BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-24-2013, 10:53 PM   #1
M3ANMACHINE
Hella Functional
United_States
24

 
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mission Viejo, CA


Posts: 1,747
iTrader: (6)

Hey guys,

I bought my e90 m3 with an aftermarket rearview camera installed. I'm not sure of the brand, but it is the one that is built in to the trunk release handle. It looks like the Bimmertech kit which is the camera/trunk handle combo, but it is in fact NOT a Bimmertech setup...

Anyways, I was uninstalling my OEM PDC retrofit from the license plate and accidentally unplugged the reverse camera as well.

I hooked it all back up, or so I thought, and now it's not functioning properly.

Here's what is happening: when I put the car in reverse, the nav screen switches to the reverse camera mode, but the screen is completely black. As if it's not receiving video from the camera.

Any ideas how to fix this?

I traced the wires through the cabin and found where the camera wire meets the power wire I believe (both are black), and I found another wire which looks like a red A/V wire that isn't plugged into anything. And I can't seem to find another end that it would attach to...

My forward facing camera works fine, so I know the interface module must be working properly...

Any help is appreciated guys!

Thanks.
__________________

--- E90 ///M3 - AW - 6MT - APEX - Bimmerworld - Dinan - Eisenmann - Evolve - IND - KW - Mode Carbon - PFC - TMS ---

Appreciate 0
      06-25-2013, 08:49 AM   #2
roddyc
Second Lieutenant
United_States
3

 
roddyc's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Frisco, TX


Posts: 286
iTrader: (8)

My best guess is that when you plugged the camera back in, you might have shorted a fuse.

I have a modmynav kit (which has the camera/trunk handle unit) and there is an inline fuse that I shorted out multiple times when troubleshooting the unit and unplugging/plugging the camera in while the interface module was trying to draw a feed from it. Symptoms were exactly as you described (interface unit would switch but no feed from the camera).

I don't remember exactly where the fuse was, but it was along the main cable that was run from the interface unit to the camera in a black cylindrical housing.

Also, just noticed that you said there was an A/V cable that didn't appear to be plugged into anything. On my kit, the cable that contained the A/V inputs from the interface unit was pretty short so the inputs may be tucked behind the head unit and difficult to see/access.

Last edited by roddyc; 06-25-2013 at 08:55 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-25-2013, 12:46 PM   #3
M3ANMACHINE
Hella Functional
United_States
24

 
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mission Viejo, CA


Posts: 1,747
iTrader: (6)

Thanks for the insight. I'll look into the fuse.

Also, coincidentally, my front camera was working fine yesterday but when I tried it this morning it is also now showing a black screen when I activate it. Odd.
__________________

--- E90 ///M3 - AW - 6MT - APEX - Bimmerworld - Dinan - Eisenmann - Evolve - IND - KW - Mode Carbon - PFC - TMS ---

Appreciate 0
      07-02-2013, 11:43 AM   #4
M3ANMACHINE
Hella Functional
United_States
24

 
M3ANMACHINE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Mission Viejo, CA


Posts: 1,747
iTrader: (6)

Turned out it was the fuse! Kris@ModMyNav was a great help in instructing me on how to get to the fuse and it was a simple swap of a new fuse and all is well in the world

Thanks guys
__________________

--- E90 ///M3 - AW - 6MT - APEX - Bimmerworld - Dinan - Eisenmann - Evolve - IND - KW - Mode Carbon - PFC - TMS ---

Appreciate 0
      07-02-2013, 11:50 AM   #5
Kris@Modmynav
United_States
35

 
Kris@Modmynav's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 E90 M3
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago


Posts: 1,311
iTrader: (12)

Send a message via MSN to Kris@Modmynav
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ANMACHINE View Post
Turned out it was the fuse! Kris@ModMyNav was a great help in instructing me on how to get to the fuse and it was a simple swap of a new fuse and all is well in the world

Thanks guys
Glad it worked!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST