BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
INDustry distribution
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-01-2013, 01:48 AM   #1
whats77inaname
Native Texan
 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (16)

You can't register the battery w/the Bavarian Technic cable

Picked up a Diehard then picked up a BT Enthusiast's kit to register the battery myself. Loaded the drivers, downloaded the latest working software, plugged up everything, then attempted to register the battery. Under the "Engine - S65" folder, there is no "COMMAND" option to register the battery. I then downloaded the beta software, same thing. Just wanted to inform everyone else who wanted to do this themselves....it has to be coded.

Screen print:


Last edited by whats77inaname; 03-01-2013 at 02:05 AM.
whats77inaname is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 01:52 AM   #2
Vic311
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 e92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NY

Posts: 1,469
iTrader: (0)

I havent had to replace battery yet..but on my 335 I was able to:

Engine Module_ Commands_ Battery Replacement Adaption_ Click Send Button

So are you saying for the M3 its not the same?
Vic311 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 01:58 AM   #3
whats77inaname
Native Texan
 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (16)

Yup. The menu for the options is in the screen print above. I then cross-referenced the BT website http://www.bavariantechnic.com/model...atrix.aspx#e90, where they make a point to indicate which cars have battery registration available. For the 3 series, check out the info underneath the matrix which says, "New battery registration on 325, 328, 330, 335 - except Diesels". Notice there is no M3 :-\

Last edited by whats77inaname; 03-02-2013 at 07:09 PM.
whats77inaname is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 02:10 AM   #4
Vic311
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 e92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NY

Posts: 1,469
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
Yup. The menu for the options is in the screen print above. I then cross-referenced the BT website http://www.bavariantechnic.com/model...atrix.aspx#e90, where they make a point to indicate which cars have battery registration available. For the 3 series, check out the info underneath the matrix which says, "New battery registration on 325, 328, 330, 335 - except Diesels". Notice there is no E9X :-\
Hmmm.. some of the BT site is not up to date..just a thought you are running the 1.9.x.x. beta version..

The most current full version is 1.8.6.6 ..Trying downloading that version off the BT website.. to see if you have it

I had used the cable to clear a fault code on my M3 and recall seeing the battery module.. I will have to test this out to see if its available
Vic311 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 02:40 AM   #5
whats77inaname
Native Texan
 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vic311 View Post
.just a thought you are running the 1.9.x.x. beta version......The most current full version is 1.8.6.6 ..Trying downloading that version off the BT website.. to see if you have it
.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
downloaded the latest working software.....Under the "Engine - S65" folder, there is no "COMMAND" option to register the battery. I then downloaded the beta software, same thing.
__________________


Not stock.
whats77inaname is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 02:44 AM   #6
Vic311
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 e92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NY

Posts: 1,469
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
.....
Sorry didnt read that
Vic311 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 03:11 AM   #7
whats77inaname
Native Texan
 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (16)

I also ran through all the other menus, and didn't see it in any of them, either. I submitted a support email to BT, so we'll see what they say.
whats77inaname is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 06:27 PM   #8
whats77inaname
Native Texan
 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (16)

Here's the response from BT

"Thank you for writing. The tool does not support the new battery registration on the M3 at this time. We hope to provide support for that mode in a future release of the tool. We do not yet have a time frame for the update.

If you have any other questions, don't hesitate to ask.
Owen Sutton
Diagnose Technic
888-854-5523"

Last edited by whats77inaname; 03-01-2013 at 06:44 PM.
whats77inaname is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 09:48 PM   #9
spdy330
Major General
 
spdy330's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 Tundra, 11 M3, 08 Odyssey
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Chino, CA

Posts: 6,005
iTrader: (159)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to spdy330 Send a message via Yahoo to spdy330
That sucks.
__________________
If any of you are purchasing ANY AT&T services could you mention that you were referred by me? My referral ID is eo4489. This would be a great help, thank you!
spdy330 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2013, 11:35 PM   #10
whats77inaname
Native Texan
 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spdy330 View Post
That sucks.
My thoughts exactly. They are taking it back and giving me a refund, which is good. On to the next solution.
__________________


Not stock.
whats77inaname is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2013, 11:32 AM   #11
elm3
M3 Lover
 
elm3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

Posts: 1,857
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
I was wondering the same thing too. I looked at mine and it didn't have a way of registering a new battery in my car. Keep us updated on anything else that we could use, other than the dealership for registering the new battery.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
elm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2013, 03:09 PM   #12
whats77inaname
Native Texan
 
Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (16)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elm3 View Post
I was wondering the same thing too. I looked at mine and it didn't have a way of registering a new battery in my car. Keep us updated on anything else that we could use, other than the dealership for registering the new battery.
In looking @ various posts, it can be coded in, but I can't fathom spending big money to simply register a battery. I've had Benvo code other things for my car in the past, and I was really, really pleased with his service, so I'm on the fence about a) getting a remote coding quote for this or b) finally spending the time investment to learn how to code my car myself. The information is out there, it's just the whole time thing :-\
__________________


Not stock.
whats77inaname is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-03-2013, 07:51 PM   #13
elm3
M3 Lover
 
elm3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

Posts: 1,857
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
In looking @ various posts, it can be coded in, but I can't fathom spending big money to simply register a battery. I've had Benvo code other things for my car in the past, and I was really, really pleased with his service, so I'm on the fence about a) getting a remote coding quote for this or b) finally spending the time investment to learn how to code my car myself. The information is out there, it's just the whole time thing :-\
I agree with you. I'm looking on my end too.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
elm3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2013, 08:30 AM   #14
GRUESOM3
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2 peoples cars and a E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Staten Island NY

Posts: 183
iTrader: (3)

What else does this cable not do, i was going to buy it but for 600$+ and not be able to at least do battery, i might have to skip this purchase too.
GRUESOM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2013, 10:18 AM   #15
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,103
iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Their site tells you everything that it does. It's quote a good tool. I don't think there's really anything else out there that can match it for the price.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2013, 12:16 PM   #16
808MGuy
Colonel
 
808MGuy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

Posts: 2,282
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
Their site tells you everything that it does. It's quote a good tool. I don't think there's really anything else out there that can match it for the price.
If only they could get it to work on a modern computer. I bought it about a year ago and had issues with the driver blue screening my computer. I was told that if your computer has USB 3.0 ports, the driver is not compatible and they don't have plans on releasing an updated driver in the near future so they told me to return the tool or get another computer. It seems like they are not in the business of actually developing the product since they don't have a fix for any of the issues it has. Their solution is always, just return it because it won't work. They seem more like just a reseller of the equipment that someone else makes for them.

In comparison, Ross-Tech, who makes a similar product for VW/Audi cars is light years ahead of them. You contact them about issues and they typically have a solution for you within 24 hours even on the weekends. I heard a while back they were contemplating trying to get into the BMW market but that has since died.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

808MGuy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-06-2013, 12:33 PM   #17
GRUESOM3
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2 peoples cars and a E90 M3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Staten Island NY

Posts: 183
iTrader: (3)

I have used VCDS for about 12 years now (my other cars are vw's) its a great tool and worth every penny.

On the other hand im not sure if this is comparable to bavarian tool if i can't simply code a battery.

What are some other options besides the bavarian technic tool?
GRUESOM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST