BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-13-2012, 06:50 PM   #1
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.

Posts: 5,327
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
P0172 And P0175 Found The Problem...

OK finally i think i solved the issue.

for several months i had my idle go up and down at idle not crazy but goes up from 600rpm to 1200rpm... then a month after i got the light.... code p0172 and p0175... after resetting it couple times the same error code seems to always comes back... duh right? lol

so over the weekend. i decided to change the LOW PRESSURE SENSOR per FLIP after changing it, right away i was able to tell the difference, IDLE stays at one place and never seen it go up or down. its has been 4 days and the car drives as if it was new again. Minor thing to change but it feels good.. I guess for the last 2 months it has been weird to me...

So for future M3 owners or current once... if you get these errors i suggest to change the LOW PRESSURE SENSOR. curtesy of MCKENNA BMW.... that place is just freakin cheap... I called several dealers and they all want 80bucks to 120.. bought it like 56 bucks i think... and 74 total with power steering fluid.. which cost 16 bucks....





FOUND THE PROBLEM...

INTAKE CHAMBER CONNECTION WAS LOOSE not really sure how to explain it but its the long tube.....

Thanks to Mike Benvo... that was the only thing i didnt check until he mentioned it..


ENGINE SES LIGHT....

Ok yesterday afternoon i got an engine light code

P0172
and
P0175

I have research but no luck i send a pm to 2 members and reviewed the thread and noticed that both did not get the same code. I reset the light and after 60 miles drive it ce back again today same code P0172 and P0175

No rough engine idle, runs the same as normal and no reduce engine power...

Not a lot if information about this issue on a e9x M3 but hoping to get some light from fellow e9x m3 owners...

I got the same message twice even after ressetting .....I pm'd one of the member and noticed that he got only one error which is p0175 after resetting couple times...

If u got both error P0172 and P0175 please let me know how u fixed it...
__________________

Last edited by Sean05; 09-11-2012 at 08:25 AM.
Sean05 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2012, 09:33 PM   #2
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.

Posts: 5,327
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
Nada?
__________________
Sean05 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2012, 10:13 PM   #3
IMG
VT3
 
IMG's Avatar
 
Drives: E36 M3 Track car,Ess E90 M3 DD
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Couch

Posts: 6,975
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean05 View Post
Ok yesterday afternoon i got an engine light code

P0172
and
P0175

I have research but no luck i send a pm to 2 members and reviewed the thread and noticed that both did not get the same code. I reset the light and after 60 miles drive it ce back again today same code P0172 and P0175

No rough engine idle, runs the same as normal and no reduce engine power...

Not a lot if information about this issue on a e9x M3 but hoping to get some light from fellow e9x m3 owners...

I got the same message twice even after ressetting .....I pm'd one of the member and noticed that he got only one error which is p0175 after resetting couple times...

If u got both error P0172 and P0175 please let me know how u fixed it...
How many miles on your car ?
Might be your primary O2 sensors !
__________________
NO FEAR.NO LIMITS.NO EQUAL

Ess VT3 LC built motor,Volk TE37SL,Euro taillights,Dinan Xpipe,Custom Headers,Akra axle back CF tips,ModeCarbon FR lip,BMW CF wing
LOW BOOST 60-130 6.7 sec
IMG is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2012, 10:31 PM   #4
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Mike Benvo's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3 / 400whp Turbo 7
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

Posts: 4,600
iTrader: (7)

Garage List
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [5.00]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [5.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
275D - P0172:
Bank 1 oxygen sensor limit position fault

1. Check fuel system for leaks, initiate test routine as indicated
2. Check exhaust system for leaks
3. Check intake system for leaks and correct operation
4. Read out oxygen sensor diagnostic data, perform both oxygen sensor test routines as indicated.

275E - P0175:
Bank 2 oxygen sensor limit position fault

Same thing as the other error but for the other oxygen sensor.

Somethings going on relating to the o2 sensors.

If you don't get it fixed by September, bring the car to me when I'm back in the US and I'll have a look.

Good luck
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Mike Benvo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-13-2012, 10:39 PM   #5
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.

Posts: 5,327
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
Quote:
Originally Posted by img View Post
How many miles on your car ?
Might be your primary O2 sensors !
72k yea after reading several hundreds of pages.. LOl i am going towards that area... I reset the light twice one yesterday and today and it took at least 60 miles before it showed up again... i might just replace it but want to test other stuff out before i go that route..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
275D - P0172:
Bank 1 oxygen sensor limit position fault

1. Check fuel system for leaks, initiate test routine as indicated
2. Check exhaust system for leaks
3. Check intake system for leaks and correct operation
4. Read out oxygen sensor diagnostic data, perform both oxygen sensor test routines as indicated.

275E - P0175:
Bank 2 oxygen sensor limit position fault

Same thing as the other error but for the other oxygen sensor.

Somethings going on relating to the o2 sensors.

If you don't get it fixed by September, bring the car to me when I'm back in the US and I'll have a look.

Good luck
Will do Thanks Mike
__________________
Sean05 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      08-14-2012, 01:21 PM   #6
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.

Posts: 5,327
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
just bumping this thread hoping to get more light from other members... I have 4 more days before troubleshooting Thanks..
__________________

Last edited by Sean05; 08-14-2012 at 01:36 PM.
Sean05 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      08-17-2012, 11:52 PM   #7
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.

Posts: 5,327
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
FOUND THE PROBLEM.. check 1st post
__________________
Sean05 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      08-18-2012, 12:00 AM   #8
McKenna Performance
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 405
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean05 View Post
FOUND THE PROBLEM.. check 1st post
You can always just walk across the street and get some advice from one of our Tech's / SA's

Glad you figured it out!
McKenna Performance is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-20-2012, 09:31 AM   #9
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,065
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Glad you figured it out bro.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2012, 07:12 AM   #10
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.

Posts: 5,327
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
damn after 3 weeks light came back on with the same error.
__________________
Sean05 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2012, 08:47 AM   #11
pbonsalb
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 08 E90 M3, 99 E36 M3 Turbo
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Concord, NH

Posts: 1,557
iTrader: (3)

Is this the crankcase vent recirculation hose? If you mess around with installing aftermarket intakes or air filters, you can break it. I did. Superglued it back onto the intake elbow and have been more careful with it since. Has held up fine in the year since.

If your gas tank cap is not sealing because it is missing the seal or because you have not tightened it until it clicks, you can get a similar code since unexpected air will be introduced the system.
pbonsalb is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2012, 11:31 AM   #12
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.

Posts: 5,327
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbonsalb View Post
Is this the crankcase vent recirculation hose? If you mess around with installing aftermarket intakes or air filters, you can break it. I did. Superglued it back onto the intake elbow and have been more careful with it since. Has held up fine in the year since.

If your gas tank cap is not sealing because it is missing the seal or because you have not tightened it until it clicks, you can get a similar code since unexpected air will be introduced the system.
My gas cap looks ok and it seals pretty good...

although the crankcase vent recirculation hose is probably the cause i cleaned it last time and took 3 weeks before the codes came back... i might have put a hole on it or gotten it worse when i was cleaning.. I noticed that when its really hot outside 95 degrees + the error seems to come back and everytime i checked the crankcase vent seems loose. ill check again tonight.

I will let you know thanks on the heads up...
__________________
Sean05 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      09-11-2012, 08:24 AM   #13
Sean05
Putcha ang ganda...
 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 MR E92 M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Los Angeles, Brea CA.

Posts: 5,327
iTrader: (9)

Send a message via Yahoo to Sean05
updated. finally fixed the issue.
__________________
Sean05 is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2013, 08:27 PM   #14
spool twice
Rainbow Racer
 
spool twice's Avatar
 
Drives: S65B40
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL

Posts: 1,254
iTrader: (7)

so was it the ventilation tube? or was it the low pressure sensor? I'm getting codes 275E (P1075) and 275D (P1072), my engine feels like it wants to stall and die, but then catches itself and the DCT basically "drops" the clutch like at 1,500 rpm on initial acceleration from a stop because the RPM overshoots to regain itself from dying. These codes weren't present prior to upgrading from OEM only 220E to 240E, but the 275D appeared after upgrading to OEM 240E-only (not aftermarket tuned) and I've been having this stumbling/dying feeling on initial acceleration and it's pretty annoying.

I cleared both codes and all seems well, but I'm sure they will come back. The problem doesn't appear to happen as much in "POWER" mode though, but it's still there and is a pretty dangerous situation, especially when trying to make a left hand turn and void oncoming traffic.
__________________
E90 LCI M3 7-DCT Interlagos Blue/Novillo Silver
[MS Pullies|K&N drop-in|Test Pipes |Evolve Stage II tune|Evolve Servotronic Map|Evolve M3 GTS-DCT file]

Last edited by spool twice; 10-09-2013 at 05:56 AM.
spool twice is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-08-2013, 10:00 PM   #15
MilehighM3
Colonel
 
MilehighM3's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 M3
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Colorado Springs

Posts: 2,058
iTrader: (9)

Sounds to coincidental to not be tune related
MilehighM3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2013, 08:15 PM   #16
M3PO
Colonel
 
M3PO's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 IB E92
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: OC

Posts: 2,721
iTrader: (6)

Try re-downloading the file and flash again? Talk to the tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spool twice View Post
so was it the ventilation tube? or was it the low pressure sensor? I'm getting codes 275E (P1075) and 275D (P1072), my engine feels like it wants to stall and die, but then catches itself and the DCT basically "drops" the clutch like at 1,500 rpm on initial acceleration from a stop because the RPM overshoots to regain itself from dying. These codes weren't present prior to upgrading from OEM only 220E to 240E, but the 275D appeared after upgrading to OEM 240E-only (not aftermarket tuned) and I've been having this stumbling/dying feeling on initial acceleration and it's pretty annoying.

I cleared both codes and all seems well, but I'm sure they will come back. The problem doesn't appear to happen as much in "POWER" mode though, but it's still there and is a pretty dangerous situation, especially when trying to make a left hand turn and void oncoming traffic.
__________________
2008 IB E92 M3| BBS | KW | Arkym | Platte Forme A.G. | Active Autowerke | K&N | Fabspeed | Dinan | Evolve-R
M3PO is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-09-2013, 08:28 PM   #17
spool twice
Rainbow Racer
 
spool twice's Avatar
 
Drives: S65B40
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL

Posts: 1,254
iTrader: (7)

I'm going to revert back to 220E file as per Sals suggestion. We are thinking it's an adaptation issue with my car with the front pair of O2 sensors (aged sensors that the old file adapted through time). I'm not sure how to though, so I just send an email out to Sal and he'll get back to me tomorrow morning. I'm assuming I just use the "recover ECU" button, but I don't want to risk any damage to the ECU if I do the wrong thing.

Let it be known, this is in NO way a tuning issue, it's merely either issue with adaptation with my old OEM file to the new OEM file or my low pressure sensor. Sal is kind enough to assist me
__________________
E90 LCI M3 7-DCT Interlagos Blue/Novillo Silver
[MS Pullies|K&N drop-in|Test Pipes |Evolve Stage II tune|Evolve Servotronic Map|Evolve M3 GTS-DCT file]
spool twice is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST