BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Alpine HID
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-18-2013, 10:46 AM   #1
MikeLowry
New Member
 
MikeLowry's Avatar
 
Drives: 6MT JB M3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Check Engine Light/engine malfunction/Reduced power

Driving to the movies last night and this message "engine operating at reduced output" came up and the car started acting funny. I couldn't go past 60, i was able to make it to the movies and back home. It's now Sunday morning so I'm waiting for BMW to open. I just had an ESS s/c installed 3 weeks ago. Has anyone experienced this same problem? took pictures but they need to be resized before getting uploaded.
MikeLowry is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 10:56 AM   #2
IMG
VT3
 
IMG's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 M3 Track car,Ess E90 M3 DD
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Couch

Posts: 6,945
iTrader: (5)

Try to start the car this morning and report back plz.
IMG is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 11:00 AM   #3
MikeLowry
New Member
 
MikeLowry's Avatar
 
Drives: 6MT JB M3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Just started the car again. Message is still there. I'm trying to get a hold of the shop who did the install but of course it's Sunday so no luck until tomorrow.
MikeLowry is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 11:12 AM   #4
MikeLowry
New Member
 
MikeLowry's Avatar
 
Drives: 6MT JB M3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Here's a pic
Attached Images
 
MikeLowry is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 11:13 AM   #5
MikeLowry
New Member
 
MikeLowry's Avatar
 
Drives: 6MT JB M3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Frustrating.
Attached Images
 
MikeLowry is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 11:47 AM   #6
IMG
VT3
 
IMG's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 M3 Track car,Ess E90 M3 DD
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Couch

Posts: 6,945
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLowry View Post
Frustrating.
I assume you have the eflash cable !
If yes, can you pull the codes out and post them ?
Might be an easy fix
IMG is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 11:52 AM   #7
MikeLowry
New Member
 
MikeLowry's Avatar
 
Drives: 6MT JB M3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by img View Post
I assume you have the eflash cable !
If yes, can you pull the codes out and post them ?
Might be an easy fix
That's what I'm gonna do and see what happens.
MikeLowry is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 12:46 PM   #8
SilentAttack
Major
 
Drives: 08 E90 Jerez Black 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hendersonville, TN

Posts: 1,141
iTrader: (0)

Good luck with the fix. Does the redline reduce to 4.5k?
SilentAttack is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 12:52 PM   #9
MikeLowry
New Member
 
MikeLowry's Avatar
 
Drives: 6MT JB M3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentAttack View Post
Good luck with the fix. Does the redline reduce to 4.5k?
Thanks and yes it's stuck right there so I'm basically in "limp mode"
MikeLowry is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 12:52 PM   #10
JEllis
Brigadier General
 
JEllis's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 M3, E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SD CA/Yuma

Posts: 4,568
iTrader: (4)

Since you recently are SCd my first guess would be something loose as a result of the install. But that could be a lot of things. Injectors, cam position sensor ect...

When I installed my kit I had accidentally disconnected one of the cam position sensors which caused the car to revert to limp mode.

Does your shop have experience with ESS kits?

Jason
__________________
http://www.m3post.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic14547_7.gif
JEllis is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 01:07 PM   #11
MikeLowry
New Member
 
MikeLowry's Avatar
 
Drives: 6MT JB M3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEllis View Post
Since you recently are SCd my first guess would be something loose as a result of the install. But that could be a lot of things. Injectors, cam position sensor ect...

When I installed my kit I had accidentally disconnected one of the cam position sensors which caused the car to revert to limp mode.

Does your shop have experience with ESS kits?

Jason
The install was done by an ESS authorized dealer so yeah they have experience with it. It sucks because no one is open on Sundays so I'm just impatiently waiting for tomorrow morning.
MikeLowry is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 02:44 PM   #12
JEllis
Brigadier General
 
JEllis's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 M3, E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SD CA/Yuma

Posts: 4,568
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeLowry View Post
The install was done by an ESS authorized dealer so yeah they have experience with it. It sucks because no one is open on Sundays so I'm just impatiently waiting for tomorrow morning.
Yeah I know that feeling. As others have said, the ESS cable will read your fault codes. Thats how I narrowed my issue to the cam sensor. Or, you could pick up a generic code reader from autozone and at least get the code. It might be a simple fix. But if it is something like the cam sensor or an injector, you will have to remove the manifold.

On a side note, have you checked your fuel cap? I am just trying to think of really simple things that might throw a code. Sometimes if your fuel cap is not on correctly you can get a code. I think its something like fuel tank pressure code or something. You might want to check under the hood and make sure all caps are secure (oil and coolant). Also check all the rubber lines going to and from the manifold and to and from the intake behind the SC. Some of these rubber hoses and the larger plastic hose going to the intake do not use clamps and are simply pressed on. They could potentially come off and cause a vacuum issue. Its a long shot but it could be something super easy.
__________________
http://www.m3post.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic14547_7.gif
JEllis is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 02:45 PM   #13
IMG
VT3
 
IMG's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 M3 Track car,Ess E90 M3 DD
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Couch

Posts: 6,945
iTrader: (5)

Any codes yet ??
__________________
NO FEAR.NO LIMITS.NO EQUAL

Ess VT3 LC built motor,Volk TE37SL,Euro taillights,Dinan Xpipe,Custom Headers,Akra axle back CF tips,ModeCarbon FR lip,BMW CF wing
LOW BOOST 60-130 6.7 sec
IMG is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 03:39 PM   #14
MikeLowry
New Member
 
MikeLowry's Avatar
 
Drives: 6MT JB M3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JEllis View Post
Yeah I know that feeling. As others have said, the ESS cable will read your fault codes. Thats how I narrowed my issue to the cam sensor. Or, you could pick up a generic code reader from autozone and at least get the code. It might be a simple fix. But if it is something like the cam sensor or an injector, you will have to remove the manifold.

On a side note, have you checked your fuel cap? I am just trying to think of really simple things that might throw a code. Sometimes if your fuel cap is not on correctly you can get a code. I think its something like fuel tank pressure code or something. You might want to check under the hood and make sure all caps are secure (oil and coolant). Also check all the rubber lines going to and from the manifold and to and from the intake behind the SC. Some of these rubber hoses and the larger plastic hose going to the intake do not use clamps and are simply pressed on. They could potentially come off and cause a vacuum issue. Its a long shot but it could be something super easy.
I just did all these things. I did check for the error codes but nothing came up. It said no errors at all. I did notice some cracks in the hose going to the intake so I'm hoping that's the issue. I'll take her in tomorrow to see what's up. Thanks for the help man.
MikeLowry is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 03:40 PM   #15
MikeLowry
New Member
 
MikeLowry's Avatar
 
Drives: 6MT JB M3
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by img View Post
Any codes yet ??
No luck at all.
MikeLowry is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2013, 04:13 PM   #16
JEllis
Brigadier General
 
JEllis's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 M3, E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SD CA/Yuma

Posts: 4,568
iTrader: (4)

Wow no codes? You might want to disconnect the battery to reset the car. It wont erase your ESS software but it might clear whatever caused you to go to limp mode.
__________________
http://www.m3post.com/forums/signaturepics/sigpic14547_7.gif
JEllis is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST