BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
Evolve Automotive
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-28-2012, 08:46 PM   #1
xfirer1guy
Major
 
xfirer1guy's Avatar
 
Drives: In the fast lane!
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NW Atlanta

Posts: 1,067
iTrader: (2)

ECM Cracking

Ok, so I used to be a service engineer for a Fortune 500 engine designer, manufacturer, and servicer. As such, I had all the factory tools and proprietary software needed to access ECM's. Toward the end of my stent there I was doing some developmental encoding and ECM programming. So I understand how to read hexidecimal coming down the pipeline to get information and all, but since I was given the tools to access and edit the ECM, I dont fully understand how you gain entry into the ECM. I'd imagine its no different than ping hacking a pc, but I'm not certain.

Anyone have any USEFUL feedback? I already know they'll be the usual non-contributing comments, but lets keep this to those that understand what I'm asking and have useful information!

Thanks!!
xfirer1guy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2012, 09:33 PM   #2
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,305
iTrader: (6)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
You have to have the proper flashing tools. If you want a stock file Ill send you one but without knowing the map locations its a shot in the dark.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-28-2012, 10:10 PM   #3
xfirer1guy
Major
 
xfirer1guy's Avatar
 
Drives: In the fast lane!
Join Date: May 2012
Location: NW Atlanta

Posts: 1,067
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
You have to have the proper flashing tools. If you want a stock file Ill send you one but without knowing the map locations its a shot in the dark.
Sure, this is another area I'm unsure of as I dont know what protocol BMW uses. Working for the factory, we used CANalyzers on J1708 and J1939 protocal networks. What protocol does BMW use? What analyzers can access BMW ECM's?
xfirer1guy is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST