BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
 
Evolve Automotive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-30-2012, 08:29 AM   #89
besiktas
Ultimate Driver for the Ultimate Driving Machine
 
Drives: BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 972
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by warp10motorsports View Post
Are you talking video or data? Both?
I cant overlay the 30 minute session, i can only overlay each lap.
__________________

BMW M3 E92 - Silverstone II
BPM Sport Stage II Tune + Test Pipes, GTS DCT Tune
besiktas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2012, 08:36 AM   #90
warp10
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 651
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
I am pretty sure you have to do multi lap overlays in a third party software i.e. Dashware or Race Render
__________________

2011 E92 M3 Coupe Jet Black ZCP: aFe High Flow Filter, AA Race X-Pipe, UUC Corsa Exhaust, Evolve Stage 2 Tune w/ Servo and DCT, BMW Performance Electric Steering Wheel V2, CF Spoiler, and GT4 Front Splitter, APR GT-250, Stoptech ST-60, KW Clubsports, Apex ARC-8, 275 NT01, Sparco Ergo Seats
warp10 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2012, 08:48 AM   #91
InterJon
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alabama

Posts: 180
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by von_zoom View Post
How do you post directly to Youtube? Assume my overlay(s) has been accomplished, and the video with data is in my Camera Roll. Now what?
Thanks
vz
Once the video is overlayed, the post-production lap (video) can be found in your normal photo bin/icon. From there, you can select to upload directly to youtube. That is the only way i was able to get any video off of my phone as my computer kept timing out when I tried to transfer via USB and it is too large to email. The 2 minute video was almost 400 megs.

I hope this helps. Here's a video a my track day from a few weeks ago. First track day (lots of autocross though) - so very slow. Thanks to Trey for the instruction.
InterJon is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2012, 09:44 AM   #92
von_zoom
Captain
 
von_zoom's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Z06
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Carolina

Posts: 913
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by besiktas View Post
Can someone help me? I can get individual laps out of HTL but cant get them out as full sessions? Thanks.
I did a test to determine if HLT would function okay if the iphone was located in the middle of the back seat mounted on a tri pod. It did well, but I only received video from the first lap (warm up lap), and no video for two sucessive laps, but did receive data. Using latest update. Can anyone comment why no video.

Video posted.
Thanks vz

__________________


Previous Track Toy
von_zoom is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-30-2012, 11:30 AM   #93
besiktas
Ultimate Driver for the Ultimate Driving Machine
 
Drives: BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 972
iTrader: (0)

mine was attached to the windshield but many times it failed to recognize the start finish line and didnt reset the time for the lap. So i ended up getting a 7:27 lap which is actually 3 laps.
Never run into the issue of no video. but i cant overlay the 30 min sessions for some reason. I am using the latest version of HTL.
__________________

BMW M3 E92 - Silverstone II
BPM Sport Stage II Tune + Test Pipes, GTS DCT Tune
besiktas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-25-2012, 10:13 PM   #94
kaiv
Major
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego, CA

Posts: 1,232
iTrader: (15)

Anyone know the specs of the iPhone 5's internal GPS?

I'm wondering if it's any better than the unit in the previous iphones...
kaiv is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-27-2012, 04:14 PM   #95
FR01
First Lieutenant
 
FR01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Jose

Posts: 344
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [0.00]
1995 BMW M3  [0.00]
Yeah I've had lost sessions due to HLT error. It isn't bad, just hate having that large raw vid file, and having to overlay all the vids just to find the best/most interesting laps, then go back and delete them & the raw vid to free up space.

Has anyone figured out a better process? Is the overlay process faster with the IPH5?
__________________

2011 M3 Dakar Yellow-Black Leather-Comp Pkg-DCT-Akra Evo-AP BBK Front-VOLK RE30/BBS GT4 18x10" Square
1995 M3 Boston Green - Chipped - Ground Control Coilovers - APEX ARC8
Past: 2005 Porsche Boxster S-Silver-6spd-Fabspeed Exhaust
FR01 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2013, 11:40 AM   #96
Car54
Captain
 
Drives: 1999 Z3 Mcoupe | 2008 M3/4
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lutz, FL

Posts: 837
iTrader: (1)

Anyone know how to find the gears I was in during a lap? I logged OBD but no video in the app.

TIA
__________________

Craig Brickner
BM
W CCA/PBOC/Chin Motorsports DE Instructor
Click to Join: BMWCCA # 366493
Car54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2013, 12:25 PM   #97
warp10
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 651
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Car54 View Post
Anyone know how to find the gears I was in during a lap? I logged OBD but no video in the app.

TIA
you need to export the lap and then look at the data in excel. should be a field names gear.
warp10 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 08:00 AM   #98
Car54
Captain
 
Drives: 1999 Z3 Mcoupe | 2008 M3/4
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lutz, FL

Posts: 837
iTrader: (1)

Gotcha...I didn't have my gearing matched up with car specs so it kind of jumps around a bit. I had a real flyer lap and I'm trying to figure out if it was a fluke. The g's are acting funny but it looks like the GPS was pretty solid.

I looked at the GPS mapping in Google Earth and it's a little off...think that's normal mapping errors? It looks like I cut through the grass lap after lap...but it's consistently wrong.

Do you guys think doing the embedded video is the best way to go? Anyone found a way to knock resolution down to 720p to preserve space?
__________________

Craig Brickner
BM
W CCA/PBOC/Chin Motorsports DE Instructor
Click to Join: BMWCCA # 366493
Car54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 08:43 AM   #99
besiktas
Ultimate Driver for the Ultimate Driving Machine
 
Drives: BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 972
iTrader: (0)

Question:
I know there is an autocross function, but can i put two GPS addresses and make the HTL record my trip?
If i can, how?
Thanks
__________________

BMW M3 E92 - Silverstone II
BPM Sport Stage II Tune + Test Pipes, GTS DCT Tune
besiktas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 09:05 AM   #100
warp10
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 651
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Car54 View Post
Gotcha...I didn't have my gearing matched up with car specs so it kind of jumps around a bit. I had a real flyer lap and I'm trying to figure out if it was a fluke. The g's are acting funny but it looks like the GPS was pretty solid.

I looked at the GPS mapping in Google Earth and it's a little off...think that's normal mapping errors? It looks like I cut through the grass lap after lap...but it's consistently wrong.

Do you guys think doing the embedded video is the best way to go? Anyone found a way to knock resolution down to 720p to preserve space?
what gps are you using the iphone or external? also to change the video resolution go to more -->Setting--->scroll down to video click then select your desired resolution.
warp10 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 09:09 AM   #101
warp10
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 651
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by besiktas View Post
Question:
I know there is an autocross function, but can i put two GPS addresses and make the HTL record my trip?
If i can, how?
Thanks
yes you go to more---> map--->in the top left there is + and a flag click that where you want the first gps point make sure it is a trigger and a go trigger---> fine the next gps point on map + flag and make it a stop trigger. hope this helps
warp10 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 10:34 AM   #102
The HACK
Garland Operator 7G
 
The HACK's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 MZ4C, 2013 Veloster Turbo
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Jerry Brown's little tree-huggin' state

Posts: 3,354
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaiv View Post
Anyone know the specs of the iPhone 5's internal GPS?

I'm wondering if it's any better than the unit in the previous iphones...
It still only refreshes once every second like all other iPhones but it uses GloNASS in addition to GPS so it picks up incredibly quick and is very accurate compared to last generation iPhones.

In fact the GloNASS feature would outweight the majority of the third party external GPSes except the Garmin GloNASS puck, which has GloNASS and refreshes 10X a second.
__________________
Quote:
No way I'd ever take my BMW to the track.
Quote:
Then why do you have $3,000 worth of suspension mods on your car?
Quote:
...
-Overheard at the last B****rfest.
The HACK is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 10:38 AM   #103
Car54
Captain
 
Drives: 1999 Z3 Mcoupe | 2008 M3/4
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lutz, FL

Posts: 837
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by warp10 View Post
what gps are you using the iphone or external? also to change the video resolution go to more -->Setting--->scroll down to video click then select your desired resolution.
I'm using a TomTom GPS but it only performs at 1Hz...seems pretty accurate...just 1hz is a little weak.

Found the setting, thanks!
__________________

Craig Brickner
BM
W CCA/PBOC/Chin Motorsports DE Instructor
Click to Join: BMWCCA # 366493
Car54 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 11:59 AM   #104
warp10
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 651
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Car54 View Post
I'm using a TomTom GPS but it only performs at 1Hz...seems pretty accurate...just 1hz is a little weak.

Found the setting, thanks!
yeah 1hz is pretty low for an after market gps other run up to 5hz. the iphone by itself runs at 1hz.
warp10 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-03-2013, 12:03 PM   #105
besiktas
Ultimate Driver for the Ultimate Driving Machine
 
Drives: BMW M3 E92
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 972
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by warp10 View Post
yes you go to more---> map--->in the top left there is + and a flag click that where you want the first gps point make sure it is a trigger and a go trigger---> fine the next gps point on map + flag and make it a stop trigger. hope this helps
Great thanks. I will give this a shot.
__________________

BMW M3 E92 - Silverstone II
BPM Sport Stage II Tune + Test Pipes, GTS DCT Tune
besiktas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2013, 08:57 AM   #106
MTROIS
Major
 
MTROIS's Avatar
 
Drives: on the wrong side of the Ocean
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA

Posts: 1,111
iTrader: (0)

Does anybody have first hand experience with the GoPoint BT1 OBD device?

I am still debating which solution will be best for me.
__________________
2008 M3 Coupé | 1995 M3 LTW | BMW CCA Instructor
MTROIS is offline   France
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2013, 09:03 AM   #107
warp10
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 651
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTROIS View Post
Does anybody have first hand experience with the GoPoint BT1 OBD device?

I am still debating which solution will be best for me.
Great device...I have had some bad luck with my Kiwi Wifi @ so I switched to the GoPoint. A great device and it can clear obd codes.
warp10 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2013, 01:07 PM   #108
MTROIS
Major
 
MTROIS's Avatar
 
Drives: on the wrong side of the Ocean
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA

Posts: 1,111
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by warp10 View Post
Great device...I have had some bad luck with my Kiwi Wifi @ so I switched to the GoPoint. A great device and it can clear obd codes.
Thanks a lot for your feedback. One more thing, it seems that the GoPoint now has Bluetooth... but which one would we need to get for the iPhone? BT1 or BT1A???
__________________
2008 M3 Coupé | 1995 M3 LTW | BMW CCA Instructor

Last edited by MTROIS; 04-24-2013 at 01:16 PM.
MTROIS is offline   France
0
Reply With Quote
      04-24-2013, 03:26 PM   #109
warp10
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 651
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTROIS
Quote:
Originally Posted by warp10 View Post
Great device...I have had some bad luck with my Kiwi Wifi @ so I switched to the GoPoint. A great device and it can clear obd codes.
Thanks a lot for your feedback. One more thing, it seems that the GoPoint now has Bluetooth... but which one would we need to get for the iPhone? BT1 or BT1A???
The BT1A is for both android and iphone. The BT1 is only for apple. I got the BT1.
__________________

2011 E92 M3 Coupe Jet Black ZCP: aFe High Flow Filter, AA Race X-Pipe, UUC Corsa Exhaust, Evolve Stage 2 Tune w/ Servo and DCT, BMW Performance Electric Steering Wheel V2, CF Spoiler, and GT4 Front Splitter, APR GT-250, Stoptech ST-60, KW Clubsports, Apex ARC-8, 275 NT01, Sparco Ergo Seats
warp10 is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-03-2013, 01:36 AM   #110
Fosterthiele
New Member
 
Drives: bmw
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: califorlia

Posts: 7
iTrader: (0)

I hate cell phones while riding. Actually much more than when riding, driving and entertaining as well. It is not only dangerous but also irresponsible. So I just purchased a cell phone jammer for my own sake,even better than I expected.
Fosterthiele is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
harry, lap timer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST