BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-15-2013, 03:43 AM   #1
krayzie
Private
4

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Brake Pad Reset

iDrive showed I still had ~2000kms left on the rear pads but I wanted ti change it out before the sensors triggered.
Did the pad change and tried to reset the by holding the dash button but it just showed ------
Unplugged the sensor and replugged in and didreset but still showed ----

Any ideas how to reset it? I have the coding cable if there's a way to do it with that?

Thanks

*EDIT* replaced the 1 front and 1 rear sensors with new ones...... still not working and showing errors

Last edited by krayzie; 06-16-2013 at 09:37 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 03:51 AM   #2
alpina527
Banned
United Kingdom
36

 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3 DCT JZB/FR
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London, England


Posts: 638
iTrader: (1)

You need to buy new sensors. Your old ones won't reset
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 03:56 AM   #3
krayzie
Private
4

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alpina527 View Post
You need to buy new sensors. Your old ones won't reset
I read that if they're not triggered you can reuse them somehow by just unplugging/replugging them in?
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 04:35 AM   #4
alpina527
Banned
United Kingdom
36

 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3 DCT JZB/FR
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: London, England


Posts: 638
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by krayzie View Post
I read that if they're not triggered you can reuse them somehow by just unplugging/replugging them in?
No that won't work. Your sensors are worn out, so they need replacing.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 07:32 AM   #5
krayzie
Private
4

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Ok thanks
I also read there's a method where u can just splice the 2 wires together if u track and plan to change pads frequently....
Tried it but no luck, starting to think new sensors Wil do nothing then
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 08:41 AM   #6
jphughan
Brigadier General
United_States
46

 
jphughan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.75 M3 E92 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX


Posts: 3,438
iTrader: (0)

If you changed the pads BEFORE the sensor triggered, there should absolutely be a way to reset the mileage warning while retaining the existing sensors. You know the sensor was triggered if you see the parking brake "BRAKE" light on the dash in amber rather than red.

But in any case OP, that mileage warming is just an estimate and can be way far off. Hopefully you made your replacement decision based on actual pad wear instead since the pads are easy to see in this car even with the wheels on?

But yes, you can tie off the wear sensors if you don't want them at all. I don't think splicing is required though, just make sure they're securely tied somewhere safe. I'll be doing that with my front sensors when the BBK is installed.
__________________
11 M3 E92 Le Mans | Black Nov w/ Alum | 6MT | Premium 2 | Convenience | 19" | EDC | Prem Audio | Moonroof | BMW Apps | Yoko AD08 R | Vorshlag Adjustable Camber Plates | StopTech ST-60 380mm BBK | Castrol SRF Fluid | ModMyNav.com rear camera | OEM Euro Sunglasses Holder

Last edited by jphughan; 06-15-2013 at 09:20 AM.
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 09:20 AM   #7
krayzie
Private
4

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Well stupid me accidently reset the front pads when trying to do the rears so now both the front and rear are giving me warnings.
Also I unplugged both sensors and re plugged them so it probably thinks they were both triggered.
I now spliced both the front and rear sensors and it still won't let me do the reset....
It still just shows - - - after doing the reset.
I'm not sure what else to do...
I'm going to pull the battery tomorrow as a last resort and see if that does anything.
Right now the ebrake light stays on all the time and I'm getting warnings every time I start and turn off the car showing the car on a lift and telling me to change the pads

Does the splice trick only work if the sensors haven't been triggered at all perhaps?
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 07:36 PM   #8
Gumulri
Captain
South Korea
12

 
Gumulri's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335i convertible[sold]
Join Date: May 2008
Location: La Mirada


Posts: 652
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2008 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by krayzie View Post
Well stupid me accidently reset the front pads when trying to do the rears so now both the front and rear are giving me warnings.
Also I unplugged both sensors and re plugged them so it probably thinks they were both triggered.
I now spliced both the front and rear sensors and it still won't let me do the reset....
It still just shows - - - after doing the reset.
I'm not sure what else to do...
I'm going to pull the battery tomorrow as a last resort and see if that does anything.
Right now the ebrake light stays on all the time and I'm getting warnings every time I start and turn off the car showing the car on a lift and telling me to change the pads

Does the splice trick only work if the sensors haven't been triggered at all perhaps?
I just replaced the rear pads and I tried to reset. I also got that warning sign too with red brake sign. I think we need to go to the dealer to reset.
__________________
08 E90 SSII M3 6MT for track
13 E350 mbs for wife
2012 Honda Oddessey Touring for kids
2014 toyota Fj cruiser 4x4 for me
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 08:00 PM   #9
kenwelch
Lieutenant
United_States
4

 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3 M-DCT
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA


Posts: 404
iTrader: (0)

Try this method:

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=384430
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2013, 11:38 PM   #10
krayzie
Private
4

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Tried it but it still shows - - - -
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2013, 09:35 PM   #11
krayzie
Private
4

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Replaced new front and rear sensors
Pulled the battery

Still not resetting.....
There's only 2 sensors right?
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2013, 10:05 PM   #12
signes
Brigadier General
United_States
94

 
signes's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Spinnin at 8k


Posts: 4,213
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by krayzie View Post
Replaced new front and rear sensors
Pulled the battery

Still not resetting.....
There's only 2 sensors right?
Three total. Both fronts and one rear (right rear.)
__________________
08 E90 | Jet Black / Black | 6MT
Mods: RAC RG63 w/ Pirelli Corsa 255F/285R | Akrapovic Evo Exhaust | OEM Blacklines
Winter Setup: OEM 18s w/ Nokian Hakkapeliita R 245/40-18
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2013, 10:59 PM   #13
krayzie
Private
4

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Vancouver


Posts: 50
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by signes View Post
Three total. Both fronts and one rear (right rear.)
FML..... after 3 days decided to check the other front side
Found a 3rd sensor and swapped it out and all is good now

All the DIYs and Forums only showed 2 sensors!!!!
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2013, 12:06 PM   #14
IrishCoffee
First Lieutenant
8

 
IrishCoffee's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 E92 M3, '14 328i, '14 1LE
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Diego


Posts: 370
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by krayzie View Post
All the DIYs and Forums only showed 2 sensors!!!!
The M has 3 sensors. The standard 3 series has 2.
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2013, 09:04 PM   #15
Richard@M-World
United_States
41

 
Richard@M-World's Avatar
 
Drives: NASA TTA #92 M3
Join Date: May 2011
Location: TX/IL


Posts: 683
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by krayzie View Post
FML..... after 3 days decided to check the other front side
Found a 3rd sensor and swapped it out and all is good now

All the DIYs and Forums only showed 2 sensors!!!!
And you believe the internet?

JK... Glad you have it figured out!
__________________
Authorized AiM Dealer - Solo/Solo DL | SmartyCam HD | www.m-world.us
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2013, 10:10 AM   #16
GewoW
#thatsanicemovebro
Greece
119

 
GewoW's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 LSB/Black 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada


Posts: 3,835
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [4.67]
Send a message via Skype™ to GewoW
ive replaced all 3 and still have the same error. when i try to reset i never get to that menu and it only gets to the german menu...any tips?
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST