BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > Regional Forums > USA - Southwest
 
INDustry distribution
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-15-2013, 07:19 PM   #23
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

I do have a DCT and BimmerTech said this is completely a Plug and Play kit. It will probably take me all day - going to try this next Friday on my day off. I've ordered the dash tool kit to get those pieces off and the wire hose to run the audio cable from the truck. Can't wait to get this thing installed.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2013, 08:21 PM   #24
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
Running the cable through the trunk hinge section is the most time consuming thing.
Ok, this is where I had to stop tonight. I've tried using a wire rope to run the cable running to the front but can't get it through the grommet. Any tips on getting it through the grommet?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2013, 03:29 AM   #25
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
113

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx


Posts: 1,851
iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasSpartan View Post
Ok, this is where I had to stop tonight. I've tried using a wire rope to run the cable running to the front but can't get it through the grommet. Any tips on getting it through the grommet?
Silicone spray lubricant will (be a bit messy, but) help. You have to feed it a bit at a time. The other option is to feed a line from front to back, then attach the cable to it, and pull it forward.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2013, 09:28 AM   #26
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
Silicone spray lubricant will (be a bit messy, but) help. You have to feed it a bit at a time. The other option is to feed a line from front to back, then attach the cable to it, and pull it forward.
That's what I did. I have a E92, where did you run the wiring through the cabin to the front?
I'm going to tackle the dash this morning, this is what makes me nervous about breaking something. I haven't seen any good DIY on that part.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2013, 01:35 PM   #27
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
113

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx


Posts: 1,851
iTrader: (16)

Along the passenger's side of the car. I only had to pull out the bottom seat cushion, not the top. I then slid out the carpet retainer, pulled the carpet back a bit, and viola. In doing so, you'll see see that's where BMW ran a lot of the wiring.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2013, 02:03 PM   #28
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Came in from the heat to take a break. All wiring is at the front now. Time to take on the dash after a cool down.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-23-2013, 11:49 PM   #29
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
113

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx


Posts: 1,851
iTrader: (16)

How'd eveything work out?
Appreciate 0
      06-24-2013, 12:03 PM   #30
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
How'd eveything work out?
I didn't get into the dash just yet. I still had to get the yard work done and after that I decided to get into our pool for awhile. BimmerTech did go ahead and code it for me so now it's just a matter of hooking up the stuff up front. Knowing how long I take on stuff like this (don't want to break anything) I'll probably wait until this weekend to attemp.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2013, 12:32 PM   #31
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Got everything hooked up but not getting the video feed. Icons show up on left side and camera is checked but the screen is gray. Checked all connections and fuse. Not sure what else to check.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2013, 01:21 PM   #32
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
113

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx


Posts: 1,851
iTrader: (16)

Don't have one of these myself, so this part I'm only guessing @. Does the camera have any type of film over the lens to prevent it from being scratched during shipping?
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2013, 03:09 PM   #33
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Found the issue. The power connector came loose in the trunk grommet. Now trying to get the radio back in with all the additional wires. Pain.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-30-2013, 06:03 PM   #34
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Finished the install.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2013, 12:15 AM   #35
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
113

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx


Posts: 1,851
iTrader: (16)

Congratulations
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2013, 07:59 AM   #36
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
Congratulations
Thanks!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2013, 08:43 AM   #37
03BeastCharmer
Major
33

 
03BeastCharmer's Avatar
 
Drives: 03 M5, '13 & 97 M3
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Houston


Posts: 1,415
iTrader: (2)

Congrats. You'll forget about all the pain of the install in a few weeks

I still need to go back in and wrap from felt tape around some of the wires in the dash as I can hear some of the unused connectors rattling around.
__________________

Current: '13 E92 M3 Euro Delivery
Wife's: E39 M5, E36 M3
Gone: E86 M Coupe; E30 M3
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2013, 08:54 AM   #38
vinniechin
Vinnie
United_States
6

 
Drives: E93 Space Gray DCT
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern NJ


Posts: 174
iTrader: (1)

Congratulations!

So how long did it take and what's the scale on difficulty?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2013, 12:42 PM   #39
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03BeastCharmer View Post
Congrats. You'll forget about all the pain of the install in a few weeks

I still need to go back in and wrap from felt tape around some of the wires in the dash as I can hear some of the unused connectors rattling around.
Yeah, I've already forgot about the pain although I do have a few scrapes on my hand to remind me.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2013, 12:48 PM   #40
TexasSpartan
First Lieutenant
12

 
TexasSpartan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Katy, TX


Posts: 357
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinniechin View Post
Congratulations!

So how long did it take and what's the scale on difficulty?

Thanks
I ran the wires from the trunk to the front on one weekend as I had limited time. Then the next weekend I finished it off. Total took about 6 hours total. I really took my time. D of D wasn't too bad, I had never had my dash off or the interior apart in any way other than my V1 hardwire install and it wasn't too bad for me. I did not remove my rear seat like others have, I just tucked the wires down and it was fine.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST