BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-13-2012, 05:10 PM   #1
NotQuiteRight
Winning
NotQuiteRight's Avatar
0
Rep
25
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3 Space grey
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nor-Cal

iTrader: (0)

Anybody throw a P0456 code?

Did some searching on the code only to find lots of generic info. I can't seem to find any specifics on what exactly could be wrong. Anybody here go through this yet? P0456 Code
__________________

2009 M3 E90 DCT All options
2002 F350 Lariat 8" lift 38's
2012 500hp LS3 RockCrawler
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 11:55 PM   #2
apecush
Lieutenant
6
Rep
448
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Edmonton

iTrader: (2)

is it an evap system slow leak code?

If so, start with checking the fuel cap and o-ring.
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2012, 12:47 AM   #3
NotQuiteRight
Winning
NotQuiteRight's Avatar
0
Rep
25
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3 Space grey
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nor-Cal

iTrader: (0)

Yes thats the one.

I checked the gas cap and cleared the code... Is that a common thing for the gas cap to throw a CEL?

THX
__________________

2009 M3 E90 DCT All options
2002 F350 Lariat 8" lift 38's
2012 500hp LS3 RockCrawler
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2012, 01:05 AM   #4
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
96
Rep
4,800
Posts


 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotQuiteRight View Post
Yes thats the one.

I checked the gas cap and cleared the code... Is that a common thing for the gas cap to throw a CEL?

THX
Yes, if it's not tightened it should eventually throw a fault for it.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2012, 01:26 AM   #5
NotQuiteRight
Winning
NotQuiteRight's Avatar
0
Rep
25
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3 Space grey
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Nor-Cal

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
Yes, if it's not tightened it should eventually throw a fault for it.
I'll keep my eye on it and see if it comes back.. Thanks guys
__________________

2009 M3 E90 DCT All options
2002 F350 Lariat 8" lift 38's
2012 500hp LS3 RockCrawler
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2013, 10:21 AM   #6
4corners
Captain
4corners's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
818
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 Jet Black M3 Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yucca Valley, CA - Kelowna, BC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [0.00]
2007 Ford E350 4x4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
Yes, if it's not tightened it should eventually throw a fault for it.
Mine showed gas cap lose, SES. Gas cap seemed ok, but the SES light is remaining on. ????
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2013, 10:28 AM   #7
mdosu
Banned
No_Country
117
Rep
8,517
Posts

 
Drives: Double Vanos'd Civic-M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4corners View Post
Mine showed gas cap lose, SES. Gas cap seemed ok, but the SES light is remaining on. ????
have you attempted to clear the code after you adjusted the cap? or you cleared it after adjusting the cap and o-ring and the light turned off, then popped back up?
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2013, 10:32 AM   #8
4corners
Captain
4corners's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
818
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 Jet Black M3 Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yucca Valley, CA - Kelowna, BC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [0.00]
2007 Ford E350 4x4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdosu View Post
have you attempted to clear the code after you adjusted the cap? or you cleared it after adjusting the cap and o-ring and the light turned off, then popped back up?
Am I able to do that without a scanner tool of some kind? I reset my service indicators when needed. Can I reset the SES manually?
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2013, 10:37 AM   #9
mdosu
Banned
No_Country
117
Rep
8,517
Posts

 
Drives: Double Vanos'd Civic-M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4corners View Post
Am I able to do that without a scanner tool of some kind? I reset my service indicators when needed. Can I reset the SES manually?
i've never done this on the M3 before (knock on wood, hopefully never will), but on most cars, you need a scanner tool to clear it. I would think any standard scanner can clear it, so go to an autoparts store and they will lend you one. How were you able to check the code without a tool to begin with?

anyways, go ahead and clear it, then see if light pops back up. Just to confirm you took the cap and o-ring off and readjusted the fitment to ensure everything okay right?
Appreciate 0
      06-27-2013, 10:40 AM   #10
4corners
Captain
4corners's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
818
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 Jet Black M3 Coupe
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yucca Valley, CA - Kelowna, BC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [0.00]
2007 Ford E350 4x4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdosu View Post
i've never done this on the M3 before (knock on wood, hopefully never will), but on most cars, you need a scanner tool to clear it. I would think any standard scanner can clear it, so go to an autoparts store and they will lend you one. How were you able to check the code without a tool to begin with?

anyways, go ahead and clear it, then see if light pops back up. Just to confirm you took the cap and o-ring off and readjusted the fitment to ensure everything okay right?
I think it's ok now. I'll triple check the gas cap and gasket. And get the SES reset. Thx
Appreciate 0
      06-28-2013, 01:55 PM   #11
happos2
Dingleberries
18
Rep
1,182
Posts

 
Drives: Gray E92 M3
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Indiana

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4corners View Post
Am I able to do that without a scanner tool of some kind? I reset my service indicators when needed. Can I reset the SES manually?
Not sure if this works on these cars or not, but you use to be able to disconnect the battery for at least 5 minutes and when you buttoned everything back up again, wha-la, code is gone. Again, not sure if that works on newer cars.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST