BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Steve Thomas BMW
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-12-2012, 01:11 AM   #1
Nicname
Captain
Nicname's Avatar
Brazil
15
Rep
902
Posts

 
Drives: '12 M3 E92 JB
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bergen County, NJ

iTrader: (2)

Battery Stabilizer for Velos Tuning

I first installed the tune when my car had 6k miles on it so the battery was new and I knew it could handle being on for 2 hrs while reading the codes and about an hr installing the new codes. Now I got an x pipe, and will have to install a new tune. I'm wondering if now I'll need a battery stabilizer to do the tuning process. My car has almost 10k miles so idk if the battery itself can handle the tuning process this time around.
Basically, can I do this tuning without a battery stabilizer?
If I do need one, any brands/recommendations?
__________________


'12 E92 ///M3 DCT loaded l Lux 5000k H8 l Gintani Sport l Gintani HFC x-pipe l Velos Tuning l Amuse Trunk l 20 % tints l Black kidneys/reflectors
Appreciate 0
      11-12-2012, 03:50 PM   #2
edwinm3
Colonel
edwinm3's Avatar
United_States
38
Rep
2,132
Posts

 
Drives: E92 MELBOURNE RED M3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Doral

iTrader: (12)

I switch my aa tune back and forth all the time on its battery no problem. It should be a short version of the tune. Confirm this with velos
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 10:57 AM   #3
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
You should be just fine without a stabilizer.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 11:54 AM   #4
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
329
Rep
10,632
Posts


 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicname View Post
I first installed the tune when my car had 6k miles on it so the battery was new and I knew it could handle being on for 2 hrs while reading the codes and about an hr installing the new codes. Now I got an x pipe, and will have to install a new tune. I'm wondering if now I'll need a battery stabilizer to do the tuning process. My car has almost 10k miles so idk if the battery itself can handle the tuning process this time around.
Basically, can I do this tuning without a battery stabilizer?
If I do need one, any brands/recommendations?
2012 battery should be just fine. Not sure how long flashing takes on the MySimon units but a write is ~5min uwing the ESS E-Flash suite.

Just turn off all battery loads while flashing (headlights, radio, A/C, etc.) and all should be well. Otherwise, a 2AMP battery charger during the flashing process is never a bad idea.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 01:56 PM   #5
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Andrew@ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
91
Rep
3,584
Posts


 
Drives: 2014 435I M-sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami Fl

iTrader: (5)

2-4 amp charger is a good idea. If it dies during the writing process it may require you to send the ecu out for programming.
__________________

Last edited by Andrew@ActiveAutowerke; 11-13-2012 at 05:24 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2012, 02:54 PM   #6
Omar@VelosDesignwerks
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Omar@VelosDesignwerks's Avatar
United_States
47
Rep
1,587
Posts


 
Drives: Different Ones
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Miami

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Omar@VelosDesignwerks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew@ActiveAutowerke View Post
2-4 amp charger is a good idea. If it dies during the writing process it may require you to send the ecu out for programming.
Andrew is 100% correct except you would NOT have to send the ECU out to us, we would be able to assist you remotely (obviously you do not want to get to this point)

Thanks Andrew, from the team at Velos.
Appreciate 0
      11-17-2012, 04:53 PM   #7
aus
Major General
119
Rep
7,423
Posts

 
Drives: Odysse
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seal Beach, CA

iTrader: (5)

Could someone explain how to connect the charger to the battery on a car with start/stop. There's a large cover over the +terminal. There are a few flip up caps over bolts. Could you use one of these for the +terminal on the charger?

.
__________________
Let me get this straight... You are swapping out parts designed by some of the top engineers in the world because some guys sponsored by a company told you it's "better??" But when you ask the same guy about tracking, "oh no, I have a kid now" or "I just detailed my car." or "i just got new tires."
Appreciate 0
      11-18-2012, 05:52 PM   #8
C|3R1C
So Kewl Guy
C|3R1C's Avatar
5
Rep
513
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E93 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aus
Could someone explain how to connect the charger to the battery on a car with start/stop. There's a large cover over the +terminal. There are a few flip up caps over bolts. Could you use one of these for the +terminal on the charger?

.
In the engine bay, there is a red cover on the passenger side. Remove the cover and connect the charger to the positive. Also on the edge of the passenger side their is a hex shaped knob... Put the negative there.
__________________
2010 E93 M3 / AA Catless X-Pipe / AA Catback / AA Pulley / Vorsteiner Vented Hood and Bootlid E93 Trunk / ADV1 7.1 Wheels GB / LS3 LED Lights / AFE Stage 2 / Velos Designwerks Tune
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2012, 10:43 AM   #9
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,121
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by C|3R1C View Post
In the engine bay, there is a red cover on the passenger side. Remove the cover and connect the charger to the positive. Also on the edge of the passenger side their is a hex shaped knob... Put the negative there.
^This
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-19-2012, 09:57 PM   #10
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,813
Posts


 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Not sure why its taking so long. Flashing the new operating software (240E) takes 5 minutes and flashing the tune takes 5 minutes. So ten minutes and you have new software and tune, no charger required.

Edit: nvm, maybe they are using a different tool. You can connect a charger to the terminal under the hood (red tab) and ground to any unpainted metal - or use the terminals in the truck on the battery.

You could also connect another (started) car using jumper cables if a charger is not handy.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST