BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-13-2013, 05:03 PM   #1
Veritable
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: '13 Cadillac CTS-V Sedan 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posts: 203
iTrader: (0)

Can I use a tune for coding stuffs?

This is a follow-up to my thread about installing aftermarket seats here: http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=811269

So, rather than losing money in order to trade my car in for a CTS-V, I've decided to take that money and spend it on my car instead.

First up is to replace the front seats with a pair of Recaros. In order to do that properly, I will need to do "coding" in order to:

#1 remove the warnings about the lack of seat airbags, and more importantly

#2 make the passenger seat occupancy sensor be subjugated to the seatbelt rather than the missing seat occupancy sensor.

However, since the eventual goal for the car is to put an ESS supercharger kit into it, I'm wondering if it is possible for an ESS NA Tune to do these kind of "coding" stuffs. That makes more sense to me financially, since it looks like I can save a little bit of $$$ by having the Tune + E-Flash cable in place when I'm ready to go FI.

Or is a "tune" just for ECU modding only and will have nothing to do with the car's electronics?

Just trying to kill 2 birds with 1 stone, is all
Veritable is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2013, 05:06 PM   #2
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
 
mkPOTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 528I
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

Posts: 15,482
iTrader: (23)

Garage List
The purpose of the cables is just for tune, they do not have a function to code anything else out. If you are looking to get recaros EAS/MS sells a module that will work for you.
__________________

EVOLVE BMW E92 M3
mkPOTO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2013, 05:21 PM   #3
VCMpower
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 Dakar, 2013 Fire Orange
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Victoria B.C.

Posts: 941
iTrader: (0)

Mike Benvo
VCMpower is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-13-2013, 05:33 PM   #4
ROB_S2K
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2014 Grand Cherokee SRT8
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles

Posts: 1,770
iTrader: (4)

Mike can def code those out remotely
__________________
2014 Grand Cherokee SRT-8

(2012 | Laguna Seca Blue | Rust Brown | Individual | 6MT) SOLD
ROB_S2K is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 09:49 AM   #5
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,079
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
We can definitely help you out.

To answer your question though, a tune and it's cable cannot do any sort of coding on the car. They are completely separate operations.

Feel free to PM me if you'd like more info.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 10:13 AM   #6
happos2
Dingleberries
 
Drives: Gray E92 M3
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Indiana

Posts: 1,139
iTrader: (2)

As others have stated above:

Tuning is for performance / drivability
-Vanos reprograming
-redline movements
-speed limiter removed
-fuel to air ratio
-cam positioning

Coding is for functional requirements / aesthetics
-mirrors automatically fold up
-iDrive warning no more
-seat belt warning gone

Two different animals that are done two different ways, so no, the Tune does not include coding.
happos2 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 12:12 PM   #7
Veritable
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: '13 Cadillac CTS-V Sedan 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Posts: 203
iTrader: (0)

Rats, thanks for the answers guys, I was hoping I will be able to save some $$$ by having everything planned out and avoid redundant spending. Guess ECU and eletronics are separate after all.

In that case I will save the tune until I get the FI kit. I want to keep the drivetrain warranty for as long as possible :-)

Thanks again guys, and I'll be in touch with a remote coding vendor when my seats get here ;-)
Veritable is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST