BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
E92 Lighting
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-31-2012, 03:49 PM   #1
CSanto
Lieutenant Colonel
35
Rep
1,893
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

Brake Pad Warning after Brembo installation

Hello,

I just picked up my car from my Brembo kit being installed. I'm getting an error message on the dash. Brake Pad worn to minimum thickness replace at nearest BMW.


What should I do, is this a sensor? Do I have to reset the ECU?


Chris
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2012, 03:56 PM   #2
tlp
Colonel
tlp's Avatar
United_States
68
Rep
2,054
Posts

 
Drives: '11 e92 M3 SG/FR
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2011 BMW e92 M3  [4.55]
Sounds like the sensor was disconnected by the installer.
__________________
My Coding Journal
Current - '11 e92 M3 SG/FR ZCP|ZCV|ZP2|2MK|494|415|6NR|752
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2012, 03:56 PM   #3
CSanto
Lieutenant Colonel
35
Rep
1,893
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

Okay. My tech said he ties back the brake pad sensors, and that keeps the code from coming up in the ECU.

Obviously you have to rely on yourself to determine when you need new brake pads.
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2012, 03:57 PM   #4
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,122
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by HREM3 View Post
Okay. My tech said he ties back the brake pad sensors, and that keeps the code from coming up in the ECU.

Obviously you have to rely on yourself to determine when you need new brake pads.
Correct.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2012, 04:02 PM   #5
CSanto
Lieutenant Colonel
35
Rep
1,893
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
Correct.
So thats the right thing to do?
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2012, 04:06 PM   #6
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
13,122
Posts


 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by HREM3 View Post
So thats the right thing to do?
Yep.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2012, 04:06 PM   #7
C|3R1C
So Kewl Guy
C|3R1C's Avatar
5
Rep
513
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 E93 M3 DCT
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HREM3 View Post
So thats the right thing to do?
Yep. Same thing with my stoptechs. Thankfully the pads came with wear bars so the the brakes will squeal when they are ready. As for rotors, my tech told me look for a lip on the rotor.
__________________
2010 E93 M3 / AA Catless X-Pipe / AA Catback / AA Pulley / Vorsteiner Vented Hood and Bootlid E93 Trunk / ADV1 7.1 Wheels GB / LS3 LED Lights / AFE Stage 2 / Velos Designwerks Tune
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2012, 04:22 PM   #8
tlp
Colonel
tlp's Avatar
United_States
68
Rep
2,054
Posts

 
Drives: '11 e92 M3 SG/FR
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Huntington Beach, CA

iTrader: (6)

Garage List
2011 BMW e92 M3  [4.55]
This depends on the brake pads themselves. If they have the notch cutouts for the sensors then the OEM functionality will remain. My brembos had Ferodo FS2500's with notches front and rear. My new Hawk pads only had notches in with the fronts so the single rear sensor is tied back.
__________________
My Coding Journal
Current - '11 e92 M3 SG/FR ZCP|ZCV|ZP2|2MK|494|415|6NR|752
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2012, 04:41 PM   #9
CSanto
Lieutenant Colonel
35
Rep
1,893
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

Okay thanks guys. Had to retie passenger rear sensors.
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2012, 04:42 PM   #10
CSanto
Lieutenant Colonel
35
Rep
1,893
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlp View Post
This depends on the brake pads themselves. If they have the notch cutouts for the sensors then the OEM functionality will remain. My brembos had Ferodo FS2500's with notches front and rear. My new Hawk pads only had notches in with the fronts so the single rear sensor is tied back.
Good Info!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST