BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-30-2008, 06:43 PM   #1
apw2607
Major
 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Posts: 1,413
iTrader: (0)

SOS warning message and no i-Drive

Anyone seen this before ?

This came up on the main display, and i-Drive was completely un-responsive. The map came up in the assistant window but nothing appeared on the left side of the display. I noticed the time and date wasn't set either. No stereo or audio either. Odd.

I've got PROGMAN 31.1 loaded.

I eventually fixed the problem by rebooting i-Drive.
Attached Images
 
apw2607 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-30-2008, 08:27 PM   #2
pilot_bro2003
Private First Class
 
pilot_bro2003's Avatar
 
Drives: MY 09 E93 / 99 CL600
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: North San Diego County

Posts: 180
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Anyone seen this before ?

This came up on the main display, and i-Drive was completely un-responsive. The map came up in the assistant window but nothing appeared on the left side of the display. I noticed the time and date wasn't set either. No stereo or audio either. Odd.

I've got PROGMAN 31.1 loaded.

I eventually fixed the problem by rebooting i-Drive.

Yeah I had this happen to my 2006 E60 a little while ago. It has something to do with the TCU in your car. Maybe it just hiccuped or it may need to be replaced/programmed.

Hope that helps. That's my best guess.
pilot_bro2003 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-30-2008, 08:41 PM   #3
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,880
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Correct - there is a TCU fault somewhere, likely within the fiber lines if there is no audio and other devices were affected.

Was the MOST connection removed while the key was on?
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-30-2008, 09:56 PM   #4
apw2607
Major
 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Posts: 1,413
iTrader: (0)

Err ... not that I know of. Just simply started the car and drove off as normal. I'll get the dealer to take a look at it. Perhaps its logged some fault codes.
apw2607 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2008, 09:47 PM   #5
PunjabiM3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
PunjabiM3's Avatar
 
Drives: R8 5.2 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oro Valley, AZ

Posts: 1,758
iTrader: (1)

Mine displayed a SOS malfunction today. Same symbol on the main display and the lower part of the i-Drive screen says SOS malfunction blah blah blah. Did you end up taking yours to the dealer and what was the solution? Did they have to replace the BMW assist TCU?
__________________
2012 Audi R8 V10, 6MT, Suzuka Gray, Larini Clubsport exhaust, Klassen M52R, GMG springs, Satin Black badges
2012 Audi A6 3.0T Prestige, Moonlight Blue
2014 BMW 528i, Space Gray
Previous: 11 e82 1M, Several 911's & M3's
PunjabiM3 is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2008, 10:07 PM   #6
wallerman
Enlisted Member
 
wallerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 e92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

This happened on my 335i. The TCU had to be replaced.
wallerman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2008, 02:17 AM   #7
PunjabiM3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
PunjabiM3's Avatar
 
Drives: R8 5.2 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oro Valley, AZ

Posts: 1,758
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wallerman View Post
This happened on my 335i. The TCU had to be replaced.
Thanks for the info. About how long does it take the dealer to replace it? Is the location of the TCU in the trunk (this is where it was in my e46 M3)...I can't imagine it would take all that long to replace...
__________________
2012 Audi R8 V10, 6MT, Suzuka Gray, Larini Clubsport exhaust, Klassen M52R, GMG springs, Satin Black badges
2012 Audi A6 3.0T Prestige, Moonlight Blue
2014 BMW 528i, Space Gray
Previous: 11 e82 1M, Several 911's & M3's
PunjabiM3 is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2008, 09:30 AM   #8
wallerman
Enlisted Member
 
wallerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 e92 M3
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

In my case, they had to order the part, which took about a week. The repair itself took just a day. I never asked about the location of the TCU, though.

I'd imagine that if you contact your CA and explain the problem, they'll preorder the part for you.
wallerman is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2008, 03:16 AM   #9
apw2607
Major
 
Drives: 2009 X5 35d
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Posts: 1,413
iTrader: (0)

The TCU is in the truck floor. I believe it's a software problem with progman 31.1 and are waiting for the next major release v32.
apw2607 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2008, 10:57 AM   #10
PunjabiM3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
PunjabiM3's Avatar
 
Drives: R8 5.2 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oro Valley, AZ

Posts: 1,758
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
The TCU is in the truck floor. I believe it's a software problem with progman 31.1 and are waiting for the next major release v32.
So is there a way to reboot the progman 31.1 myself or do I have to take it to the dealer?
__________________
2012 Audi R8 V10, 6MT, Suzuka Gray, Larini Clubsport exhaust, Klassen M52R, GMG springs, Satin Black badges
2012 Audi A6 3.0T Prestige, Moonlight Blue
2014 BMW 528i, Space Gray
Previous: 11 e82 1M, Several 911's & M3's
PunjabiM3 is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2008, 04:42 PM   #11
michaeldorian
Captain
 
Drives: Beater Nissan Truck
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 963
iTrader: (0)

I have the same problem. iPod/USB/AUX audio stopped working, SOS Error and weird static sounds coming from speakers. Taking the car in tomorrow. Hopefully it's just a simple part replacement and they don't have to rip the car apart.
michaeldorian is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2008, 06:29 PM   #12
michaeldorian
Captain
 
Drives: Beater Nissan Truck
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 963
iTrader: (0)

Quick Update - The problem was a malfunctioning TCU. My SA told me the TCU's are tied to your VIN number so they are ordering one from BMW. He said it takes about a week to get from BMW.

Good luck on your problem. Hopefully it's just a quick replacement part.
michaeldorian is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2008, 07:01 PM   #13
PunjabiM3
Lieutenant Colonel
 
PunjabiM3's Avatar
 
Drives: R8 5.2 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oro Valley, AZ

Posts: 1,758
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldorian View Post
Quick Update - The problem was a malfunctioning TCU. My SA told me the TCU's are tied to your VIN number so they are ordering one from BMW. He said it takes about a week to get from BMW.

Good luck on your problem. Hopefully it's just a quick replacement part.
Looks like your dealership has far better service than stupid BMW Bellevue. He wants me to leave the car with them the entire day so they can diagnose the problem, though I already told him that the TCU likely needs replacement given that was the case with my e46 M3. Plus they can't get me a loaner car until Jan 14 so I have to wait a few weeks just for them to look at at...
__________________
2012 Audi R8 V10, 6MT, Suzuka Gray, Larini Clubsport exhaust, Klassen M52R, GMG springs, Satin Black badges
2012 Audi A6 3.0T Prestige, Moonlight Blue
2014 BMW 528i, Space Gray
Previous: 11 e82 1M, Several 911's & M3's
PunjabiM3 is offline   India
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2008, 07:33 PM   #14
09E92M34ME
Captain
 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: VIRGINIA

Posts: 861
iTrader: (0)

always good info on here to learn from. thanks everyone
09E92M34ME is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2008, 07:35 PM   #15
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

Posts: 9,880
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeldorian View Post
Quick Update - The problem was a malfunctioning TCU. My SA told me the TCU's are tied to your VIN number so they are ordering one from BMW. He said it takes about a week to get from BMW.

Good luck on your problem. Hopefully it's just a quick replacement part.
That's true, but as a result of coding - not the hardware itself. TCUs are not married to the vehicle.

We've performed coding on TCU swaps in the past to verify.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
tom @ eas is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2009, 02:10 AM   #16
michaeldorian
Captain
 
Drives: Beater Nissan Truck
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 963
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PunjabiM3 View Post
Looks like your dealership has far better service than stupid BMW Bellevue. He wants me to leave the car with them the entire day so they can diagnose the problem, though I already told him that the TCU likely needs replacement given that was the case with my e46 M3. Plus they can't get me a loaner car until Jan 14 so I have to wait a few weeks just for them to look at at...
PM me about who your SA is, I took my car to Bellevue BMW. Maybe my SA can be of help.
michaeldorian is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2009, 02:11 AM   #17
michaeldorian
Captain
 
Drives: Beater Nissan Truck
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Seattle, WA

Posts: 963
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
That's true, but as a result of coding - not the hardware itself. TCUs are not married to the vehicle.

We've performed coding on TCU swaps in the past to verify.
Thanks Tom for the info. Looks like the dealer was just buying time.
michaeldorian is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-06-2011, 08:28 PM   #18
RussRamz
M Slut
 
RussRamz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Coupe Mineral White
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Adenau, GE via 3 years in dreadful El Paso, TX

Posts: 565
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to RussRamz
I am having a similar problem. I had an SOS malfunction from the very first day of ownership. So far, they replaced the TCU, the entire fuse box and now they are having to diagnose the wiring. I'm worried the entire wiring harness will need to be replaced. What was your final outcome?
__________________
You have to be 100% behind someone before you can stab them in the back.

David Brent
RussRamz is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-13-2011, 01:19 AM   #19
cydalia
Registered
 
Drives: 630i Cabriolet
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Singapore

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
That's true, but as a result of coding - not the hardware itself. TCUs are not married to the vehicle.

We've performed coding on TCU swaps in the past to verify.
Hi Tom,

I just replaced the TCU with a new one that was coded to my VIN. However, replacing it with the newly coded one, the SOS call system failure error message still remained. Is there something else that i have to do in order to rectify this?

Hope you can help.
Thank you.
cydalia is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-30-2012, 02:59 PM   #20
Mr.Noori
Registered
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: California

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Can location services be turned off by disconnecting the TCU but still have sound working for the stereo and navigation?
Mr.Noori is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2013, 05:17 AM   #21
carlosalbertogui
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: bmw E91 facelifted by me
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: portugal

Posts: 235
iTrader: (0)

SOS call system failure bluetooth antenna

i have the same proble

i have reset the error but AFER 20mins

error again

in the computer say error on bluetooth antenna

could it be

my bt phone work good sound good how can it be the antena

best regards appreciate your help
carlosalbertogui is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST