BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General BMW News and Cars Discussion
 
GTB Performance
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-01-2012, 04:43 PM   #45
gtron
powerhouse
 
gtron's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 550iX M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: OC

Posts: 1,097
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
we have to do a hack to get it... and for updates? lol
gtron is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2012, 06:45 PM   #46
batislav
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 335i Sportline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio

Posts: 193
iTrader: (0)

kind of funny. the android market isn't as smooth as ios, but the "wrong country" message seems like a error as much as anything.
batislav is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2012, 06:50 PM   #47
spicytofu
Fungineer
 
spicytofu's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 E92
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DC/MD/S.FL

Posts: 230
iTrader: (1)

its up on google play but incompatible with my phone (GSII) now trying to do the apk download method.


EDIT:
cant download it, my device ID is incompatible.

But I found an apk at xda dev

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1808372

Not sure if this is a forum violation. I apologize if I am, just remove my post.

Last edited by spicytofu; 08-01-2012 at 06:56 PM.
spicytofu is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2012, 09:40 PM   #48
pcbrew
Captain
 
pcbrew's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 335i 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW

Posts: 770
iTrader: (0)

Thanks batislav
Works for my 2012 F30 335i.
__________________

2012 F30 335i 6MT - Imperial Blue w/Everest Gray: Sport, Adaptive M, Premium, Tech & Parking Pkgs, Assist, Apps
pcbrew is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-01-2012, 09:55 PM   #49
batislav
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 335i Sportline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio

Posts: 193
iTrader: (0)

no problem.
batislav is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2012, 02:48 AM   #50
chrisdoha
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2013 530d M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Scotland

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdoha View Post
Hi all.. ive got the app, installed it on my HTC Sensation, when i try to log in it says, Software Error, Restart Application... and no matter how many times i restart the app or the fone... it stil gives me the same error.


can any1 help?

I found the fix for this... apparently i was tryin to use the app on Mobile Data. I tried with Wifi and it works fine...

Bt the app kinda seems pointless if it doesnt work on mobile data, if u r lookin for ur car in a parking lot, r u expected to look for a Wifi connection?

Is it just me or has any1 been able to work the app on mobile data?
chrisdoha is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2012, 08:40 AM   #51
iatacs19
Major General
 
iatacs19's Avatar
 
Drives: 335is
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington, DC

Posts: 5,206
iTrader: (6)

Installed the apk directly and it works great! The only thing we need is the 6NR features to be enabled on Android.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, failure may be your style.


BMWCCA Referral
iatacs19 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2012, 09:47 AM   #52
batislav
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 335i Sportline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio

Posts: 193
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdoha View Post
I found the fix for this... apparently i was tryin to use the app on Mobile Data. I tried with Wifi and it works fine...

Bt the app kinda seems pointless if it doesnt work on mobile data, if u r lookin for ur car in a parking lot, r u expected to look for a Wifi connection?

Is it just me or has any1 been able to work the app on mobile data?
I've been using it with my data, never even tried with wifi.
batislav is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-02-2012, 09:53 AM   #53
chrisdoha
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2013 530d M Sport
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Scotland

Posts: 49
iTrader: (0)

I gues its probably an issue wit the fone then... im using HTC Sensation
chrisdoha is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      08-03-2012, 03:22 AM   #54
gf44108
Registered
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cleveland, Oh

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by batislav View Post
I can sent you what you need, but I don't think you have enough posts for me to send a pm.
Thanks Batislav, but I was able to download the apk from the developer link. It works with both my 2011 335i and 2013 X3. But, I only get lock/unlock and locator on the 335i. The X3 I get Lock/Unlock, Remote Horn, Flash Headlights, and locator. This app seems too simplistic for any real uses.
gf44108 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2012, 08:31 AM   #55
jaserion
Captain
 
jaserion's Avatar
 
Drives: E93 M3
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York

Posts: 962
iTrader: (0)

i was able to download and install onto my verizon galaxy nexus, but for some reason i can't seem to be able to log in using mybmw username and password (was able to log in on laptop). any idea?
__________________
2011 E93 M3 /// Loving it...
2008 E92 M3 - Gone
2008 E92 335xi - Gone
2006 E90 325i - Gone
jaserion is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2012, 09:33 AM   #56
gf44108
Registered
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 335i M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Cleveland, Oh

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Use the email address and password used for your BMW assist and use all CAPS.
gf44108 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2012, 05:11 PM   #57
Jatran661
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Jet Black 135i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, California

Posts: 209
iTrader: (1)

Am i the only one that doesnt see it see it in google play? Help please got galaxy s2.
Jatran661 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-05-2012, 08:38 PM   #58
batislav
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2012 335i Sportline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Ohio

Posts: 193
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jatran661 View Post
Am i the only one that doesnt see it see it in google play? Help please got galaxy s2.
it's there, search android central if you can't find it and it will link you directly to it.

i have it running on my galaxy s2 right now, but if you look back to my post a few days back i needed to take a few extra steps to get it installed.
batislav is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-06-2012, 12:15 AM   #59
Jatran661
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Jet Black 135i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bay Area, California

Posts: 209
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by batislav View Post
it's there, search android central if you can't find it and it will link you directly to it.

i have it running on my galaxy s2 right now, but if you look back to my post a few days back i needed to take a few extra steps to get it installed.
Thanks I got the direct link now. I did this for my iphone along time ago, but when I change my county to euro to download the app, bmw assist changed my acc to Bmw of Euro. This caused the sos button to not work. The transition did not happen instantly but after using it for a few months, my sos button wouldn't work or the app. I wonder if this would happen for android.
Jatran661 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 11:20 AM   #60
blinkme
New Member
 
Drives: 328i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Newport Beach, CA

Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)

I havent yet ordered my car either, but now it sounds like I need to be sure that it is equipped with BMW Assist. I cant explain how excited I am about this feature and to have it as easily accessible as my phone. I'm planning on going to my bmw dealership today to ask them about the functions I could get with the year and model I'm looking at. Hopefully I'll see this in the play store soon, because it wasn't there when I last looked! I just got a new Galaxy Tab so hopefully if my phone isn't compatible my tab will be. Here's to hopin it comes to the US.
blinkme is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-08-2012, 03:33 AM   #61
Lexa
Registered
 
Drives: F30 Lux|Inno|Conn 8AT
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Geneva

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Hi there,

I can confirm it's working for me pretty well now.
My situation is:
- 3 serie 2012 (F30 328i).
- BMW assist + connected drive.
- (No BMW Apps, just in case someone is in doubt).
- Phone is Samsung Galaxy S 3.
- Phone carryier is Sunrise, Switzerland.
- But location of the car is in France (just at the border).

The installation of the program was refused from Google Play with the "not available in your country" message (guess it took the carryier country for that despite my car has been bought and registered in France ...).

I had to go with the package on the xda-developers forum. Will see if updates come in the future.

I got these functionalities working:
- Vehicule position.
- Air conditionning.
- Google local search.
- Lock/Unlock.
- Horn.
- Lights.

The delay is as similar as with the iPhone app: 30s-2minutes.
When starting the air conditionning remotely it is on a really low ventilation setting. It seems to actually start a special mode of the AC (only one fan symbol lights up on the display). So, it is nothing of the kind start the engine and set it on max mode.
Lexa is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-14-2012, 12:28 PM   #62
john08135i
Major
 
john08135i's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 M Sport, 2010 bmw S1000RR
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 1,000
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to john08135i
You get AC controls on an android?
__________________
M Sport Line Estoril Blue
john08135i is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 07:20 PM   #63
EnerJi
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: '13 BMW 335i M-Sport EB-II
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Miami Beach

Posts: 238
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexa View Post

I got these functionalities working:
- Vehicule position.
- Air conditionning.
- Google local search.
- Lock/Unlock.
- Horn.
- Lights.

The delay is as similar as with the iPhone app: 30s-2minutes.
When starting the air conditionning remotely it is on a really low ventilation setting. It seems to actually start a special mode of the AC (only one fan symbol lights up on the display). So, it is nothing of the kind start the engine and set it on max mode.

Anyone else been able to get remote A/C working? This is one feature more than any other remote app feature that I want to get working before Spring!
EnerJi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-14-2012, 07:21 PM   #64
GentleWen
Private
 
Drives: 2013 Z4 35i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States

Posts: 75
iTrader: (0)

windows phone user sadly waiting...
GentleWen is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST