BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-16-2013, 07:25 PM   #1
w00tw00t
0
Lieutenant Colonel
 
w00tw00t's Avatar
 
Drives: a fun car..
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Issaquah, WA

Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (11)

Race Seat for Driver Only - Errors?

question for those who have swapped out their stock seat for a race seat (OMP, recaro etc).

If I swap out the drivers side only and use my three point stock seat belt alogn with the harness then will i get any other airbag errors?

I know passenger seat has a seat occupancy sensor but I don't think the drivers side has this - so I should be okay without an emulation module / coding - correct?

I only want to swap the drivers seat for now.
w00tw00t is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2013, 08:29 PM   #2
Raucky2000
0
Lieutenant
 
Raucky2000's Avatar
 
Drives: SGM E90 M3 dct
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio

Posts: 483
iTrader: (3)

Well, I have a 2011 e90 m3 and for that car the answer would be YES. I tried it already with no luck. I don't know if they changed seats for '13 but my car has the side airbags in the seat. Some of the late models even have smaller air bags in the head rests.

On my car since I have the seats changed, I had a bmw tech tell me that if I got into a front end impact that the car would more than likely pop all remaining air bags. Since it can't tell who's in the car or not and what's going on. He told me that he's seen it on impacts as slow as 20mph, so be aware.

My fix for the trouble light on the dash was very technical. I used a small piece of black electrical tape to cover the light.

If your dealership is cool, I'd just ask around for the "racer". Usually one at every shop and he'll prob give you the scoop if your nice and up front. Just ask around before, lots of smarts guys on this forum.

Last edited by Raucky2000; 02-16-2013 at 08:31 PM. Reason: typo
Raucky2000 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2013, 08:48 PM   #3
tom @ eas
0
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 10,482
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by w00tw00t View Post
question for those who have swapped out their stock seat for a race seat (OMP, recaro etc).

If I swap out the drivers side only and use my three point stock seat belt alogn with the harness then will i get any other airbag errors?

I know passenger seat has a seat occupancy sensor but I don't think the drivers side has this - so I should be okay without an emulation module / coding - correct?

I only want to swap the drivers seat for now.
Only passenger seats have the occupancy sensor. Removing only the driver's seat only would trigger airbag (and head restraint) errors.

Whether it's one seat or both, you will need the OC3 module or coding to remedy this.
__________________
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2013, 09:00 PM   #4
w00tw00t
0
Lieutenant Colonel
 
w00tw00t's Avatar
 
Drives: a fun car..
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Issaquah, WA

Posts: 1,630
iTrader: (11)

Got it thanks Tom!!
w00tw00t is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      02-16-2013, 09:08 PM   #5
Merked M3
0
First Lieutenant
 
Merked M3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sunnyvale, CA

Posts: 356
iTrader: (0)

Also one other side effect of only doing one seat is that most racetracks will not offer instruction if the front seats do not have the same restraint systems. The instructor needs to be just as safe as you driving.
__________________
2008 E90 M3 6-MT - Sold but not forgotten - amazing car

The next car, my Porsche Cayman S
Merked M3 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2013, 02:43 AM   #6
Zzhou
0
Lieutenant
 
Zzhou's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 SSII ZCP DCT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West Lafayette,IN/Shanghai,China

Posts: 525
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Only passenger seats have the occupancy sensor. Removing only the driver's seat only would trigger airbag (and head restraint) errors.

Whether it's one seat or both, you will need the OC3 module or coding to remedy this.
So it is only a error light, but air bags will still working when there is a impact correct?
__________________

AA Green Filter/AA Pulley/AA catless X-pipes/AA signature exhaust/AA TUNE/TMS studs/Project Kics R40/AD08/Vorsteiner GTS5 Bumper/LUX H8
Zzhou is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2013, 08:37 AM   #7
Raucky2000
0
Lieutenant
 
Raucky2000's Avatar
 
Drives: SGM E90 M3 dct
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio

Posts: 483
iTrader: (3)

I've found out the that OC3 module only works for '08 (possibly '09 as well, but def not on later models) M3s. MS has been working on an OC3 unit for my '11 M3 for over a month now w/ no results yet.

Yes your other (all) air bags will go off, if the shit hits the fan.
Raucky2000 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      02-17-2013, 10:10 AM   #8
bigjae1976
0
That's what she said...
 
bigjae1976's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 E90 M3 Individual
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI

Posts: 5,532
iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2004 BMW M3  [4.50]
2011 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
2013 BMW 328i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by w00tw00t View Post
question for those who have swapped out their stock seat for a race seat (OMP, recaro etc).

If I swap out the drivers side only and use my three point stock seat belt alogn with the harness then will i get any other airbag errors?

I know passenger seat has a seat occupancy sensor but I don't think the drivers side has this - so I should be okay without an emulation module / coding - correct?

I only want to swap the drivers seat for now.
Well...if you driver's seat occupancy sensor is sensing no one is the in the driver's seat...you've got much bigger problems than an airbag light.

LOL...sorry, I couldn't help it.

Or maybe you have a right hand drive pass seat in your left hand drive car...

__________________


Sponsored by Momentum BMW #593...We Bleed BMW BLUE!
bigjae1976 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 04:45 PM   #9
warp10
0
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 688
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
can a bmw dealership code this error out or does it have to done aftermarket?
warp10 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 05:07 PM   #10
THE TECH
0
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,111
iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by warp10 View Post
can a bmw dealership code this error out or does it have to done aftermarket?
No, they cannot and would never do it due to legalities.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 07:00 PM   #11
warp10
0
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 688
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
got it then what is the cost to get it coded? also looking at euro mdm
warp10 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 07:11 PM   #12
thorny
0
Captain
 
thorny's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 X5 E70, 2011 M3 E92
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 947
iTrader: (9)

We just take the car to EAS and coding problems such as race seat or Euro MDM are solved. cost is around 150 or so
thorny is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 07:12 PM   #13
warp10
0
Captain
 
warp10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

Posts: 688
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorny View Post
We just take the car to EAS and coding problems such as race seat or Euro MDM are solved. cost is around 150 or so
great for west coasters
warp10 is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST