement German made or quality sensors took care of it.
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2013, 09:55 PM   #4
ThatGuyMikee
Captain
ThatGuyMikee's Avatar
12
Rep
702
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 m3 e90 6spd
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Staten island

iTrader: (2)

Thanks will try new ones!
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2013, 01:25 AM   #5
HP Autosport
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
420
Rep
11,447
Posts


 
Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, Brembo, GIAC, Koni, Ohlins, Performance Friction, Quaife, Stoptech, Vorshlag

iTrader: (29)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatGuyMikee View Post
Thanks will try new ones!
Any luck?
Appreciate 0
      10-16-2013, 10:53 PM   #6
M3ANMACHINE
Hella Functional
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
United_States
24
Rep
1,776
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mission Viejo, CA

iTrader: (6)

Try the brake sensor delete in the DIY section!
__________________

--- E90 ///M3 - AW - 6MT - APEX - Bimmerworld - Dinan - Eisenmann - Evolve - IND - KW - Mode Carbon - PFC - TMS ---

Appreciate 0
      10-17-2013, 07:41 AM   #7
ThatGuyMikee
Captain
ThatGuyMikee's Avatar
12
Rep
702
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 m3 e90 6spd
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Staten island

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HP Autosport View Post
Any luck?
I just got the new ones in the mail today, going to install then later today
Appreciate 0
      10-17-2013, 11:47 AM   #8
HP Autosport
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
420
Rep
11,447
Posts


 
Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, Brembo, GIAC, Koni, Ohlins, Performance Friction, Quaife, Stoptech, Vorshlag

iTrader: (29)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThatGuyMikee View Post
I just got the new ones in the mail today, going to install then later today
New OE sensors should do the trick!
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2013, 06:47 PM   #9
spr
Lieutenant
4
Rep
494
Posts

 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

I had the same issue. I didn't have a brake light before, but I did after doing the reset. I think it confused the values given they were not new and worn some.
Appreciate 0
      10-18-2013, 09:50 PM   #10
HP Autosport
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
420
Rep
11,447
Posts


 
Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Barbara, Brembo, GIAC, Koni, Ohlins, Performance Friction, Quaife, Stoptech, Vorshlag

iTrader: (29)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spr View Post
I had the same issue. I didn't have a brake light before, but I did after doing the reset. I think it confused the values given they were not new and worn some.
Did you use an OE type sensor? Some aftermarket sensors will throw a fault code and throw a reading of 255%.
Appreciate 0
      10-27-2013, 04:03 PM   #11
Bavarianrules84
Private
Bavarianrules84's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
97
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fort Sill, Oklahoma

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 BMW 335i  [0.00]
I can pretty much guarantee you its the sensors, I had the same thing happen to me on 3 different cars that I replaced pads on..
__________________
- Frankie
Email: Bavarian_Boi84@hotmail.com
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2013, 11:12 AM   #12
Charlie@McKennaBMWService
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Charlie@McKennaBMWService's Avatar
3
Rep
348
Posts


 
Drives: '13 AW E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: 10900 Firestone Blvd Norwalk, CA 90650

iTrader: (2)

In theory you would think because the sensor never even got close to the rotor itself that automatically it's still good, but I've been in the automotive service industry for 9+ years and I can tell you that whenever you replace brake pads you want to replace em with new sensors as well. Don't be cheap, it's only $10-25 dollars more...
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST