BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
Strasse Wheels
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-19-2013, 06:38 PM   #1
TrakBch
Captain
9

 
Drives: Alpine White E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX


Posts: 693
iTrader: (3)

Need Bulb Check Fault Coding in Dallas,TX

I need Coding on my 2008. Really don't want to buy the FRM3.

My dealer is going to try to do it without the FRM 3, but I'm doubtful it can be done.

Anyone know where I can get it done in DFW? If it can be done remotely I'd be open to that as well.
__________________
Scott P. --- PM me if you need a Free CARFAX report
E92 M3 - Track Rental
F80 M3 - The groceries won't get themselves.
Gallardo Superlegerra - Hey! Look @ Me!
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2013, 01:30 PM   #2
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
92


 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal


Posts: 4,765
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Http://www.bpmsport.com/BPMCoding.pdf
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 11:17 AM   #3
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
315


 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA


Posts: 10,502
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrakBch View Post
I need Coding on my 2008. Really don't want to buy the FRM3.

My dealer is going to try to do it without the FRM 3, but I'm doubtful it can be done.

Anyone know where I can get it done in DFW? If it can be done remotely I'd be open to that as well.
Contact autologic directly, they will be able to locate a programming facility nearby that can perform coding for you.

FRM coding (FRM2 in your case) is relatively simple and can be performed in minutes.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 07:47 PM   #4
TrakBch
Captain
9

 
Drives: Alpine White E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX


Posts: 693
iTrader: (3)

I was able to acquire a FRM3 from another vehicle. But it's an E92 335 with very different options. Will the dealer be able to re code it?
__________________
Scott P. --- PM me if you need a Free CARFAX report
E92 M3 - Track Rental
F80 M3 - The groceries won't get themselves.
Gallardo Superlegerra - Hey! Look @ Me!
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2013, 08:38 PM   #5
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
315


 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA


Posts: 10,502
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrakBch View Post
I was able to acquire a FRM3 from another vehicle. But it's an E92 335 with very different options. Will the dealer be able to re code it?
BMW may have an issue since the FRM3 is married to another VIN.

There is no need to purchase another FRM, your current one is fine.

Contact autologic in the morning @ 877.945.6442, once given your location - they will provide you a list of programming facilities in your area.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2013, 03:54 AM   #6
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
92


 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal


Posts: 4,765
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrakBch View Post
I was able to acquire a FRM3 from another vehicle. But it's an E92 335 with very different options. Will the dealer be able to re code it?
I can make your newly acquired FRM match your car perfectly, remotely. It will look like it came with the car.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2013, 12:50 PM   #7
TrakBch
Captain
9

 
Drives: Alpine White E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX


Posts: 693
iTrader: (3)

Mike, Thanks for your info. I've found a local autologic facility less than five minutes from my work. I'll try them first, if not I'll go the FRM3 route.
__________________
Scott P. --- PM me if you need a Free CARFAX report
E92 M3 - Track Rental
F80 M3 - The groceries won't get themselves.
Gallardo Superlegerra - Hey! Look @ Me!
Appreciate 0
      04-24-2013, 10:47 PM   #8
TrakBch
Captain
9

 
Drives: Alpine White E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dallas, TX


Posts: 693
iTrader: (3)

So for whatever reason, my car did not actually display any fault codes, just light flickering at startup which doesn't bother me as much as I thought it would. I might still seek bpmsport or another sponsor that has offered help.

I'll share this with you: Auto Scope in Dallas will not code this, quoting "safety liability issues" even though they are autologic providers.

The Dealer can code a used FRM3, but it takes a long time and you most likely won't get it on the first try. You'll have to see what was gained and what was lost and recode and so on.

I ended up putting back my FRM2 because I didn't want to have to waste another day coding.

I'm a dealership employee and all this coding time has cost me nothing, but it is very annoying because BMW software is damn slow. It took four hours to code the first pass for example.

Thanks for everybody's help!
__________________
Scott P. --- PM me if you need a Free CARFAX report
E92 M3 - Track Rental
F80 M3 - The groceries won't get themselves.
Gallardo Superlegerra - Hey! Look @ Me!
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2013, 10:03 AM   #9
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
156


 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas


Posts: 13,116
iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
The flickering at startup is standard. The car checks all the bulbs to determine that they're working.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST