BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing
 
INDustry distribution
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-08-2013, 12:22 PM   #23
M3amigos
HP addict
M3amigos's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
255
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 Jerez Black E93 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (0)

Yes, the group 49 sears battery is the direct replacement on the M3. The case is exactly identical to the OEM battery, and fitment was spot on. The price does seem to fluctuate, especially online with the various weekly sales. I missed the sale for $14x but was able to get 10% online discount, so I paid $162 and picked it up at my local store.

I ordered a cable off ebay from Idiagnostics. I am awaiting the shipment of the cable still, so I cannot yet confirm if it works or not. I took a chance on it since it was half the price of the one stop cable and sold in the UK as opposed to china...

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-LATEST-B...item41705d2546
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2013, 01:37 PM   #24
Gemcoska
Sleepy Member, wishing I was on the road.
Gemcoska's Avatar
10
Rep
277
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hey amigos... I got my cable in this weekend... did you do your coding yet? How did it go and what procedure did you follow?
__________________
2003 Ducati '996
2008 M3: Sparking Graphite, Red Fox Standard, 19s, Premium pkg, Tech pkg, Premium Enhanced Sound, HD Radio, Heated Front Seats.
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2013, 03:40 PM   #25
M3amigos
HP addict
M3amigos's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
255
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 Jerez Black E93 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, so I recieved my cable as well and used the software and install instructions included on the CD. Couldn't get it to connect to the car, so I bounced the installation instructions off the ones on the bmw coding website. I found that I had to set it to port 1 instead of port 4. In the inpatools I was able to recognize the ignition status, but am getting error codes when attemting to check the module status. Will need to investigate a little more before I can do any real coding.

After searching around a little, I came across a really cool data logging program that also has a battery reset function. Check it out at ************** dot com / bmwlogger. I fired it up and was able to do the battery reset, but I can't seem to do any real time data logging with it yet, so I think I still have some configuration to do with my cable.

Let me know if you are able to get yours working, I have been short on time lately, but hopefully in the next few weeks I can get in there and play around with some of the coding options.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2013, 10:41 PM   #26
Houstonbuckeye
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston

iTrader: (0)

I have an 08 M3 and it appears I need a new battery (clock losing about 2 minutes/day). I feared it wouldn't be easy to find the right battery without going to the dealership, but looks like I have under estimated the effort involved in changing it out once I have the battery.
I have read the posts, but have no idea about the "coding" that is being discussed.
Can someone please give a short explanation?
Thanks,
Stan
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 02:25 PM   #27
Gemcoska
Sleepy Member, wishing I was on the road.
Gemcoska's Avatar
10
Rep
277
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

Coding is basically telling the computer that you have a new battery and updating the battery specs if they are different than the OEM part. I'm gonna do mine right now with M3amigos suggestions. LMK if you have any issues.
__________________
2003 Ducati '996
2008 M3: Sparking Graphite, Red Fox Standard, 19s, Premium pkg, Tech pkg, Premium Enhanced Sound, HD Radio, Heated Front Seats.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 02:32 PM   #28
Gemcoska
Sleepy Member, wishing I was on the road.
Gemcoska's Avatar
10
Rep
277
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

Hey M3Amigos... did you change any of the specs for the battery in the new computer? I think you put in the sear duralast battery right?
__________________
2003 Ducati '996
2008 M3: Sparking Graphite, Red Fox Standard, 19s, Premium pkg, Tech pkg, Premium Enhanced Sound, HD Radio, Heated Front Seats.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 03:20 PM   #29
M3amigos
HP addict
M3amigos's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
255
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 Jerez Black E93 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, I used the 85AH Sears Duralast battery, but I left the specs alone since it is rated very closely to the original 90AH battery.

Theres some info here about registering batteries...

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=532315

There isn't a selection for 85AH, only 80 or 90, so I'm guessing it's not necessary to update.

Last edited by M3amigos; 03-01-2013 at 03:27 PM.
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2013, 06:28 PM   #30
Gemcoska
Sleepy Member, wishing I was on the road.
Gemcoska's Avatar
10
Rep
277
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

So yeah.. i used the bmwlogger and I can connect but can't get any live data. I see the register new battery selection tho so I'm guessing that's all there is to it. I got the INPA to connect but I have NO IDEA what do to with that. Does anyone else??

Also getting that battery outta the battery well was a beotch! Maybe I'm just weak.
__________________
2003 Ducati '996
2008 M3: Sparking Graphite, Red Fox Standard, 19s, Premium pkg, Tech pkg, Premium Enhanced Sound, HD Radio, Heated Front Seats.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2013, 12:58 AM   #31
Gemcoska
Sleepy Member, wishing I was on the road.
Gemcoska's Avatar
10
Rep
277
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 BMW M3
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, CA

iTrader: (0)

Anyone have links on how to code other things.. i.e. a cd changer?
__________________
2003 Ducati '996
2008 M3: Sparking Graphite, Red Fox Standard, 19s, Premium pkg, Tech pkg, Premium Enhanced Sound, HD Radio, Heated Front Seats.
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2013, 02:35 AM   #32
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
54
Rep
1,874
Posts

 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 808MGuy View Post
I've had that Sears battery for over a year now. No issues at all. I registered it with the one stop coding cable but it was a major PITA to get it working. If you're not tech savy, I would say go for the Bav Technic cable. Its more expensive but should be way easier to use. The only bad thing is that their software only works on older computers. If you have USB 3.0 ports, it won't work.
Bav Tech cables can't register batteries on the M3.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2014, 11:56 AM   #33
JHZR2
Captain
16
Rep
907
Posts

 
Drives: 91 E30, 11 135i cv
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

It can't do the M3? Any idea why? I assume the one stop electronics can cable also can't run on their software then? Looking for the best option to recode and reset my batteries, as well as service reminders. Pm sent to the tech.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST