BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
BPM Sport
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-14-2012, 12:32 PM   #1
///M Power-Belgium
Brigadier General
 
///M Power-Belgium's Avatar
 
Drives: ///M3-DCT- E92 Silverstone II
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Belgium

Posts: 3,031
iTrader: (0)

I had recently an update to 233 E software

I had recently an update to 233 E from my BMW dealer here in Belgium.
And i feel now that the ///M3 pulls better,and the second gear-lag is gone.
Also the DCT shifts faster.
Now my question... exists an 233 E update in America ???
For all information...i thanks already in advance !
///M Power-Belgium is online now   Belgium
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2012, 12:34 PM   #2
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,933
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M Power-Belgium View Post
I had recently an update to 233 E from my BMW dealer here in Belgium.
And i feel now that the ///M3 pulls better,and the second gear-lag is gone.
Also the DCT shifts faster.
Now my question... exists an 233 E update in America ???
For all information...i thanks already in advance !
Never saw a 233E through our doors (related to DME only), only 231E. We're now updating to 240E
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2012, 01:14 PM   #3
Wendall
***Major MammelToe
 
Wendall's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3 SG coupe
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County, CA

Posts: 1,146
iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Never saw a 233E through our doors (related to DME only), only 231E. We're now updating to 240E
How much for the update? PM me please!
__________________
E92 M3 SG DCT - AA Filter, Verstraβe Paddles, ECS SS, MH race stud, Stoptech BBK, MR Exhaust,RE Pulley, BPM Tune,Euro bumper and GTS lip, Euro MDM & DCT, KW CS, Recaro PP, TMS Soild Diff Mounts, MRF solid subframe mounts, GTS aero, RPM track built motor.

Wendall is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2012, 01:46 PM   #4
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,933
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by biggynuts01 View Post
How much for the update? PM me please!
You have PM.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2012, 05:16 PM   #5
apecush
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Edmonton

Posts: 431
iTrader: (2)

can you update through a normal coding cable, or is something special required?
apecush is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2012, 05:18 PM   #6
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,036
iTrader: (42)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by apecush View Post
can you update through a normal coding cable, or is something special required?
No, you cannot. You need a tuning cable.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2012, 05:30 PM   #7
KmndntKlink
Lieutenant
 
KmndntKlink's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 e92 m3
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto

Posts: 409
iTrader: (3)

I just updated to 240e (latest). You need ICOM cable and a good charger. Engine & dct updates are pretty quick (total an hour) so you might be able to get away with just making sure you battery is topped up b4 you start.

Don't know if I've noticed any performance improvement, but I really haven't had a chance to do any good pulls/spirited driving yet. Haven't noticed any lagg in 2nd gear in auto mode, will have to try manual. There really shouldn't be.

I think people with really old software (08/09)have been saying they get some noticeable improvements. One guy even dyno'd a +20hp gain, which is pretty incredible
__________________
E92 ///M3 in Dakar Yellow, M-DCT, iDrive, 220M OEM rims, Active Autowerke Green filter, Turner Motorsport test pipes, BPM stage 2 tune, Stoptech ST-40 F+R in yellow.
KmndntKlink is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2012, 05:37 PM   #8
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,933
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by apecush View Post
can you update through a normal coding cable, or is something special required?
A performance tune solution (like E-Flash) will update your DME to latest specs as well as load a performance file. We recently started a FAQ that should answer most questions in this thread here:

ESS E-Flash ECU Performance Software Cable Overview
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=769500

For locals, we update through autologic. Feel free to contact me if you should have any questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KmndntKlink View Post
I think people with really old software (08/09)have been saying they get some noticeable improvements. One guy even dyno'd a +20hp gain, which is pretty incredible
This scenario is likely the only time you will see a performance increase when updating software versions. It's simply part of planned maintenance.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM

Last edited by tom @ eas; 11-14-2012 at 05:46 PM.
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 02:21 PM   #9
donovan
Brigadier General
 
donovan's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 m3 AW, light package
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: le' Murica

Posts: 3,446
iTrader: (12)

Some dood on m3forum had that updated software from the dealer and he had another 20+WHP added...
__________________


e46 m3 Black
Too many mods
donovan is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 02:52 PM   #10
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,933
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by donovan View Post
Some dood on m3forum had that updated software from the dealer and he had another 20+WHP added...
Typically this only happens when updates have not been performed in a quote a long time time, along with fresh spark plug changes.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 04:53 PM   #11
Mjolnir
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Le Mans Blue ZCP DCT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia

Posts: 264
iTrader: (0)

Dumb question, but is there a way to determine what version software you are running through the iDrive/Nav. I looked through and could not find info on the software version, but could have sworn I used to be able to do so. Maybe it was just all the glue I was sniffing.
Mjolnir is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 06:26 PM   #12
CarbonFoot
First Lieutenant
 
CarbonFoot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3 DCT
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CA - Bay Area

Posts: 332
iTrader: (0)

^ Nope. You need a cable and software to read it.
CarbonFoot is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 06:50 PM   #13
BMW Fanatic
Banned
 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary

Posts: 3,314
iTrader: (11)

Can somebody tell me how long it takes for a tech to find out what firmware my car has and how difficult it is please..

I was at the dealer a couple days ago for my 50k service, I asked the 'head advisor' (he was only about 25 lol, not that age matters but I have dealt with all the staff on that side and they all are more knowledgeable than him) and he made a big fuss saying oh what does it do, oh you don't need it, oh they only have upgraded firmwares when there's a recall and I called him on every one and then he told me he'd go check but never came back to me lol. Time wise I ask because he said I'd need to leave my car in for a day or two with no guarantee my DME won't crash and on top of that even if I just wanted to FIND OUT what firmware I HAVE I still would have had to leave it for a day.

Actually, to be quite honest, he was so rude I will be filing a complaint.
BMW Fanatic is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-15-2012, 11:51 PM   #14
Xcelrrate
Driver
 
Xcelrrate's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 ///M3
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Posts: 369
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2008 BMW E90 M3  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Never saw a 233E through our doors (related to DME only), only 231E. We're now updating to 240E
Got a Question for you.. PM'ed
__________________

'08 Jerez Black E90 ///M3
Pics of my Ride
Xcelrrate is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-16-2012, 12:24 AM   #15
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,933
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xcelrrate View Post
Got a Question for you.. PM'ed
Gotcha. Right back at ya.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-19-2012, 11:59 PM   #16
C17MooseDriver
Captain
 
C17MooseDriver's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 AW M3 6MT
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX

Posts: 866
iTrader: (0)

Would an ECU update to the latest software erase any coding done to the car?
__________________
C17MooseDriver is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-20-2012, 11:58 AM   #17
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,933
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by C17MooseDriver View Post
Would an ECU update to the latest software erase any coding done to the car?
If performed by a BMW dealership, most likely - yes.

BMW has no choice but to bring the entire vehicle up to date, which typically includes most (not all) other modules within the network.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST