BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
Strasse Wheels
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-19-2013, 10:22 PM   #1
DopeM3
M Power
DopeM3's Avatar
United_States
22
Rep
1,295
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH

iTrader: (8)

EDC malfunction after installing springs

I just installed my H&R springs yesterday. After driving a mile, the EDC malfunction warning came up on the screen. Anybody know what this could possibility be caused by?

Any suggestions will be highly appreciated.


Thanks,
Jay
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 12:30 AM   #2
slicer
Brigadier General
slicer's Avatar
61
Rep
3,935
Posts

 
Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (19)

The front plugs on top of the shocks commonly come loose. Happened to me every time I had springs installed.
__________________
ALL PARTS FOR SALE (click links and/or Send me a PM) -
KW Clubsport 3-way, Mode Carbon GTS Wing, BMW Pedals Billet Extended DCT Paddles, Advan TC3 (9.5/10.5), Planted E92 Floor Mounts, Schroth Quick Fit Pro Harnesses (Red - E82/E90/E92 Version)
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 06:55 AM   #3
elm3
M3 Lover
elm3's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,864
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by AyooooJay View Post
I just installed my H&R springs yesterday. After driving a mile, the EDC malfunction warning came up on the screen. Anybody know what this could possibility be caused by?

Any suggestions will be highly appreciated.


Thanks,
Jay
What you have is a plug that didn't get plugged in correctly. That is all. Just un-plug and plug it back in. It should work then.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 10:26 AM   #4
Deathboy
Lieutenant
Deathboy's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
421
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Cayman S
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Locals only...

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elm3 View Post
What you have is a plug that didn't get plugged in correctly. That is all. Just un-plug and plug it back in. It should work then.
+1 Same thing happend to me, plug not seated properly.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2013, 02:28 PM   #5
DopeM3
M Power
DopeM3's Avatar
United_States
22
Rep
1,295
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH

iTrader: (8)

Thanks guys. I will try this once I get home today.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2013, 10:35 PM   #6
Koldun
Banned
6
Rep
659
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Where can these plugs be found? I had this happen to me last month, and it cost me an hour of labor the stealership.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2013, 10:38 PM   #7
W Cole
Captain
14
Rep
784
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 M3
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Newport Coast, CA

iTrader: (5)

Does the code clear itself once you plug back in? Or does it need to be cleared?
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2013, 07:10 AM   #8
DopeM3
M Power
DopeM3's Avatar
United_States
22
Rep
1,295
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koldun View Post
Where can these plugs be found? I had this happen to me last month, and it cost me an hour of labor the stealership.
Engine bay, top of the strut, there's a rubber piece that's covering it.
Appreciate 0
      06-26-2013, 07:12 AM   #9
DopeM3
M Power
DopeM3's Avatar
United_States
22
Rep
1,295
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by W Cole View Post
Does the code clear itself once you plug back in? Or does it need to be cleared?
Yes, I had the issue, the EDC light came on. It wasn't plugged in right. After plugging it in correctly, the code will still come on but after driving it for a few miles it will go away.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST