BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Wheels + Tires Sponsored by The Tire Rack
  TireRack

KEEP M3POST ALIVE BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER LINK!
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-25-2013, 11:50 AM   #1
Tufosi
Private First Class
 
Tufosi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC.

Posts: 133
iTrader: (1)

Not adding TPMS to my new wheels.

Im not going to be adding TPMS to my new set of wheels. I really don't need it and don't feel like spending the extra money on it. From what I read I will get a light that comes on the dash b/c the system won't the detect the sensors on the wheels... is there anything else that I should expect also? Im not going to get any constant annoying beeping sounds or anything like that right?
__________________
2011 E92 DCT
BBS LM-R, KW S/O, Meistershaft GT-2
Tufosi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 12:08 PM   #2
1MOREMOD
2014 Track Days - 3|Ridge 1:54:61|Pacific 1:37:36
 
1MOREMOD's Avatar
 
Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

Posts: 10,795
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tufosi View Post
Im not going to be adding TPMS to my new set of wheels. I really don't need it and don't feel like spending the extra money on it. From what I read I will get a light that comes on the dash b/c the system won't the detect the sensors on the wheels... is there anything else that I should expect also? Im not going to get any constant annoying beeping sounds or anything like that right?
No that's it just the light on the dash. I had that each time I put on track tires but wasn't really an issue. May give warning on start up also can't remember.
1MOREMOD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 12:57 PM   #3
Tufosi
Private First Class
 
Tufosi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC.

Posts: 133
iTrader: (1)

cool.. I can live with that... thanks dude.
__________________
2011 E92 DCT
BBS LM-R, KW S/O, Meistershaft GT-2
Tufosi is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 01:04 PM   #4
kawasaki00
Captain
 
kawasaki00's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Charlotte NC

Posts: 864
iTrader: (4)

You can always get them turned off in coding also.
__________________
Electronics Junkie, Engine Builder.
kawasaki00 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 01:40 PM   #5
325rider
Zyzz Follower
 
Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 698
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kawasaki00 View Post
You can always get them turned off in coding also.
like, mike benvo BPM tune coding??? Does anyone know if he can do this?
325rider is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 01:52 PM   #6
kawasaki00
Captain
 
kawasaki00's Avatar
 
Drives: E92
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Charlotte NC

Posts: 864
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325rider View Post
like, mike benvo BPM tune coding??? Does anyone know if he can do this?
It is a little more involved than standard coding but can be done.
Hit up Mike Benvo and check, I am sure he can help you out.
I did my own but I am a little nervous doing a car other than my own, it involves backing up, changing vo string and then reflashing a couple modules.
__________________
Electronics Junkie, Engine Builder.
kawasaki00 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 01:53 PM   #7
325rider
Zyzz Follower
 
Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 698
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kawasaki00 View Post
It is a little more involved than standard coding but can be done.
Hit up Mike Benvo and check, I am sure he can help you out.
I did my own but I am a little nervous doing a car other than my own, it involves backing up, changing vo string and then reflashing a couple modules.
OIC, so this has to hands on done by the "coder" or "installer", cannot just be plugged in like the BPM tune.
325rider is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 02:24 PM   #8
slicer
Brigadier General
 
slicer's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 3,164
iTrader: (10)

I would just get the monitors. They cost $200 at most and it's a great safety feature to have. You will probably have to spend $100 to get them coded out... So you save $100?? Seems silly on a $70k car.
__________________
'13 SSII M3 Coupe - KW Clubsport 3-way, Akrapovic Evolution, ESS Tune, StopTech Trophy, IND Euro Front Bumper and Gloss Black Mirror Covers, TMS Studs/Lugs, BMW Performance Carbon Fiber Spoiler/Interior Trim/Center Console, BMW Edition Grills/Gills, BMWPedals Extended DCT Paddles, Mode Carbon GT4 Splitter, Advan TC3, BBS E05
slicer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 02:27 PM   #9
1MOREMOD
2014 Track Days - 3|Ridge 1:54:61|Pacific 1:37:36
 
1MOREMOD's Avatar
 
Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

Posts: 10,795
iTrader: (5)

I would do it for a street tire but I had 4 sets of wheels 3 that weren't used on the street. May do my future sets just for a little earlier warning if something happens on the track.
1MOREMOD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 02:46 PM   #10
Transfer
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Transfer's Avatar
 
Drives: SQ5, X1
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 1,600
iTrader: (0)

No TPMS on my winter or track wheels. It will gong once on startup and you press the control stalk end button then it just is a small light on the dash. I can see some minor advantages to having it but really the chances you'll flat and wreck because you don't know it are very low. Also, when I remove my TPMS stock 19s, it takes like 50 miles to notice and warn me. Not sure if removal is different than flatting, but it doesn't make me too confident about TPMS.
Transfer is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 06:37 PM   #11
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,625
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by kawasaki00 View Post
You can always get them turned off in coding also.
We can perform TPMS delete for local customers, we've done this for a number of track vehicles.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 07:15 PM   #12
325rider
Zyzz Follower
 
Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 698
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicer View Post
I would just get the monitors. They cost $200 at most and it's a great safety feature to have. You will probably have to spend $100 to get them coded out... So you save $100?? Seems silly on a $70k car.
Where can you get OEM TPMS for less than $200?
325rider is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-25-2013, 07:20 PM   #13
1MOREMOD
2014 Track Days - 3|Ridge 1:54:61|Pacific 1:37:36
 
1MOREMOD's Avatar
 
Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

Posts: 10,795
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325rider View Post
Where can you get OEM TPMS for less than $200?
EAS has them for 230 I think.
1MOREMOD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 02:21 PM   #14
slicer
Brigadier General
 
slicer's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 3,164
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325rider View Post
Where can you get OEM TPMS for less than $200?
Tire Rack (might not technically be a BMW part number but it is made by the same manufacturer).
__________________
'13 SSII M3 Coupe - KW Clubsport 3-way, Akrapovic Evolution, ESS Tune, StopTech Trophy, IND Euro Front Bumper and Gloss Black Mirror Covers, TMS Studs/Lugs, BMW Performance Carbon Fiber Spoiler/Interior Trim/Center Console, BMW Edition Grills/Gills, BMWPedals Extended DCT Paddles, Mode Carbon GT4 Splitter, Advan TC3, BBS E05

Last edited by slicer; 04-28-2013 at 07:28 PM.
slicer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 02:39 PM   #15
LightWerkz
Lieutenant
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oakland, NJ

Posts: 534
iTrader: (1)

Just pick up the MS TPMS Module, no need for TPMS in each set of wheels and no annoying lights.
LightWerkz is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 04:57 PM   #16
325rider
Zyzz Follower
 
Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 698
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LightWerkz View Post
Just pick up the MS TPMS Module, no need for TPMS in each set of wheels and no annoying lights.
Can't decide. I mean, I rather spend $350 for all coding for the car from Mike Benvo than pay $260 just for the MS unit. So, if I'm going to spend $$350, I may as well just get TPMS.
Anyone know if TPMS fits Advan RS wheels?!?

325rider is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 07:26 PM   #17
slicer
Brigadier General
 
slicer's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 3,164
iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325rider View Post
Can't decide. I mean, I rather spend $350 for all coding for the car from Mike Benvo than pay $260 just for the MS unit. So, if I'm going to spend $$350, I may as well just get TPMS.
Anyone know if TPMS fits Advan RS wheels?!?

Tpms should fit any modern wheel except for certain 3 piece wheels with hidden valve stems (even these typically have provisions to mount the tpms monitor in an alternative position). Remember that pressure monitors have been required in the US since 2007. Not all manufacturers use a direct system (with monitors in the wheel) but any wheel manufacturer would be foolish not make their wheels compatible.
__________________
'13 SSII M3 Coupe - KW Clubsport 3-way, Akrapovic Evolution, ESS Tune, StopTech Trophy, IND Euro Front Bumper and Gloss Black Mirror Covers, TMS Studs/Lugs, BMW Performance Carbon Fiber Spoiler/Interior Trim/Center Console, BMW Edition Grills/Gills, BMWPedals Extended DCT Paddles, Mode Carbon GT4 Splitter, Advan TC3, BBS E05
slicer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-02-2013, 10:00 PM   #18
325rider
Zyzz Follower
 
Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 698
iTrader: (1)

got a good PM offer on OEM TPMS for 2011 me shipped to 33131. Sponsor get back to me i lost the PM. Looking to order asap
325rider is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2013, 06:03 PM   #19
325rider
Zyzz Follower
 
Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 698
iTrader: (1)

FYI, I got New OEM TPMS from EAS and had them installed but not programmed by a tire shop. No light or warning so far.... I was under the impression they needed to be "programmed" by the deal...

Can anyone chime in on this
325rider is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2013, 06:36 PM   #20
slicer
Brigadier General
 
slicer's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 3,164
iTrader: (10)

You reset them via your idrive (not sure on method for those without idrive). No dealer visit required.
__________________
'13 SSII M3 Coupe - KW Clubsport 3-way, Akrapovic Evolution, ESS Tune, StopTech Trophy, IND Euro Front Bumper and Gloss Black Mirror Covers, TMS Studs/Lugs, BMW Performance Carbon Fiber Spoiler/Interior Trim/Center Console, BMW Edition Grills/Gills, BMWPedals Extended DCT Paddles, Mode Carbon GT4 Splitter, Advan TC3, BBS E05
slicer is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-29-2013, 07:06 PM   #21
1MOREMOD
2014 Track Days - 3|Ridge 1:54:61|Pacific 1:37:36
 
1MOREMOD's Avatar
 
Drives: Race car->
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: check your mirrors

Posts: 10,795
iTrader: (5)

I now have 2008 TPMS set on my e46 m3 doesn't work!
1MOREMOD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-01-2013, 05:24 PM   #22
325rider
Zyzz Follower
 
Drives: '11 e90 M3 6mt
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Miami, Fl

Posts: 698
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicer View Post
You reset them via your idrive (not sure on method for those without idrive). No dealer visit required.
True. I don't have iDrive. I just turned the car on and the light never came on. So I guess they work lol? I do have a tire warning button next to my door lock button under the emergency lights. Hard to say I guess.
325rider is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST