BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-13-2012, 06:45 PM   #1
GewoW
#thatsanicemovebro
 
GewoW's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 LSB/Black 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada

Posts: 3,832
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [4.67]
Send a message via Skype™ to GewoW
brake sensor reset?

i melted my brakes and upgraded to an AP kit last year, but since there was no pad left, the sensor burnt. Now it has a service soon sign for the front brakes, but not the back (there was a bit left there). is there any way to reset this?

the dealer said it cannot be done. i know that's not possible.

do i need to buy a new brake sensor and short it? is there a code scanner or smthg that can delete the message?

lemme know
thx for replies
__________________
GewoW is offline   Greece
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2012, 12:45 AM   #2
GewoW
#thatsanicemovebro
 
GewoW's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 LSB/Black 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada

Posts: 3,832
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [4.67]
Send a message via Skype™ to GewoW
bumpity
__________________
GewoW is offline   Greece
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2012, 01:39 AM   #3
Reno
Private First Class
 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 147
iTrader: (2)

This is probably the mileage countdown that caused this. The car is expecting new sensors to be installed before it can be reset. Remove the front sensors and short the connector with a very small (20gauge) wire.

Now turn on the dash (secondary position or start car). Make sure clock is visible on dash, then push and hold trip meter reset button. After yellow triangle appears use up down toggle on turn single lever to scroll to the front brakes. Then push the BC button and it will ask if you want to reset. Push and hold the BC button and it should reset the mileage countdown.

I am not sure, but you may have to do the rear as well. Once you are finished you can reconnect the old sensors and you should be good to go.
Reno is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 12:26 AM   #4
GewoW
#thatsanicemovebro
 
GewoW's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 LSB/Black 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada

Posts: 3,832
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 BMW M3  [4.67]
Send a message via Skype™ to GewoW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno View Post
This is probably the mileage countdown that caused this. The car is expecting new sensors to be installed before it can be reset. Remove the front sensors and short the connector with a very small (20gauge) wire.

Now turn on the dash (secondary position or start car). Make sure clock is visible on dash, then push and hold trip meter reset button. After yellow triangle appears use up down toggle on turn single lever to scroll to the front brakes. Then push the BC button and it will ask if you want to reset. Push and hold the BC button and it should reset the mileage countdown.

I am not sure, but you may have to do the rear as well. Once you are finished you can reconnect the old sensors and you should be good to go.
what is this BC button?
where is this trip meter reset button?
i went to the service menu and the front brakes and rear brakes have a yellow triangle beside them. the other things listed have OK beside

if ur driving an 07, we have a different idrive system
__________________
GewoW is offline   Greece
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 01:38 AM   #5
Reno
Private First Class
 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 147
iTrader: (2)

Trip reset is on the gauge cluster. BC button is on the turn signal lever.
Reno is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2013, 07:52 AM   #6
CSanto
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York

Posts: 1,794
iTrader: (1)

I want to bump this thread.

I'm having the same problem. Is this the only solution?
CSanto is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2013, 12:48 PM   #7
Richard@M-World
 
Richard@M-World's Avatar
 
Drives: NASA TTA #92 M3
Join Date: May 2011
Location: TX/IL

Posts: 683
iTrader: (0)

You will need to 1) buy and install a new sensor or short the original wiring, and 2) perform the reset as described below.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51049
__________________
Authorized AiM Dealer - Solo/Solo DL | SmartyCam HD | www.m-world.us
Richard@M-World is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2013, 01:40 PM   #8
2000gsr
First Lieutenant
 
2000gsr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E92 M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto, ON

Posts: 362
iTrader: (0)

Next time, just tie sensors back on control arm. When the service light comes on, unplug one of the 3 sensors, perform reset(it won't work), than plug sensor back in and perform reset again and it should work.
__________________
http://www.m3post.com/forums/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=44350&dateline=125013  4806
2000gsr is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST