BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
PYSPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-06-2012, 11:11 AM   #1
scotsman
Private First Class
2
Rep
125
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sugar Land, Texas

iTrader: (0)

2008 Battery

Looks like I need to replace my battery and don't want to go the dealer route as they're charging $480... complete robbery. Anyways I went to look for the OEM battery and it says discontinued, what would the new OEM battery be?





Appreciate 0
      11-06-2012, 11:14 AM   #2
Lorde
Ya ya ya, I am Lorde, ya ya!
Lorde's Avatar
No_Country
32
Rep
2,523
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3, 2015 SQ5
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Snig

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3 E90  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotsman View Post
Looks like I need to replace my battery and don't want to go the dealer route as they're charging $480... complete robbery. Anyways I went to look for the OEM battery and it says discontinued, what would the new OEM battery be?





My guess would be to look at the part number on your OEM battery, go to www.getbmwparts.com and enter the part number, all 2008 components that are discontinued should show a "Superceded by" and then list the most current part number.
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2012, 11:29 AM   #3
scotsman
Private First Class
2
Rep
125
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sugar Land, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snig View Post
My guess would be to look at the part number on your OEM battery, go to www.getbmwparts.com and enter the part number, all 2008 components that are discontinued should show a "Superceded by" and then list the most current part number.
thanks I found it!

Part No. 61217594976.

Is that webpage the cheapest place to buy it? Also, does anyone know if the car loses all the settings when I disconnect the battery to replace it? Are there any special precautions I should take?
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2012, 11:56 AM   #4
elm3
M3 Lover
elm3's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,864
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotsman View Post
thanks I found it!

Part No. 61217594976.

Is that webpage the cheapest place to buy it? Also, does anyone know if the car loses all the settings when I disconnect the battery to replace it? Are there any special precautions I should take?
I know that when you replace the battery, you should register the new battery to the car. I know that you can do it, if you have the BT cable. If not, the dealer would have to do this, or any Indy shops that have this cable or the computer that the dealers use. As far as the car loosing your presets or memory, I have no idea on that.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2012, 12:12 PM   #5
scotsman
Private First Class
2
Rep
125
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sugar Land, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by elm3 View Post
I know that when you replace the battery, you should register the new battery to the car. I know that you can do it, if you have the BT cable. If not, the dealer would have to do this, or any Indy shops that have this cable or the computer that the dealers use. As far as the car loosing your presets or memory, I have no idea on that.
yea i know about the registering, theres a guy on E90 that will be doing this for me as he has the cables. just not sure if i can pull the old one out and drop the new one in without any issues.
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2012, 02:41 PM   #6
Johndong888
John
Johndong888's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
792
Posts

 
Drives: '12 AW/FR M3 & '14 F15 X5
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via Skype™ to Johndong888
U don't lose any settings when you take out the battery. Only thing you lose will be the time clock obviously. Seats, radio, etc are all retained.

However, if you take an extremely long time to change the battery, I assume it's safe to say you might lose some other settings.
__________________

Current - 2012 AW/FR E92 M3 - DCT w EDC, ZPP w Tech, Apps, Enhanced Sound, SAT.
Mods - BPMTune Stg1 + Servo, Piano Black, Euro Visors, OEM Performance CF Spoiler + Grills + Pedals, IND Gloss Blk Pkg, Umnitza V4, ModeCarbon GTS V1 Lip, 19" HRE P40
Sold - 2008 BSM/Black E92 335i - Step, Premium, Sports, Logic7, Comfort, Navi, SAT, Alum.
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2012, 03:37 PM   #7
kawasaki00
Major
kawasaki00's Avatar
18
Rep
1,235
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Charlotte NC

iTrader: (4)

You could get one from sears and save a good bit of money. It is a AGM just like factory and it is the exact same thing. Johnson Controls makes them, interstate, napa gold etc
East Penn makes all the original batteries but many that you buy from the dealer are made by exide. I have a sears battery and a bt tool. Worth the purchase.
__________________
Electronics Junkie, Engine Builder.
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2012, 04:04 PM   #8
scotsman
Private First Class
2
Rep
125
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sugar Land, Texas

iTrader: (0)

well i went to a shop and got my battery tested and they said it was ok, just reading that it needs recharged... looking into getting a CTEK 3300 or 7002, can't decide which though.

the car sometimes sits for over a month.
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2012, 04:58 PM   #9
Johndong888
John
Johndong888's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
792
Posts

 
Drives: '12 AW/FR M3 & '14 F15 X5
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via Skype™ to Johndong888
I have the CTEK 3300,

http://www.amazon.com/Multi-12-Volt-...&keywords=ctek

It works on all the vehicles in the household and obviously it did its job for my old 335i and my m3.
__________________

Current - 2012 AW/FR E92 M3 - DCT w EDC, ZPP w Tech, Apps, Enhanced Sound, SAT.
Mods - BPMTune Stg1 + Servo, Piano Black, Euro Visors, OEM Performance CF Spoiler + Grills + Pedals, IND Gloss Blk Pkg, Umnitza V4, ModeCarbon GTS V1 Lip, 19" HRE P40
Sold - 2008 BSM/Black E92 335i - Step, Premium, Sports, Logic7, Comfort, Navi, SAT, Alum.
Appreciate 0
      11-06-2012, 09:26 PM   #10
jlee
Lieutenant
jlee's Avatar
No_Country
8
Rep
597
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 M5 Comp + 2008 M3 Vert
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington DC

iTrader: (1)

why do you need to "register" a battery ?

sorry, strangely I've never heard of this ?

jeff
Appreciate 0
      11-07-2012, 07:55 AM   #11
elm3
M3 Lover
elm3's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
1,864
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3 Interlagos Blue
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canton, GA.

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotsman View Post
well i went to a shop and got my battery tested and they said it was ok, just reading that it needs recharged... looking into getting a CTEK 3300 or 7002, can't decide which though.

the car sometimes sits for over a month.
You really need a battery tender then, if your car sits that long without driving it. I have one, since my car is not a DD.
__________________
'09 E92 ///M3 Interlagos Blue, 6MT, Silver Novillo Leather, CF Trim, Premium Package, Technology Package, Cold Weather Package, Premium Sound, 19" Wheels, Moonroof-Toy/ '14 335i, Sport Line, Premium Package, Technology Package, 19" wheels, Heated Seats - Daily Driver/ '04 Yamaha R1 - Toy/ '06 Yamaha Raptor 350-Toy
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2012, 10:28 AM   #12
scotsman
Private First Class
2
Rep
125
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sugar Land, Texas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlee View Post
why do you need to "register" a battery ?

sorry, strangely I've never heard of this ?
The battery has to be registered to the car because there is some algorithm how much it gets charged depending on the age and condition of the battery. For example when the battery is new the car charges it a certain way and as it depletes with age the car changes the charging to it, therefore you need to 'register' a new battery so it doesn't kill the new one.
jeff
Quote:
Originally Posted by elm3 View Post
You really need a battery tender then, if your car sits that long without driving it. I have one, since my car is not a DD.
yea i have a ctek 3300 being delivered today.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST