BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Lux Angel Eyes
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-07-2013, 02:05 PM   #1
BimmerRob08
Major
 
BimmerRob08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3, Space Gray
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: KIKR (ABQ), NM

Posts: 1,257
iTrader: (0)

What's the OEM software no. for tune 240E?

I'm reading alot about this 240E tune. So I have DINAN software and I'm guessing I can take my M3 down to the dealer and should I have them flash the software up to 240E and then have them reload the DINAN software? What's OEM BMW tune number for the 240E tune? I asked my dealer about it a while back and they didn't know what 240E was as it has a different number.

Thanks,
Rob
BimmerRob08 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 05:07 PM   #2
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,647
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Doubtful they will do any of this under warranty.

240E was introduced w/ ISTA/P 47.1 I believe. They dealer can check your integration (ISTA) level if they plug into the car.

After that, in order to get the DINAN tune again, you'll have to have them retune the car on 240E as your previous DINAN tune was on an earlier version and no longer compatible.

http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=780338
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 06:35 PM   #3
maesd74
Private
 
Drives: 2011 M3 sedan comp package
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denver, CO

Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo
Doubtful they will do any of this under warranty.

240E was introduced w/ ISTA/P 47.1 I believe. They dealer can check your integration (ISTA) level if they plug into the car.

After that, in order to get the DINAN tune again, you'll have to have them retune the car on 240E as your previous DINAN tune was on an earlier version and no longer compatible.

http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=780338
For cars under warranty, had anyone had any issues with the dealership when they see that the car has been updated to 240E but don't have any record of performing the software update? It's the automatic tell that the car has been tuned by someone other than a factory authorized dealer. Just curious.
maesd74 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 09:51 PM   #4
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,647
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by maesd74 View Post
For cars under warranty, had anyone had any issues with the dealership when they see that the car has been updated to 240E but don't have any record of performing the software update? It's the automatic tell that the car has been tuned by someone other than a factory authorized dealer. Just curious.
Should be no issue...

However, if anyone requests, I can update it to 240E and make it look like it was never programmed (it will show it still has original software).

All of our customers with the cable get free updates to 240E.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2013, 03:54 AM   #5
BimmerRob08
Major
 
BimmerRob08's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 M3, Space Gray
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: KIKR (ABQ), NM

Posts: 1,257
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
Doubtful they will do any of this under warranty.

240E was introduced w/ ISTA/P 47.1 I believe. They dealer can check your integration (ISTA) level if they plug into the car.

After that, in order to get the DINAN tune again, you'll have to have them retune the car on 240E as your previous DINAN tune was on an earlier version and no longer compatible.

http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=780338

oh interesting. I hope that isn't the case. A while back I asked my BMW rep about updating to the latest software and he mentioned that after the update, they would re-download or re-program with my DINAN tune. But good question to ask so good point. Thanks!

Rob
BimmerRob08 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2013, 04:00 AM   #6
STi_traitor
Banned
 
Drives: BTG 2014 - 3 Laps
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bavaria

Posts: 1,000
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
Should be no issue...

However, if anyone requests, I can update it to 240E and make it look like it was never programmed (it will show it still has original software).

All of our customers with the cable get free updates to 240E.
+1
STi_traitor is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2013, 03:22 PM   #7
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,647
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by BimmerRob08 View Post
oh interesting. I hope that isn't the case. A while back I asked my BMW rep about updating to the latest software and he mentioned that after the update, they would re-download or re-program with my DINAN tune. But good question to ask so good point. Thanks!

Rob
If they are lazy, they can downgrade the software back to whatever they programmed your DINAN tune with.

I've seen some tuners do that, not a fan personally. Always good to be on 190E or above. Back in the day many tuners would revert software back to 'non tunerlock' versions because the car wouldn't start if they tried to tune the later software. But we always had a solution to that and have never downgraded a single car.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2013, 02:40 AM   #8
Zzhou
Lieutenant
 
Zzhou's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 SSII ZCP DCT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Lafayette,IN/Shanghai,China

Posts: 525
iTrader: (0)

Hi, Mike
I have a question.
My car is 2012 M3, built in 2011 October. Should I have 240E or not? When did this 240E release?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
Doubtful they will do any of this under warranty.

240E was introduced w/ ISTA/P 47.1 I believe. They dealer can check your integration (ISTA) level if they plug into the car.

After that, in order to get the DINAN tune again, you'll have to have them retune the car on 240E as your previous DINAN tune was on an earlier version and no longer compatible.

http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=780338
__________________

AA Green Filter/AA Pulley/AA catless X-pipes/AA signature exhaust/AA TUNE/TMS studs/Project Kics R40/AD08/Vorsteiner GTS5 Bumper/LUX H8
Zzhou is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2013, 09:19 AM   #9
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,079
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhouzitao View Post
Hi, Mike
I have a question.
My car is 2012 M3, built in 2011 October. Should I have 240E or not? When did this 240E release?
No, 240E came out after your car was built.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2013, 08:20 PM   #10
clriebari
New Member
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: lloop

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

we always had a solution to that and have never downgraded a single car.
__________________
clriebari is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2013, 08:31 PM   #11
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,218
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
240E is standard on all 2013 builds. Latest version we've seen (untouched) on a late build M3 is 231E.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2013, 11:27 PM   #12
MilehighM3
Colonel
 
MilehighM3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs

Posts: 2,067
iTrader: (9)

They can also get your integration level from a simple key reading, which is done every time the car is in for service. They can then cross reference that to the programming version. Dinan was notorious for downgrading N54 tunes in the past, not sure about the S65 software.
MilehighM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-21-2013, 11:54 PM   #13
Zzhou
Lieutenant
 
Zzhou's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 SSII ZCP DCT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Lafayette,IN/Shanghai,China

Posts: 525
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
No, 240E came out after your car was built.
THANK YOU~ One more question. I have AA tune right now, should I flash my ECU to stock then go to dealer to get upgrade, orI just go in with a TUNE and they can upgrade to 240E.
__________________

AA Green Filter/AA Pulley/AA catless X-pipes/AA signature exhaust/AA TUNE/TMS studs/Project Kics R40/AD08/Vorsteiner GTS5 Bumper/LUX H8
Zzhou is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-20-2013, 11:51 PM   #14
SilentAttack
Major
 
Drives: 08 E90 Jerez Black 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hendersonville, TN

Posts: 1,253
iTrader: (0)

Im gonna call the dealer about this tomorrow. Does anyone know about what it should cost to do this?
SilentAttack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 02:28 PM   #15
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,079
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zzhou View Post
THANK YOU~ One more question. I have AA tune right now, should I flash my ECU to stock then go to dealer to get upgrade, orI just go in with a TUNE and they can upgrade to 240E.
If you want a 240e tune, that's fine but you will lose your AA tune if you do so. This likely means that you will have to buy another AA tune if you want it back. You would have to check with AA in regards to their policy on that though. It's always a good idea to flash to stock if you want the dealer to do any work for you, just as a precaution although we take tuned cars to the dealer all the time without issue.

In my honest opinion, I wouldn't worry about the 240 update since you already have a tune. You'll likely be wasting good money.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 02:29 PM   #16
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,079
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentAttack View Post
Im gonna call the dealer about this tomorrow. Does anyone know about what it should cost to do this?
Since the dealer has to update the ENTIRE car, it's usually not cheap. At least $350 or more. Personally, I would take that money and get a tune. Most of us tuners include the latest BMW software for free with the tune.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 10:20 PM   #17
SilentAttack
Major
 
Drives: 08 E90 Jerez Black 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hendersonville, TN

Posts: 1,253
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
Since the dealer has to update the ENTIRE car, it's usually not cheap. At least $350 or more. Personally, I would take that money and get a tune. Most of us tuners include the latest BMW software for free with the tune.

Gotcha. Yeah I called them this morning they said it cost $199 to update to the 240E software. Not sure if there are any surprised beyond that or not but yeah Id rather just get a tuner tune.
SilentAttack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 10:49 PM   #18
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,218
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentAttack View Post
Gotcha. Yeah I called them this morning they said it cost $199 to update to the 240E software. Not sure if there are any surprised beyond that or not but yeah Id rather just get a tuner tune.
That's a very good price from a dealer, since they will perform a full update on other modules, depending on your current ISTA/P level.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 10:59 PM   #19
BIU
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 A22 E90 M3 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 582
iTrader: (0)

Are there any possible alternate cheaper options available for the avg. M3 owner who just wants to their DME remotely upgraded to 240E while not needing / paying for a tune?

I understand a cable = a cable (Whether you want a DME upgrade only or a full tune)..

I would not touch the local dealers out here with a 10 ft. pole hence my curioisty... TIA
BIU is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 11:02 PM   #20
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,218
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIU View Post
Are there any possible alternate cheaper options available for the avg. M3 owner who just wants to their DME upgraded to 240E while not needing / paying for a tune?

I understand a cable = a cable (Whether you want a DME upgrade only or a full tune)..

Just asking...
Yes - seek a shop with an autologic programmer.

240E updates take ~20 minutes, we only charge $95 for the service. However, this cannot be done remotely.

Try contacting autologic at www.autologic.com to see if there is a programming facility or independent in your country. Otherwise, inquire with your local dealer.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 11:07 PM   #21
BIU
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 A22 E90 M3 DCT
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 582
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Yes - seek a shop with an autologic programmer.

240E updates take ~20 minutes, we only charge $95 for the service. However, this cannot be done remotely.

Try contacting autologic at www.autologic.com to see if there is a programming facility or independent in your country. Otherwise, inquire with your local dealer.
Thanks Tom

Would you guys be interested in opening up a branch out here?

I will do a little research as per your recommendation...
BIU is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-21-2013, 11:09 PM   #22
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,218
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIU View Post
Thanks Tom

Would you guys be interested in opening up a branch out here?

I will do a little research as per your recommendation...
I was out there to visit in April, would definitely consider it!

Let me know if you need help along the way, or if your programmer needs a walkthrough - I've assisted other autologic-equipped facilities in the past.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST