BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board
 
BPM Sport
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-06-2013, 09:25 AM   #1
SE3P_to_E90
Banned
 
Drives: E90 Msport + E83 Msport
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MD

Posts: 3,035
iTrader: (29)

Send a message via AIM to SE3P_to_E90
Calling all Electricians!!! Need help on a small project !

Hi guys,

Calling all electricians!

I'm attempting to do a small project, but wanted to chime in for some advice. What i'm looking to do is make a Hard-wire Light Vanity into a Pluggable one...

I just bought a make-up vanity for my fiance, and want to add those 4 bulb light fixtures to each side of the mirror. Unfortunately, those light fixtures are made to be hard-wired, but I've read on a few sites that I can just convert those light fixtures into a pluggable one -- by just splicing the wires off of an extension cord, and re-wiring the lines...

So, i'm going to do this... I'm going to buy a couple of those light fixtures, a couple of extension cords, electrical tape, maybe some wire connector covers...

Is there anything I should watch out for - or anything special I need to do? When it comes to anything electrical, i'm a true novice -- i really have no idea what I'm doing.

Any advice on this topic would be really helpful. If you can let me know what I need to get, what i need to do, etc. (so I don't burn the house down), that would be great.

Many thanks in advance for your help!
SE3P_to_E90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 09:29 AM   #2
Templar
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Templar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: One of the coasts...

Posts: 1,816
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [5.00]
I'd be interested to see what advice you get as well. The only thing electrical I've done in my house is install ceiling fans, which is a pretty simple process (blue wire to blue wire, etc).
__________________
'11 BMW E92 ///M3 - ZCP and DCT
'13 Toyota Tundra - 4x4 Platinum CrewMax, 5.7l iForce V8
Templar is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 09:45 AM   #3
rohms3
Lieutenant
 
rohms3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Long Island, NY

Posts: 523
iTrader: (0)

Its a 30 second job, doesn't get much any easier. Just realize that the second you alter a fixure or extension cord, the UL approval goes out the window. That doesn't necessecarily make it unsafe if done right though.

Figure out if the fixtures are 2-wire or 3-wire, and buy your extension cord accordingly, strip it, wire nuts, tape, done. Just make sure you cover the stipped portion of the wire completely with the nut, and then tape the connection completely.
rohms3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 09:49 AM   #4
SE3P_to_E90
Banned
 
Drives: E90 Msport + E83 Msport
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MD

Posts: 3,035
iTrader: (29)

Send a message via AIM to SE3P_to_E90
Quote:
Originally Posted by smohr33 View Post
Its a 30 second job, doesn't get much any easier. Just realize that the second you alter a fixure or extension cord, the UL approval goes out the window. That doesn't necessecarily make it unsafe if done right though.

Figure out if the fixtures are 2-wire or 3-wire, and buy your extension cord accordingly, strip it, wire nuts, tape, done. Just make sure you cover the stipped portion of the wire completely with the nut, and then tape the connection completely.
Thanks for your help, Smohr33... very helpful. And i read about the 2 or 3-wire fixture... apparently, one of them is a ground, and I need to make sure i get the appropriate extension cord.

Just out of curiosity, since the extension cord isn't going to be color coded, does it matter which wire I connect? Any advice on this would be very helpful.

Lastly, is there a way to add a "switch" assembly to the unit? Is this even safe to do so? if not, I'll get one of those surge protectors with a on/off switch so i don't have to keep plugging it in and out...

Thanks again!
SE3P_to_E90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 10:54 AM   #5
rohms3
Lieutenant
 
rohms3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Long Island, NY

Posts: 523
iTrader: (0)

When you cut the sheathing off the extension cord, the wires should have white or black insulation. If not though, try to follow the wires from the prong, the larger prong is the neutral which is the white wire.

If you're going to switch it, why not hardwire it? If you're hanging this on the wall, you could use the rooms existing wiring or daisy chain it, and put a switch on the wall next to it or add a switch next to an existing light switch.
rohms3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 11:47 AM   #6
Lagger1
Private First Class
 
Lagger1's Avatar
 
Drives: valvetronic engaged
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Costa Mesa, CA

Posts: 140
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smohr33 View Post
When you cut the sheathing off the extension cord, the wires should have white or black insulation. If not though, try to follow the wires from the prong, the larger prong is the neutral which is the white wire.

If you're going to switch it, why not hardwire it? If you're hanging this on the wall, you could use the rooms existing wiring or daisy chain it, and put a switch on the wall next to it or add a switch next to an existing light switch.
^this. No extension cords. Buy some romex & daisy chain off an existing light switch. wht-wht, blk-blk, will prob be no ground. GL
__________________
2006 330i | AW | 6MT | ZSP | LOGIC | ADAPTIVE | PBX

Lagger1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 12:29 PM   #7
SE3P_to_E90
Banned
 
Drives: E90 Msport + E83 Msport
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MD

Posts: 3,035
iTrader: (29)

Send a message via AIM to SE3P_to_E90
Quote:
Originally Posted by smohr33 View Post
When you cut the sheathing off the extension cord, the wires should have white or black insulation. If not though, try to follow the wires from the prong, the larger prong is the neutral which is the white wire.

If you're going to switch it, why not hardwire it? If you're hanging this on the wall, you could use the rooms existing wiring or daisy chain it, and put a switch on the wall next to it or add a switch next to an existing light switch.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lagger1 View Post
^this. No extension cords. Buy some romex & daisy chain off an existing light switch. wht-wht, blk-blk, will prob be no ground. GL
Thanks for the heads up guys... I don't want to hard wire the lights because my fiance will ultimately end up moving it around, and I'm also renting -- so I don't want to cut open the wall, etc...

Smohr, you are 100% on. The Lowes Electrician said the same thing - larger prong/left is the neutral/white, and the right prong is the hot/black. White-white, black-black, ground-ground - should be all set to go. I also got the wire caps and electrical tape for peace-of-mind.

I also checked the vanity light (3-bulb), and it has 3 wires... white, black (both sheathed), and ground (unsheathed). therefore, i got an extension cord with 3 wires - and I'll be following your instructions.

I'm actually planning to wire the two vanity's together - so I can run one extension cord off of this. 6 bulbs - so I don't think it'll be too much on the socket.

Thanks again for all your helpful advice.
SE3P_to_E90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 12:48 PM   #8
rohms3
Lieutenant
 
rohms3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Long Island, NY

Posts: 523
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SE3P_to_E90 View Post
I'm actually planning to wire the two vanity's together - so I can run one extension cord off of this. 6 bulbs - so I don't think it'll be too much on the socket.

Thanks again for all your helpful advice.
You're fine. A standard recepticle is rated at 15 amps. The extension cord is probably 16ga, which is rated at 10 or 13 amps. If you have 6 x 60 watt bulbs that will only draw about 3 amps.
rohms3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 01:06 PM   #9
SE3P_to_E90
Banned
 
Drives: E90 Msport + E83 Msport
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MD

Posts: 3,035
iTrader: (29)

Send a message via AIM to SE3P_to_E90
Quote:
Originally Posted by smohr33 View Post
You're fine. A standard recepticle is rated at 15 amps. The extension cord is probably 16ga, which is rated at 10 or 13 amps. If you have 6 x 60 watt bulbs that will only draw about 3 amps.
If only i was as knowledgeable as you on this... I appreciate you following up (again). That definitely gives me peace of mind - and I'm eager to try this out. thanks again for your help!!!
SE3P_to_E90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 02:15 PM   #10
Joekerr
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON

Posts: 310
iTrader: (0)

Is it really wrong of me to sort of hope that smohr33 is actually a troll?


Not that I wish to see OP get electrocuted, but I can just imagine him plugging it in, flipping on the power to see his whole house go dark.

If smohr33 is a troll, this was a fantastic effort on his behalf.

Now with this post, my bet is the OP exercises additional caution now...oh the stress a single harmless post can add....
Joekerr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 02:24 PM   #11
rohms3
Lieutenant
 
rohms3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Long Island, NY

Posts: 523
iTrader: (0)

Haha

No, but seriously, I leave the trolling to shah. OP, all my advice was genuine.
rohms3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 02:42 PM   #12
grimlock
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: F10 N52B30@255PS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hong Kong

Posts: 1,768
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joekerr View Post
Is it really wrong of me to sort of hope that smohr33 is actually a troll?


Not that I wish to see OP get electrocuted, but I can just imagine him plugging it in, flipping on the power to see his whole house go dark.

If smohr33 is a troll, this was a fantastic effort on his behalf.

Now with this post, my bet is the OP exercises additional caution now...oh the stress a single harmless post can add....
If he were a troll, he wouldn't be following the advice and get electrocuted..
But I just wanna tell people to go play with electricity - if you want to die that badly. end of PSA

edit: oh the ADVICE is the troll .. yeah OP stick your finger in the socket to test that its on, first..

Last edited by grimlock; 02-06-2013 at 02:49 PM.
grimlock is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-06-2013, 02:51 PM   #13
SE3P_to_E90
Banned
 
Drives: E90 Msport + E83 Msport
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MD

Posts: 3,035
iTrader: (29)

Send a message via AIM to SE3P_to_E90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joekerr View Post
Is it really wrong of me to sort of hope that smohr33 is actually a troll?


Not that I wish to see OP get electrocuted, but I can just imagine him plugging it in, flipping on the power to see his whole house go dark.

If smohr33 is a troll, this was a fantastic effort on his behalf.

Now with this post, my bet is the OP exercises additional caution now...oh the stress a single harmless post can add....
I'll let you know if I get electrocuted lol...

Quote:
Originally Posted by smohr33 View Post
Haha

No, but seriously, I leave the trolling to shah. OP, all my advice was genuine.
Your advice was genuine - matches up to what i've read/heard, so I appreciate your heads up... If i mess anything up, it's on me - not you

Quote:
Originally Posted by grimlock View Post
If he were a troll, he wouldn't be following the advice and get electrocuted..
But I just wanna tell people to go play with electricity - if you want to die that badly. end of PSA
if i don't follow up my monday, i got electrocuted and may have burned the house down. stay tuned for updates.... if not, call the fire dept.
SE3P_to_E90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2013, 08:48 AM   #14
SE3P_to_E90
Banned
 
Drives: E90 Msport + E83 Msport
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MD

Posts: 3,035
iTrader: (29)

Send a message via AIM to SE3P_to_E90
Quote:
Originally Posted by smohr33 View Post
Haha

No, but seriously, I leave the trolling to shah. OP, all my advice was genuine.
Followed your instructions to the dot... worked perfectly. With those wire caps, didn't even use the electrical tape.

Thanks again for your guidance! No issues whatsoever!
SE3P_to_E90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2013, 12:34 PM   #15
Joekerr
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON

Posts: 310
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SE3P_to_E90 View Post
Followed your instructions to the dot... worked perfectly. With those wire caps, didn't even use the electrical tape.

Thanks again for your guidance! No issues whatsoever!
Rats.

I was already seeing this week's greatest internet story. "Individual seeks electrical advice from online forum, is trolled - fire department called" And then as a subline "Troll seeks police protection".



Ok, am glad everything worked out for you though. Electricity is nothing I'd ever play with, I know my limits. And back in high school, I was always the kid whose light never lit up after completing the circuit board...looked like a freaking idiot all the time, every time. Hated electrical shop. Liked automotive and woodworking though.
Joekerr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2013, 01:31 PM   #16
Maestro
Captain
 
Drives: 2007 335i Sedan
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Philadelphia

Posts: 863
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by smohr33 View Post
Its a 30 second job, doesn't get much any easier. Just realize that the second you alter a fixure or extension cord, the UL approval goes out the window. That doesn't necessecarily make it unsafe if done right though.

Figure out if the fixtures are 2-wire or 3-wire, and buy your extension cord accordingly, strip it, wire nuts, tape, done. Just make sure you cover the stipped portion of the wire completely with the nut, and then tape the connection completely.
That is the key point, if 3 wires are needed then the fixture should be grounded. Most time the grounding is needed if something fails in the fixture and you do not want metal parts having 120V on them and then touching them. Just keep this in mind before you do anything.

Also you do not need extension cord, you just need plug cord and Lowes and Home Depot have this for repairing lamps fixtures. You will also need wire nuts or solder the wire to the fixture. You will also need something thing to secure the wires to the fixture so it will not pull out. Depending on the fixture it may or may not have it own switch if it does that is great, if not then you will need a way to turn the lights on. either install a swtich or get lamp cord with a built in switch.

below are some ideas

http://www.lowes.com/pd_48558-12704-...ors&facetInfo=

http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?...llow&cId=PDIO1

http://www.lowes.com/pd_40570-1811-8...ord&facetInfo=

http://www.lowes.com/pd_183107-15527...7C1&facetInfo=

http://www.lowes.com/pd_1440-15527-4...7C1&facetInfo=

http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?...llow&cId=PDIO1

http://www.lowes.com/pd_471846-37672...onductor+cable

Now is you dealing with 3 sire set up use this

http://www.lowes.com/pd_45463-334-SA...7C1&facetInfo=

and just get 3 conductor wire and buy it by the foot

18 gauge my be over kill but here is what you would be looking for

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.URQAuCdEFVI

Last edited by Maestro; 02-07-2013 at 02:30 PM.
Maestro is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2013, 10:31 AM   #17
SE3P_to_E90
Banned
 
Drives: E90 Msport + E83 Msport
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: MD

Posts: 3,035
iTrader: (29)

Send a message via AIM to SE3P_to_E90
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joekerr View Post
Rats.

I was already seeing this week's greatest internet story. "Individual seeks electrical advice from online forum, is trolled - fire department called" And then as a subline "Troll seeks police protection".



Ok, am glad everything worked out for you though. Electricity is nothing I'd ever play with, I know my limits. And back in high school, I was always the kid whose light never lit up after completing the circuit board...looked like a freaking idiot all the time, every time. Hated electrical shop. Liked automotive and woodworking though.
I was expecting something to short-circuit, but all went well... phewwwww haha.

And yes, i'm on the same boat as you with electricity... when i was young, i burst 2 bulbs screwing them in - so i've always respected electricity - and tried not to mess with it. This project seems simple enough, so i went for it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maestro View Post
That is the key point, if 3 wires are needed then the fixture should be grounded. Most time the grounding is needed if something fails in the fixture and you do not want metal parts having 120V on them and then touching them. Just keep this in mind before you do anything.

Also you do not need extension cord, you just need plug cord and Lowes and Home Depot have this for repairing lamps fixtures. You will also need wire nuts or solder the wire to the fixture. You will also need something thing to secure the wires to the fixture so it will not pull out. Depending on the fixture it may or may not have it own switch if it does that is great, if not then you will need a way to turn the lights on. either install a swtich or get lamp cord with a built in switch.

below are some ideas

http://www.lowes.com/pd_48558-12704-...ors&facetInfo=

http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?...llow&cId=PDIO1

http://www.lowes.com/pd_40570-1811-8...ord&facetInfo=

http://www.lowes.com/pd_183107-15527...7C1&facetInfo=

http://www.lowes.com/pd_1440-15527-4...7C1&facetInfo=

http://www.lowes.com/ProductDisplay?...llow&cId=PDIO1

http://www.lowes.com/pd_471846-37672...onductor+cable

Now is you dealing with 3 sire set up use this

http://www.lowes.com/pd_45463-334-SA...7C1&facetInfo=

and just get 3 conductor wire and buy it by the foot

18 gauge my be over kill but here is what you would be looking for

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...1#.URQAuCdEFVI
Maestro, Thanks for the huge heads up! Definitely great advice. Since my first "project" worked okay, I'll probably mess with this quite a bit more in the future. That cord repair kit is just what i need for my next project - wasn't sure if they sold that... and i wasn't going to spend $100 for wires and plugs - so i just went w/ the 3-wire electrical cord.

Picture below on my small project (nothing fancy, just wanted to get some lights on the new makeup vanity i got for my fiance)... wired both lights together. Thanks again for all the helpful advice - guys!
Attached Images
 
SE3P_to_E90 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST