BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography
 
ESS Tuning
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-25-2013, 02:07 PM   #4203
MaximusJ
Colonel
 
MaximusJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 325i 2006
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada

Posts: 2,122
iTrader: (19)

Garage List
'06 E90  [3.72]
Whole Nik's collection is on sale for cheap:
http://www.niksoftware.com/nikcollec...o%2Fmain.shtml

$149 for all 6!
MaximusJ is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2013, 04:11 PM   #4204
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,815
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximusJ View Post
Whole Nik's collection is on sale for cheap:
http://www.niksoftware.com/nikcollec...o%2Fmain.shtml

$149 for all 6!
Sweet. Very tempting. I'll download the trial version and see how it goes. I had the trial version of Silver, but didn't use it much.

Supposedly the code DZISER gets you a discount on top of this sale.
__________________
Mark
Randomography
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2013, 11:04 PM   #4205
MaximusJ
Colonel
 
MaximusJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 325i 2006
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada

Posts: 2,122
iTrader: (19)

Garage List
'06 E90  [3.72]
Pulled the trigger before seeing that... dammit.

Hey I dont know if any of you PC users missed this one out (like me), but Microsoft released a camera codec pack that allows Windows to generate jpg thumbnails previews for all RAW files for its file browser.

This is an advantage I've always liked in Mac's; they didnt have to open the raw files into an image processing software to know which raw file is which photo; you see the previews right out of your explorer.

Link : http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl....aspx?id=26829

About time Microsoft gets up to specs on this one; Like Canon just did for their lens caps ;p
MaximusJ is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-25-2013, 11:06 PM   #4206
MaximusJ
Colonel
 
MaximusJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 325i 2006
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada

Posts: 2,122
iTrader: (19)

Garage List
'06 E90  [3.72]
Confirmed: The coupon gets you 15% off. Will drop them an email in case they can adjust the price.
MaximusJ is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 08:40 AM   #4207
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,773
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximusJ View Post

Hey I dont know if any of you PC users missed this one out (like me), but Microsoft released a camera codec pack that allows Windows to generate jpg thumbnails previews for all RAW files for its file browser.
I did not see that. Thanks. I use Irfanview for that, but I'll get the Microsoft codec. I'm suspicious that Irfanview alters the file.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 08:46 AM   #4208
MaximusJ
Colonel
 
MaximusJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 325i 2006
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada

Posts: 2,122
iTrader: (19)

Garage List
'06 E90  [3.72]
They released this in november and it completely went under the radar.

To me, that's a major plus. How often do you have to open lightroom (or any other software) to sort out the pictures that are on your card that are from multiple minor events / shoots... Then go back to the file browser to copy your files in the respective folders of your computer.

Its kinda rare that i'm amazed by a microsoft new feature; but this one really helps my workflow.

And from what I see; the colors of the RAW thumbnail are pretty much spot on. I have to test if the thumbnail takes the .xmp sidecar file (thus the alterations) in consideration tho. That would be totally awesome.
MaximusJ is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 08:55 AM   #4209
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,815
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
The codecs have been around for ages. This "new" one has a bunch of updates for the new(ish) cameras. Still no codec for the 6D.
__________________
Mark
Randomography
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 09:21 AM   #4210
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,773
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximusJ View Post
They released this in november and it completely went under the radar.

To me, that's a major plus. How often do you have to open lightroom (or any other software) to sort out the pictures that are on your card that are from multiple minor events / shoots... Then go back to the file browser to copy your files in the respective folders of your computer.

Its kinda rare that i'm amazed by a microsoft new feature; but this one really helps my workflow.

And from what I see; the colors of the RAW thumbnail are pretty much spot on. I have to test if the thumbnail takes the .xmp sidecar file (thus the alterations) in consideration tho. That would be totally awesome.
I only look at the Raw images on my CF card once, no matter what software I'm using. I either load them into a permanent file or they get deleted when I put the card back into the camera and reformat it. Screwing around with files while not processing is a non-productive waste of time, IME. My decision is, "Is this file worth processing and does it have a chance to be 'the best' of the 30 alternative shots that I have of this animal?" If the answer is "yes", then I save it and it will be process at least through Raw conversion.

Previewing it in a Microsoft picture viewer won't save me any real time, but why use another program? If MS is going to be slow with codecs for new cameras, that'll be enough to turn me off to using it, but I'm going to try. BTW, I ETTR (expose to the right), so the preview doesn't even come close to looking good. I simply look for pose, sharpness and processing potential.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 12:34 PM   #4211
MaximusJ
Colonel
 
MaximusJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 325i 2006
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada

Posts: 2,122
iTrader: (19)

Garage List
'06 E90  [3.72]
I totally understand; maybe I wasnt clear; I use the thumbnails for sorting purposes; not for viewing the files.

For me; it'll definitely helps. I take pictures all week long but rarely post process during the week. So when I sit down, I have pictures from 2 or 3 different subjects and each "shoot" got its own dated folder to make it easier to find the shots afterwards. So I like to see the thumbnails since that facilitates the sorting of the pictures prior to PP.

It wasnt slow for me, thumbnails showed up lightning fast on a 150+ shots folder.

Mark: I stand corrected. Its the first time I ever read about this. Maybe the updates were a bit late? I searched for an app like that when I got the D7000 in oct. 2011 and couldnt find anything.

Last edited by MaximusJ; 03-26-2013 at 12:40 PM.
MaximusJ is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 12:42 PM   #4212
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,773
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Yes, we all work differently. As long as you have a routine and stick to it, you'll be ok. That's the key for me, developing a routine.

Many less serious photographers have no method to their madness and let many event accumulate on a card and then have no idea what to do with it after six-month, even though they may barely do any pp.

Dave
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 01:35 PM   #4213
Weebl
Weebl wobbles but eats Pie
 
Drives: 2008 335i, 2000 740i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area

Posts: 1,507
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstep View Post
Yes, we all work differently. As long as you have a routine and stick to it, you'll be ok. That's the key for me, developing a routine.

Many less serious photographers have no method to their madness and let many event accumulate on a card and then have no idea what to do with it after six-month, even though they may barely do any pp.

Dave
Dave,
works for me.

Not really but do have a lot of trash that I should delete and I sure don't know how to catalog in LR.
__________________
Kevingoto.smugmug.com
2000 740i-Annalisa and 2008 335i-Weebl. Weebl may wobble but has DTC
Weebl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 02:08 PM   #4214
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,815
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximusJ View Post

Mark: I stand corrected. Its the first time I ever read about this. Maybe the updates were a bit late? I searched for an app like that when I got the D7000 in oct. 2011 and couldnt find anything.
I think it was about a year ago when they first came out. Can't remember exactly, but my friend has a D7000 and I remember telling him about it so he could see the RAW files. I don't believe it was available in Oct 2011, though.

It's weird how the files change so much between cameras. I can see the RAW files from my T1i and my 7D, but anything from the 6D still just shows the CR2 icon.

I usually just go to Bridge anyway. I should mess around with the default apps setting and see if I can set the CR2 files to just launch in ACR right from Explorer.
__________________
Mark
Randomography
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 02:26 PM   #4215
dcstep
Brigadier General
 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

Posts: 4,773
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Weebl View Post
Not really but do have a lot of trash that I should delete and I sure don't know how to catalog in LR.
Delete the trash. If there's any doubt, Delete.
__________________
dcstep is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-26-2013, 02:43 PM   #4216
MaximusJ
Colonel
 
MaximusJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 325i 2006
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada

Posts: 2,122
iTrader: (19)

Garage List
'06 E90  [3.72]
Quote:
Originally Posted by M_Six View Post
I think it was about a year ago when they first came out. Can't remember exactly, but my friend has a D7000 and I remember telling him about it so he could see the RAW files. I don't believe it was available in Oct 2011, though.

It's weird how the files change so much between cameras. I can see the RAW files from my T1i and my 7D, but anything from the 6D still just shows the CR2 icon.

I usually just go to Bridge anyway. I should mess around with the default apps setting and see if I can set the CR2 files to just launch in ACR right from Explorer.
Makes sense now! I remember doing an extensive research on that matter and I was kinda surprised it was actually existing and that I never found it; especially since its coming from MS themselves.
MaximusJ is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2013, 02:57 AM   #4217
Rowdy
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 135i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hongcouver Canada

Posts: 225
iTrader: (1)

for all my Canon brethren... what is the best option as a master unit ? I've got two 430EX II's... Should I snag one of the transmitters or save a bit of coin and buy a 580 or 600? Thoughts? What works best for you? I'm certainly no pro...
Rowdy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2013, 10:49 AM   #4218
M_Six
Free Thinker
 
M_Six's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

Posts: 4,815
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I have a Cowboy Studios trigger setup. It works very well with my 430 EX II. It *does not* do TTL flash, so you'll have to set the flashes manually. If you want TTL flash settings, you'll have to spend quite a bit more money.

The thing I like about the Cowboy Studios setup is that it does not require line-of-sight to work. The flash can be a considerable distance away or even in another room.
__________________
Mark
Randomography
Flickr

"The $0.99 menu was put on this Earth for a good damn reason." -Weebl
M_Six is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2013, 11:26 AM   #4219
Chewy734
Major General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330i ZPP, ZSP
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis, MN

Posts: 6,726
iTrader: (15)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowdy View Post
for all my Canon brethren... what is the best option as a master unit ? I've got two 430EX II's... Should I snag one of the transmitters or save a bit of coin and buy a 580 or 600? Thoughts? What works best for you? I'm certainly no pro...
Paul C. Buff receiver/trigger
__________________

Currently for sale: N/A
Chewy734 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2013, 12:05 PM   #4220
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

The 430ex doesn't hook up to wireless transmitters, but do respond to infra red transmitters, so if you were to get either the 580 or 600, you'd be better off with the 580.

The 600 also won't wirelessly trigger aftermarket wireless receivers sadly, I found this out the expensive way and was not pleased.

So, if you plan to still use the 430s only, stick to the infrared only 580. And save money if there's a price difference. (Haven't looked at prices lately)
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2013, 02:44 PM   #4221
Rowdy
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 135i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hongcouver Canada

Posts: 225
iTrader: (1)

So the 580 is the way to go at this point then? If I want to keep my 430's, ETTL and add another flash. Considering the cost over say the St-e2 transmitter? Anyone have any experience with that?

The radio poppers and pocket wizards look like the bees knees, but again thats a whole 'nother realm of coin Id end up dropping..
Rowdy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-31-2013, 07:19 PM   #4222
The1
Major General
 
Drives: white 135
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KW ontario/vancouver temporarily

Posts: 5,127
iTrader: (0)

I have two pocket wizards, they are nice, but they won't pop the 600 wirelessly, unless I connect the other wizzard to it, which defeats the purpose of a wireless system in the canon flash.

Better off getting a 580 with the two 430s to control them since they don't take poppers. If you're starting from scratch and selling everything to start new, it might be a different story. I just feel like the 600 is a cash grab for canon.
The1 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      04-01-2013, 11:41 PM   #4223
Rowdy
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 135i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hongcouver Canada

Posts: 225
iTrader: (1)

Fair enough! Thats why I asked.

Now what about the canon infrared trigger.. the ST-E2? At just over 200.. it's less than half the cost of the 580, albeit I wouldnt get the additional flash unit
Rowdy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-02-2013, 11:36 AM   #4224
jm3as
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2007 e92 328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Renton, Wa

Posts: 3,601
iTrader: (4)

wow, after 3 years on this forum, i never knew there was a photography thread....awesomeeeeee!
__________________

facebook.com/jmeasphotography | jmeas.4ormat.com | IG: jmeasphotography
jm3as is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST