BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
GetBMWParts
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-04-2012, 07:53 PM   #1
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
145
Rep
2,467
Posts

Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (18)

Disabling the OBD port when the car is not running

I read this:


http://www.1addicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=712717

and wondered if there's a way to reprogram the car to disable the OBD port when the car isn't running to prevent it from happening.

Mike Benvo, this primarily is a question for you to answer

Last edited by whats77inaname; 07-04-2012 at 10:51 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 08:24 AM   #2
Time
Member
United_States
36
Rep
385
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [0.00]
I haven't looked at the OBDII port, but it seems like it would be easier to move it or put a cover over it.
__________________
.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 09:17 AM   #3
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
13,119
Posts


Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
We have some ideas in regards to this but haven't started messing with it yet.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 11:00 AM   #4
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
145
Rep
2,467
Posts

Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (18)

In looking at this, I've think I've figured out what will work for me, so I'm going to tinker with that.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 03:33 PM   #5
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
145
Rep
2,467
Posts

Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (18)

I was reviewing some of the other links from the video, and one guys posted this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Torque
Listen chaps, it's easy! Just remove one of the CAN bus wires from your J1962 OBD socket. The wires push backwards out of the plastic connector by pushing down a little locking tab. Then just tape said wire back onto the loom with a bit of electrical insulating tape.

Said thief is not going to be spending time with his head upsidedown in your footwells trying to find out why his tool can get coms with your car for any length of time. If your dealler needs to communicate with the car, they can just spend a min putting the contact back into place:



Remove either pin 6 (CAN low) or 14 (CAN high)
Instead of backing out the pin(s), I'm simply going to order one (or two) of these

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=060-776



and put it inline on one (or both) of the 6 and 14 wires. We can locate them wherever we'd like, as we don't have to trip the switch to start the car, so they don't have to be in reach of the driver. Seems like the most cost-effective, sensible solution to me. If you wire one on both pins, they can be in 2 completely different locations, which means a thief will have to try and trace and find out where they're running to, costing them valuable time.

Turn it on when necessary, turn it off all other times.

Thoughts?

Last edited by whats77inaname; 07-05-2012 at 03:52 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 04:03 PM   #6
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
785
Rep
11,957
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (15)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
I was reviewing some of the other links from the video, and one guys posted this:



Instead of backing out the pin(s), I'm simply going to order one (or two) of these

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...number=060-776



and put it inline on one (or both) of the 6 and 14 wires. We can locate them wherever we'd like, as we don't have to trip the switch to start the car, so they don't have to be in reach of the driver. Seems like the most cost-effective, sensible solution to me. If you wire one on both pins, they can be in 2 completely different locations, which means a thief will have to try and trace and find out where they're running to, costing them valuable time.

Turn it on when necessary, turn it off all other times.

Thoughts?
CAS will wake up as soon as a door or unlock button is triggered.

A kill switch such as what you have described above would be the only way.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 07:32 PM   #7
hpc3
Second Lieutenant
hpc3's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
255
Posts

Drives: '13 M3 ZCP 6sp
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Carolinas

iTrader: (0)

Will going through the switch/pot cause link

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
CAS will wake up as soon as a door or unlock button is triggered.

A kill switch such as what you have described above would be the only way.
or other errors? I've played a ton on Audis and they can(no pun) be really sensitive to K/CAN line interference for reading/coding/etc. I'm just wondering if adding a kill switch would affect the sensitivity of the line. I'll be doing some sort of disablement on mine as well. TIA.
__________________
'13 E92 M3 - SG/FR ZCP 6sp with sunroof *and* wood (old fart edition). MPE. Turner 10mm spacers x4.

Born on 07/04/12, PCD September 5th, 2012.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 09:42 PM   #8
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
145
Rep
2,467
Posts

Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpc3 View Post
or other errors? I've played a ton on Audis and they can(no pun) be really sensitive to K/CAN line interference for reading/coding/etc. I'm just wondering if adding a kill switch would affect the sensitivity of the line. I'll be doing some sort of disablement on mine as well. TIA.
The wires for the port look to be 16-18g multi-strand copper. I would imagine with a good enough connection (read: soldered), it'll be fine. I ordered the switches, so I'll let you know when they arrive and I put them in.

Added security:

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...Number=060-215




Last edited by whats77inaname; 07-05-2012 at 10:01 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2012, 10:07 PM   #9
hpc3
Second Lieutenant
hpc3's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
255
Posts

Drives: '13 M3 ZCP 6sp
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Carolinas

iTrader: (0)

Thanks. Like the idea of a key lock.

Can't wait to get mine so I can take it apart lol.
__________________
'13 E92 M3 - SG/FR ZCP 6sp with sunroof *and* wood (old fart edition). MPE. Turner 10mm spacers x4.

Born on 07/04/12, PCD September 5th, 2012.
Appreciate 0
      07-06-2012, 04:20 PM   #10
330iTiAg
First Lieutenant
330iTiAg's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
377
Posts

Drives: 2011.5 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Columbia, MD

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via Yahoo to 330iTiAg
Subscribed!
__________________
2011.5 M3 Coupe: Space Gray, 4MY, ZCP, ZCV, ZP2, 494, 5AC, 655, and 752

Mods: Full Venture Shield protection kit, RPi scoops, Euro fog light switch, LUX V4, clear reflectors, OEM black chrome grilles and side gills, black hood vents, IND F10 M5 shift knob and boot
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 03:57 PM   #11
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
145
Rep
2,467
Posts

Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (18)

My buddy pointed me to this. @ the bottom of this article, it appears BMW finally addressed the issue:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006...eft-technology

Has anyone heard anything?

Even so, I still think a hardware solution (read: OBD II kill switch) is warranted, as software can always be hacked with enough time an patience.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2012, 04:30 PM   #12
Erie Von Otto
///M
Erie Von Otto's Avatar
Germany
22
Rep
1,233
Posts

Drives: E90M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Im around

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2010 BMW X5  [0.00]
2011.75 BMW M3 E90  [5.00]
__________________
"With great power comes great responsibility." -El-Superbeasto
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 12:42 AM   #13
e92zero
Captain
26
Rep
711
Posts

Drives: 2011 E92 BW
Join Date: May 2010
Location: somewhere in US

iTrader: (0)

I got an idea here but having a hard time sourcing the part. When I get the DCAN cable from ebay, I received the following adaptor also.

I am thinking we can get these adaptors, change the pin routing inside like female pin1 gets routed to male pin 8, etc. Bascially change the mapping of the pins. Then we can move the pins in the obd port accordingly. This would effectively make the OBD port in the car useless without the corresponding adaptor. Whenever the OBD port is needed, the user can simply just plug in the adaptor and everything will work just fine. Thoughts?

I am still trying to find these adaptors where we can open it up and change the pins myself. It would be nice if we can have vendors or someone that can source these adaptors for us. Or even sell these in pre-wired format where the pins are remapped already and we just modify the OBD port ourselves. Any vendors want to tackle this?
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      09-14-2012, 12:56 AM   #14
e92zero
Captain
26
Rep
711
Posts

Drives: 2011 E92 BW
Join Date: May 2010
Location: somewhere in US

iTrader: (0)

Perhaps something like this:

http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/58...r_Male_to.html
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2012, 02:52 PM   #15
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
192
Rep
5,177
Posts


Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2014 BMW M5  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [3.50]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
The new 47.1.1 CAS update resolves this issue...

If you're going to do anything, you can pick power, ground, or pin 6/14 for can hi or can low and just wire an inline switch to that. Any one of those four wires taken out of the loop will prevent communication with the car.

I chose to just perform the update and leave the physical hardware alone.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      09-22-2012, 02:54 PM   #16
Mike Benvo
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Mike Benvo's Avatar
United_States
192
Rep
5,177
Posts


Drives: Harrop SC M3 / E46 M3 / 7Turbo
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2014 BMW M5  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [3.50]
2004 BMW M3  [0.00]
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Benvo
Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
The wires for the port look to be 16-18g multi-strand copper. I would imagine with a good enough connection (read: soldered), it'll be fine. I ordered the switches, so I'll let you know when they arrive and I put them in.

Added security:

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/show...Number=060-215



All someone would have to do here is rip that switch out and connect the two wires going to it. I guess you could say it's a deterrent, but even for a newbie car thief this is too easy to bypass.
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2012, 03:45 PM   #17
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
THE TECH's Avatar
United_States
172
Rep
13,119
Posts


Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

iTrader: (45)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Just stick with the OEM update!
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2012, 04:42 PM   #18
KmndntKlink
Lieutenant
KmndntKlink's Avatar
Canada
4
Rep
428
Posts

Drives: 2010 e92 m3
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (4)

Ya I'd shy away from any key-based/lock solution. picking locks is stupid easy, and these locks don't seem very sophisticated. Also, you could just rip it off. I think the most future-hack-proof method would be to get some security firm to install a pin-locked ignition (like in the transporter! XD) I know they exist in RL, that way no amount of hacking the OBD will be able to start it, short of ripping the car apart to get to the system.

I'm gonna ask about the OEM update, and just be careful about where I park my car. Seems sufficient protection to me. Also never give your key to anyone seems like pretty solid advice. No one, even valets drives this car but me.
__________________
E92 ///M3 in Dakar Yellow, M-DCT, iDrive, 220M OEM rims, Active Autowerke Green filter, Turner Motorsport test pipes, BPM stage 2 tune, Stoptech ST-40 F+R in yellow.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 01:31 AM   #19
whats77inaname
Native Texan
United_States
145
Rep
2,467
Posts

Drives: when at all possible
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Tx

iTrader: (18)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
All someone would have to do here is rip that switch out and connect the two wires going to it. I guess you could say it's a deterrent, but even for a newbie car thief this is too easy to bypass.
Only an idiot would put that switch anywhere near the OBD port. Common sense would be to pull part of the dash apart and trace one of those lines as as far away as possible, and *then* put the switch in. Some of us may even have 2 kill switches in place. Just sayin'
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2012, 01:52 AM   #20
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
785
Rep
11,957
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (15)

Garage List
2010 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M4  [2.75]
Quote:
Originally Posted by whats77inaname View Post
Only an idiot would put that switch anywhere near the OBD port. Common sense would be to pull part of the dash apart and trace one of those lines as as far away as possible, and *then* put the switch in. Some of us may even have 2 kill switches in place. Just sayin'
Pretty much. A key or switch in plain view would serve as an arrow to thieves.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2012, 01:48 PM   #21
Gif
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: Z4 3.0i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wales

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Benvo View Post
All someone would have to do here is rip that switch out and connect the two wires going to it. I guess you could say it's a deterrent, but even for a newbie car thief this is too easy to bypass.
Have I missed something here as I thought the whole point was that the security flaw was that the OBD was not covered by the movement sensors.

In order to find and trip or re-wire a security switch, any intruder is going to have to move around inside the car thus setting off the alarm before they get anywhere near making a replica key.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 PM.




m3post
m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST