BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
E92-lighting
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-04-2012, 02:07 PM   #331
SamS
Brigadier General
SamS's Avatar
61
Rep
4,577
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EliteM3 View Post
Add me to the list of happy customers of Sergej @ *****************! Best prices by far, and quick turn around time.

Just a note to those of you thinking of purchasing multiple USB keys... It's not necessary. I had a 32GB stick, and I copied all 3 disk image files to the same stick in different directories labeled disk1, 2, and 3. I brought the files from disk 1 to the root directory and plugged it in. It recognized it no problems and started the process. When it asked for USB 2/3, I moved the files from root back to the disk1 subdirectory, and moved files from disk2 to the root and plugged it back in.

No problems. I thought it was taking too long initially and stopped the first copy at 29% (it stops at 35.x% when asks for USB 2) and ended up hiding all the disk* directories thinking the system was trying to copy all the data, but I don't think that was the case. I continued to move the data from hidden directory to root until the update was finished.

I even turned off the car to grab lunch and it requires putting the USB sticks back in 1 at a time (but quickly jumps to 35%, then 67%, etc) to pick back up where it left off.

Happy customer all around! 2012 Premium Map's updated!

Good luck all!
If you turn the car off mid-update, how are you using only a single stick if it asks for the first/second disc to get back up where you left off? If the file has to be in the root, and you're hiding them in the folder, you can be moving the files while it's plugged into the car. I must be missing something in your description.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2012, 02:52 PM   #332
Ali@BMWMt.laurel
Colonel
Ali@BMWMt.laurel's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
2,144
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 M4
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: United States

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2013 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Can someone send me a copy of the discs?
__________________
BMW of Mount Laurel - ///M Certified Client Advisor
Send Me a Message Regarding Your Next BMW!
www.BMWofMtLaurel.com
We are an M-Certified and DINAN Certified Dealer
NJ Motorsports Park Affiliated!!! PM ME FOR DETAILS
Appreciate 0
      08-05-2012, 06:58 AM   #333
///M Rakete
Rocket Scientist
///M Rakete's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
857
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 2010 M3 Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

The need for a new FSC is dependent on whether the Map Version is the same as you Model Year. Since we are talking a 2012 map version anyone with a 2012 model year car should be good to upgrade even though they currently have 2011 maps. Anyone with a 2011 or older car will need the FSC code.
__________________
2010 BMW M3 Coupe M-DCT w/Tech-EDC, BMW M Performance Exhaust, BPM: Stage I / Euro MDM / DCT / Steering, Space Gray / Fox Red Extended, and a Trunk Monkey known as "Der Stig", plus the daily driver...
2011 BMW 135i M Sport DCT, w/BMW Performance Power Kit, Exhaust, and Brake Rotors, Space Gray / Coral Red, known as "Stiggie" with an outlaw F20 "M135i" badge.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2012, 04:56 PM   #334
M3sicko
Captain
M3sicko's Avatar
United_States
10
Rep
990
Posts

 
Drives: 10' E92 M3 6MT to 13' E92 DCT
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles/ New York

iTrader: (55)

Got mine updated today, installation was smooth and quick and everything is working perfectly. It took about 35 mins only for my car for those who wonder how long the whole update takes. Serjeg is legit, paid him this morning and he got back to me with the fsc code in 1hr. Very happy that i was able to do it myself without any issues.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2012, 11:12 PM   #335
CRtoE92
Private First Class
1
Rep
144
Posts

 
Drives: MR E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: PASADENA

iTrader: (0)

ok so i have a question.... this does not work with 2008 models right?
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 11:18 AM   #336
XR_SIX
Bading-dong!
XR_SIX's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
268
Posts

 
Drives: '11.5 E93 M3 AW, '09 R6
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Eagle rock, Ca

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011.5 E93 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRtoE92
ok so i have a question.... this does not work with 2008 models right?
that's right
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 11:39 AM   #337
CRtoE92
Private First Class
1
Rep
144
Posts

 
Drives: MR E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: PASADENA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by XR_SIX View Post
that's right
ok thank you for your reply!

so is there any way to get my Maps updated then?
i already downloaded files and was going to upload them into DVD to try this :/
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 12:08 PM   #338
WillC310
Lieutenant
4
Rep
422
Posts

 
Drives: A car
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRtoE92 View Post
ok thank you for your reply!

so is there any way to get my Maps updated then?
i already downloaded files and was going to upload them into DVD to try this :/
You need the CCC maps, this process is for people that have CiC.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 12:18 PM   #339
Z K
Colonel
Z K's Avatar
United_States
26
Rep
2,174
Posts

 
Drives: E90 M3, MK6 GLI
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRtoE92 View Post
ok thank you for your reply!

so is there any way to get my Maps updated then?
i already downloaded files and was going to upload them into DVD to try this :/
The maps for the 2008 models are different. You just need the new CCC map discs and they will work. No need to run any update. The CIC maps will not work.
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2012, 05:05 PM   #340
Edmbimmer88
Private First Class
Edmbimmer88's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
108
Posts

 
Drives: 09 e92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edmonton

iTrader: (3)

So after looking at this thread I've finally decided to take the dip.

I bought a 32 GB USB Stick as well as contacted Sergej (Nice guy! Fast response!).

I'll update when I'm done.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2012, 02:15 PM   #341
swamp2
Lieutenant General
swamp2's Avatar
United_States
214
Rep
10,201
Posts

 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Diego, CA USA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillC310 View Post
You need the CCC maps, this process is for people that have CiC.
You can find the CCC versions here. There are speed cam versions posted later in the thread.

There also appears to be FSC Tools (free?) here in the same thread. Hopefully you can get a code without paying.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2012, 03:49 PM   #342
CRtoE92
Private First Class
1
Rep
144
Posts

 
Drives: MR E92
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: PASADENA

iTrader: (0)

thanks everyone!!!
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2012, 11:56 AM   #343
Edmbimmer88
Private First Class
Edmbimmer88's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
108
Posts

 
Drives: 09 e92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edmonton

iTrader: (3)

So I've downloaded the ISO's twice now and the checksums are all messed up.

Can someone either send me a copy of the CD's? I'll be more than glad to Paypal for services rendered.
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2012, 12:16 PM   #344
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,804
Posts


 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmbimmer88 View Post
So I've downloaded the ISO's twice now and the checksums are all messed up.

Can someone either send me a copy of the CD's? I'll be more than glad to Paypal for services rendered.
How are you checking the checksum?

If the downloads completed successfully and weren't cut in the middle, the files should be OK. The TCP/IP protocol does quite a bit of error checking and correction, so you should have the file in one piece as long as the download completed.

If you want to attempt to download again, shoot me an email and I'll get you links from my server.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      08-11-2012, 07:22 PM   #345
Edmbimmer88
Private First Class
Edmbimmer88's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
108
Posts

 
Drives: 09 e92 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Edmonton

iTrader: (3)

I downloaded the MD5 program and compared it to the checksums posted in the threads. When I inserted the USB stick into the car, it told me the file was corrupt.

I'll shoot you an email!
Appreciate 0
      08-12-2012, 02:23 PM   #346
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
98
Rep
4,804
Posts


 
Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmbimmer88 View Post
I downloaded the MD5 program and compared it to the checksums posted in the threads. When I inserted the USB stick into the car, it told me the file was corrupt.

I'll shoot you an email!

If the MD5 Checksum was correct, that means it either has to be:
1) A problem with the flash drive. Try reformatting in FAT32, default allocation size, and make sure the stick is 16GB or less.

2) A problem with the copy to the flash drive - make sure you "safely remove hardware" instead of just pulling the drive out after the copy is finished.

I would try copying the files over and then checking the md5 sum from the flash drive itself.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2012, 08:49 PM   #347
SamS
Brigadier General
SamS's Avatar
61
Rep
4,577
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by byunts View Post
i formatted my memory card to fat32, but it's saying that the file size is too large. Apparently FAT32 only supports files up to 4GB.

How are you guys copying the files to FAT32?
Are you trying to put the ISO on the USB, or the actual files?
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2012, 09:17 PM   #348
808MGuy
Colonel
808MGuy's Avatar
49
Rep
2,287
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 E90 M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oahu, Hawaii

iTrader: (3)

Having trouble downloading these. My connection is slow and when first starting the download it says 18 hours. The connection usually times out a few hours into it and now I can't even connect. Even using the download manager I can't resume any connections.
__________________
09 E90 M3 - Interlagos Blue / Black Novillo / Sycamore Anthracite / Eibach / HRE

Appreciate 0
      08-17-2012, 10:18 PM   #349
kmarei
Major General
kmarei's Avatar
Egypt
130
Rep
6,481
Posts

 
Drives: 1988 E30 M3 Evo II
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Reston, VA

iTrader: (33)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808MGuy View Post
Having trouble downloading these. My connection is slow and when first starting the download it says 18 hours. The connection usually times out a few hours into it and now I can't even connect. Even using the download manager I can't resume any connections.
If you mail me a portable hard drive or USB stick I can copy them and FedEx it back to you
Pm me if you want to do it, and I'll send you my address
The total size is 22gb
So any HD that's 30gb will do the trick, castor bare drive I am deal with it
Or 32gb USB
__________________
This user has been banned from the 4 series forum because he doesn't sing its merits like the admins want us all to

Appreciate 0
      08-18-2012, 01:49 AM   #350
byunts
Private
3
Rep
51
Posts

 
Drives: '09 E90 M3 SG DCT
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
Are you trying to put the ISO on the USB, or the actual files?

I'm so stupid, I just copied the iso's. After I realized my mistake, I copied the files and everything worked flawlessly. Thanks everyone for all the contributions.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2012, 02:33 PM   #351
SamS
Brigadier General
SamS's Avatar
61
Rep
4,577
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (0)

Bad news here.

I have a MY2012, build date Oct '11.

My Nav version is 112093.2.27 Road Map North America Premium 2011i

I tried to update via USB, and was prompted to enter the FSC code. I was hoping the 2011i version would allow, with no FSC.
Appreciate 0
      08-18-2012, 09:27 PM   #352
doc19
Second Lieutenant
doc19's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
220
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 e90 M3 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
Bad news here.

I have a MY2012, build date Oct '11.

My Nav version is 112093.2.27 Road Map North America Premium 2011i

I tried to update via USB, and was prompted to enter the FSC code. I was hoping the 2011i version would allow, with no FSC.
Sorry to hear that SamS. That is the first I have heard of a 2012 needing the FSC code.
__________________
"This is like having a house-cat thatís a bengal tiger." - Todd Deeken, everydaydriver.com, on owning an e90 m3.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST