BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-09-2012, 06:05 PM   #1
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Brake Pad Wear Indicator

Guys, who replace brake pads by yourself, how do you reset brake pad service indicator in i-Drive? I have a new set and it annoys me that it is telling me to go to service..

I have Bavarian Technic cable and for some reason I am getting error while trying to reset any of my Condition based service indicators.

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2012, 07:15 PM   #2
VictorH
Captain
16
Rep
640
Posts

 
Drives: '09 M3
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SC

iTrader: (2)

My understanding is that it can only be reset by replacing the wear sensor itself. It clears the pads worn and need replacing message, but I'm not sure what it does with the mileage until replacement amount.
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2012, 08:06 PM   #3
warp10
Captain
warp10's Avatar
9
Rep
696
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 M3 Jet Black:ZCP, ZCV, ZP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Atlanta, Ga

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 M3  [5.00]
2011 28i X3  [0.00]
As long as the dash light for brake pad change has not been on, Then you can reset the service mileage through the dash, but if the wear sensor has been worn through then you have to replace the sensor to get the light to turn off.
__________________

2011 E92 M3 Coupe Jet Black ZCP: aFe High Flow Filter, AA Race X-Pipe, UUC Corsa Exhaust, Evolve Stage 2 Tune w/ Servo and DCT, BMW Performance Electric Steering Wheel V2, CF Spoiler, and GT4 Front Splitter, APR GT-250, Stoptech ST-60, KW Clubsports, Apex ARC-8, 275 NT01, Sparco Ergo Seats, Alekshop: Cage, Subframe and Diff mounts, Oil Cooler
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 12:09 AM   #4
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

I'll try the dash reset. If that doesnt help, i'll replace sensors. Thanks for your help
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2012, 08:53 AM   #5
CanAutM3
Brigadier General
CanAutM3's Avatar
Canada
72
Rep
4,372
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 DCT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [4.75]
2006 Audi S4  [0.00]
This is correct, as long as the pad sensor did not send a trigger to the ECU, you can reset the mileage countdown through the dash. Otherwise, you need to change the sensor.

BTW, I have given up on the sensors a long time ago. I simply took the connector end of the sensor, cut off most of the cable and welded/taped the two wires together. Changing pads is now much faster and cheeper .

I kept a good set of sensors for when I will sell my car .
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 03:27 AM   #6
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Ok. I decided to give up on the sensors too. All I need to do is to cut off the wire and twist 2 wires together?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CanAutM3 View Post
This is correct, as long as the pad sensor did not send a trigger to the ECU, you can reset the mileage countdown through the dash. Otherwise, you need to change the sensor.

BTW, I have given up on the sensors a long time ago. I simply took the connector end of the sensor, cut off most of the cable and welded/taped the two wires together. Changing pads is now much faster and cheeper .

I kept a good set of sensors for when I will sell my car .
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 07:43 AM   #7
CanAutM3
Brigadier General
CanAutM3's Avatar
Canada
72
Rep
4,372
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 DCT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [4.75]
2006 Audi S4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by thorny View Post
Ok. I decided to give up on the sensors too. All I need to do is to cut off the wire and twist 2 wires together?
Yessir, that simple. I actually welded the two wires together to be extra safe, but I guess twisting them would be sufficient. I then wrapped the connection in electrical tape to isolate it from the elements. It has been like this for 3 years without any issues .
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 08:40 AM   #8
mid-corner fun
Major
United_States
15
Rep
1,418
Posts

 
Drives: e92
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NE

iTrader: (4)

fyi: electrical tape for said purpose melts when placed near the rotors, ask me how I know

wire has since been tie-wrapped away from the front rotor with electrical tape over the sensor. The entire rear wire and sensor can be nicely tucked in the wheel liner.
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 10:54 AM   #9
bigjae1976
That's what she said...
bigjae1976's Avatar
84
Rep
5,643
Posts

 
Drives: 11 E90 M3 Individual
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Milwaukee, WI

iTrader: (12)

Garage List
2004 BMW M3  [4.50]
2011 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
2013 BMW 328i  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanAutM3 View Post
This is correct, as long as the pad sensor did not send a trigger to the ECU, you can reset the mileage countdown through the dash. Otherwise, you need to change the sensor.

BTW, I have given up on the sensors a long time ago. I simply took the connector end of the sensor, cut off most of the cable and welded/taped the two wires together. Changing pads is now much faster and cheeper .

I kept a good set of sensors for when I will sell my car .
Lol...I did that as well. I took the car in for service and the service advisor was horrified when they saw my wad of electrical tape.
__________________


Sponsored by Momentum BMW #593...We Bleed BMW BLUE!
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 11:10 AM   #10
thorny
Captain
thorny's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
947
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (9)

Thanks guys!
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 01:28 PM   #11
InterJon
Private First Class
2
Rep
185
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E92 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanAutM3 View Post
Yessir, that simple. I actually welded the two wires together to be extra safe, but I guess twisting them would be sufficient. I then wrapped the connection in electrical tape to isolate it from the elements. It has been like this for 3 years without any issues .
Great information. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 03:37 PM   #12
CanAutM3
Brigadier General
CanAutM3's Avatar
Canada
72
Rep
4,372
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4 DCT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [4.75]
2006 Audi S4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mid-corner fun View Post
fyi: electrical tape for said purpose melts when placed near the rotors, ask me how I know

wire has since been tie-wrapped away from the front rotor with electrical tape over the sensor. The entire rear wire and sensor can be nicely tucked in the wheel liner.
I only kept less than one inch of wire past the connector. The electrical tape mostly resides inside the connector box inside the wheel well, far away from the rotor. So no melting issues .
Appreciate 0
      12-26-2012, 09:49 PM   #13
Car54
Captain
10
Rep
899
Posts

 
Drives: 1999 Z3 Mcoupe | 2008 M3/4
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lutz, FL

iTrader: (1)

If your sensor is intact, you can just tie it back up on the strut or wheel well without messing with the wiring. When you want it back in place, just connect it into the pad...if you didn't lose that stupid spring clip.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2013, 12:38 AM   #14
adc
Brigadier General
53
Rep
4,151
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3 ED
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MD/DC

iTrader: (6)

And if you resort to tying the wires together, simply tuck them back into the Teflon sheath that covers the wires towards the end, it's melt-proof.

When the season starts, I think I'll tuck the sensors into the wheel well to keep them safe.
__________________

2009 E90 M3 ED
2014 X1 28i ED
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2013, 05:29 AM   #15
Raucky2000
Lieutenant
Raucky2000's Avatar
6
Rep
483
Posts

 
Drives: SGM E90 M3 dct
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ohio

iTrader: (3)

Thanks for all the great info/exp, I'll be pulling mine back in the spring.
Appreciate 0
      01-04-2013, 07:23 AM   #16
JJM335
Second Lieutenant
United_States
2
Rep
228
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3
Join Date: May 2007
Location: GA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 E92 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Car54 View Post
If your sensor is intact, you can just tie it back up on the strut or wheel well without messing with the wiring. When you want it back in place, just connect it into the pad...if you didn't lose that stupid spring clip.
+1 All you have to do is remove the little metal clip and tie the entire sensor out of the way. I've been doing this since one of mine actually fell off and I found it dangling down inside the wheel (having never set off the wear alarm).
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST