BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Engine, Transmission, Exhaust, Drivetrain, ECU Software Modifications
 
PYSPEED
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-09-2012, 06:54 PM   #133
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

I liked giving Terry a hard time.

But I would purchase this if needed and may actually do so.
Appreciate 0
      04-12-2012, 08:54 PM   #134
spoonf20c
let me see you become a ///Monster
spoonf20c's Avatar
Philippines
5
Rep
315
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SloCal

iTrader: (12)

1k miles since the install. still no light. what about you guys?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-13-2012, 08:40 AM   #135
Singletrack
4th down; 4th quarter? Renegade.
Singletrack's Avatar
United_States
43
Rep
3,820
Posts

 
Drives: 09 SSII E92 M3; 12 AW X5d
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Porschefile View Post
I liked BMS products on my 335i. Anyone have a dyno plot of how much power you can add by gutting the primary cats or using test pipes, in the absence of a tune?
Search. Million threads on this.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2012, 11:21 AM   #136
Darkboyz68
Jedi
United_States
1
Rep
173
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 e92 M3 LMB
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhmenono View Post
What HFCs and fabspeed tried to do was to clean up the airflow to the sensor. This intercepts the O2 sensor and reduces the voltage going back to the ECU, acting like the correct sized cat is in place.
I will be putting on another 1000 miles this week and a track day this weekend, so will see...
Hows it? No light?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonf20c View Post
1k miles since the install. still no light. what about you guys?
Nice! Like someone mentioned earlier, I think i'd be more confident at 3k..
__________________
2012 M3 e92 LeMans Blue, RPi GTC full race system, RPi scoops, BMW performance decklid, GTS wheels, OEM gloss blk mirrors ...

Appreciate 0
      04-14-2012, 05:11 PM   #137
uhmenono
Private
0
Rep
52
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 bmw m3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: las vegas

iTrader: (0)

all clear...
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2012, 06:30 AM   #138
Mike@N54Tuning.com
Lieutenant General
Canada
480
Rep
15,045
Posts

 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

iTrader: (88)

Quote:
Originally Posted by uhmenono View Post
all clear...
Good to hear! We may have a winner here.

Mike
__________________
LOWEST PRICE GURANTEE ON ALL PRODUCTS - www.n54tuning.com - Email; Mike@n54tuning.com
NEW PERFORMANCE LINE N54 DOWNPIPES & M3/M4 & F30 ER DOWNPIPES NOW IN STOCK - ER N54 CHARPE PIPE SPECIALS - NEW JB4 G5 ISO for N54 and F30 N55 ON SALE - NEW S55 M3/M4 JB4 NOW SHIPPING
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2012, 07:47 AM   #139
Verify
Captain
9
Rep
628
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MD-NY

iTrader: (1)

No thinking about it, almost 700 miles and no cel popping back up. Unlike the 02 extenders,if there was an issue, it would have surfaced by now
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 10:36 AM   #140
///M Huggie
Private
///M Huggie's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
63
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4MC
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Alexandria, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 Z4 M Coupe  [0.00]
1997 M3 (e36)  [0.00]
Hi Gents,

I've installed this a few weeks ago with no luck. The longest I was able to go without a CEL was 600 miles, after the initial install. Ever since then, I can only get to about 60-90 miles before getting a CEL (always running lean). I've tried it at nearly every setting.

I think I know why but figured I'd ask first. Does this not work for HFCs? I'm thinking any setting, even at its lowest, is too strong for HFCs, which is why my codes are stating I'm running lean.

Second question, is there a fix for HFCs out there? I've tried foulers, didn't last 50 miles...
__________________

My Videos: www.youtube.com/user/knkn82
FB: Roi De Coeur IG: @roi_de_coeur
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 11:10 AM   #141
ROB_S2K
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
34
Rep
1,774
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Grand Cherokee SRT8
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M Huggie View Post
Hi Gents,

I've installed this a few weeks ago with no luck. The longest I was able to go without a CEL was 600 miles, after the initial install. Ever since then, I can only get to about 60-90 miles before getting a CEL (always running lean). I've tried it at nearly every setting.

I think I know why but figured I'd ask first. Does this not work for HFCs? I'm thinking any setting, even at its lowest, is too strong for HFCs, which is why my codes are stating I'm running lean.

Second question, is there a fix for HFCs out there? I've tried foulers, didn't last 50 miles...

I have HFC's as well and I also have the BMS piece. However, I have not installed this yet hoping I can clear the CEL with coding. Any one know if you can code for HFC's?
__________________
2014 Grand Cherokee SRT-8

(2012 | Laguna Seca Blue | Rust Brown | Individual | 6MT) SOLD
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 11:47 AM   #142
persian54
Lieutenant General
persian54's Avatar
United_States
285
Rep
15,812
Posts

 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROB_S2K View Post
I have HFC's as well and I also have the BMS piece. However, I have not installed this yet hoping I can clear the CEL with coding. Any one know if you can code for HFC's?
I don't think you can code to remove a CEL, whether you have a HFC or are fully catless.
Or if by code you mean tune, then that's different.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 01:16 PM   #143
ROB_S2K
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
34
Rep
1,774
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Grand Cherokee SRT8
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (4)

I was just wondering if I can get rid of the CEL using software instead of hardware. Whether that's with a tune or otherwise is what I don't know.
__________________
2014 Grand Cherokee SRT-8

(2012 | Laguna Seca Blue | Rust Brown | Individual | 6MT) SOLD
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 01:56 PM   #144
persian54
Lieutenant General
persian54's Avatar
United_States
285
Rep
15,812
Posts

 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROB_S2K View Post
I was just wondering if I can get rid of the CEL using software instead of hardware. Whether that's with a tune or otherwise is what I don't know.
Yeah if you tune the car (OE tune, ESS(?), Evolve, PC etc) have options to remove the CEL.
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 02:03 PM   #145
Malek@MRF
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Malek@MRF's Avatar
United_States
62
Rep
3,406
Posts


 
Drives: E92 M3, E46 M3, F30, E30
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Irvine, California

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via AIM to Malek@MRF
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROB_S2K View Post
I was just wondering if I can get rid of the CEL using software instead of hardware. Whether that's with a tune or otherwise is what I don't know.
Rob,

Yes you can have the SES light remedied with a tune.
__________________

BMW PERFORMANCE SPECIALISTS. Suspension. Forced Induction. Brakes. Race Preparation. Service. Alignments.
OFFICIAL PARTNERS: Íhlins. KW Suspension. Brembo. AP Racing. ESS Tuning. iND Distribution. Turner Motorsport.
Facebook | Instagram | Yelp! | Flikr | Contact | YouTube
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 02:05 PM   #146
ROB_S2K
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
34
Rep
1,774
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 Grand Cherokee SRT8
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Malekreza11 View Post
Rob,

Yes you can have the SES light remedied with a tune.
Thanks Malek. Is this something you can do for me?
__________________
2014 Grand Cherokee SRT-8

(2012 | Laguna Seca Blue | Rust Brown | Individual | 6MT) SOLD
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 02:24 PM   #147
Malek@MRF
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Malek@MRF's Avatar
United_States
62
Rep
3,406
Posts


 
Drives: E92 M3, E46 M3, F30, E30
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Irvine, California

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via AIM to Malek@MRF
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROB_S2K View Post
Thanks Malek. Is this something you can do for me?
Call me anytime Rob, you know the number.
__________________

BMW PERFORMANCE SPECIALISTS. Suspension. Forced Induction. Brakes. Race Preparation. Service. Alignments.
OFFICIAL PARTNERS: Íhlins. KW Suspension. Brembo. AP Racing. ESS Tuning. iND Distribution. Turner Motorsport.
Facebook | Instagram | Yelp! | Flikr | Contact | YouTube
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 02:41 PM   #148
///M Huggie
Private
///M Huggie's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
63
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4MC
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Alexandria, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 Z4 M Coupe  [0.00]
1997 M3 (e36)  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ROB_S2K View Post
I have HFC's as well and I also have the BMS piece. However, I have not installed this yet hoping I can clear the CEL with coding. Any one know if you can code for HFC's?
From what I've heard (and see in this thread), the light can be taken care of through a tune. The issue is that it won't pass the readiness inspection at emissions testing with it turned off. (I could be wrong, please correct me if so guys)

So does anyone know of a solution for HFCs that can pass emissions? I've kept my stock pipes just in case, but would like to find a solution without having to swap for emissions testing, then swap back again.
__________________

My Videos: www.youtube.com/user/knkn82
FB: Roi De Coeur IG: @roi_de_coeur
Appreciate 0
      05-15-2012, 04:00 PM   #149
persian54
Lieutenant General
persian54's Avatar
United_States
285
Rep
15,812
Posts

 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M Huggie View Post
From what I've heard (and see in this thread), the light can be taken care of through a tune. The issue is that it won't pass the readiness inspection at emissions testing with it turned off. (I could be wrong, please correct me if so guys)

So does anyone know of a solution for HFCs that can pass emissions? I've kept my stock pipes just in case, but would like to find a solution without having to swap for emissions testing, then swap back again.
This is useless for us in CA but I've heard the OE tune can pass readiness.
Again, I've only heard it... so don't quote me
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2012, 01:17 AM   #150
zhangzeyuandss
Captain
zhangzeyuandss's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
900
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 e92 MW m3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indianapolis,IN

iTrader: (9)

Send a message via AIM to zhangzeyuandss Send a message via MSN to zhangzeyuandss Send a message via Yahoo to zhangzeyuandss Send a message via Skype™ to zhangzeyuandss
any update for this?
__________________

2011.5 mineral white e92 zcp 6mt m3
Appreciate 0
      06-15-2012, 12:24 PM   #151
Mike@N54Tuning.com
Lieutenant General
Canada
480
Rep
15,045
Posts

 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

iTrader: (88)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M Huggie View Post
Hi Gents,

I've installed this a few weeks ago with no luck. The longest I was able to go without a CEL was 600 miles, after the initial install. Ever since then, I can only get to about 60-90 miles before getting a CEL (always running lean). I've tried it at nearly every setting.

I think I know why but figured I'd ask first. Does this not work for HFCs? I'm thinking any setting, even at its lowest, is too strong for HFCs, which is why my codes are stating I'm running lean.

Second question, is there a fix for HFCs out there? I've tried foulers, didn't last 50 miles...
I know they made a revision recently to open the range up allowing for HFCs. Original development was done for fully catless only. Drop them a note and they can get you the revision for further testing.

Mike
__________________
LOWEST PRICE GURANTEE ON ALL PRODUCTS - www.n54tuning.com - Email; Mike@n54tuning.com
NEW PERFORMANCE LINE N54 DOWNPIPES & M3/M4 & F30 ER DOWNPIPES NOW IN STOCK - ER N54 CHARPE PIPE SPECIALS - NEW JB4 G5 ISO for N54 and F30 N55 ON SALE - NEW S55 M3/M4 JB4 NOW SHIPPING
Appreciate 0
      06-19-2012, 08:46 PM   #152
///M Huggie
Private
///M Huggie's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
63
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4MC
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Alexandria, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 Z4 M Coupe  [0.00]
1997 M3 (e36)  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@N54Tuning.com View Post
I know they made a revision recently to open the range up allowing for HFCs. Original development was done for fully catless only. Drop them a note and they can get you the revision for further testing.

Mike
I'm actually testing out their revised version as we speak. It's not my daily so I haven't put enough miles on it yet to get a code (or not). Hopefully I can put some miles in this weekend. Terry and co. have been great!
__________________

My Videos: www.youtube.com/user/knkn82
FB: Roi De Coeur IG: @roi_de_coeur
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2012, 10:03 AM   #153
Singletrack
4th down; 4th quarter? Renegade.
Singletrack's Avatar
United_States
43
Rep
3,820
Posts

 
Drives: 09 SSII E92 M3; 12 AW X5d
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M Huggie View Post
Hi Gents,

I've installed this a few weeks ago with no luck. The longest I was able to go without a CEL was 600 miles, after the initial install. Ever since then, I can only get to about 60-90 miles before getting a CEL (always running lean). I've tried it at nearly every setting.

I think I know why but figured I'd ask first. Does this not work for HFCs? I'm thinking any setting, even at its lowest, is too strong for HFCs, which is why my codes are stating I'm running lean.

Second question, is there a fix for HFCs out there? I've tried foulers, didn't last 50 miles...
Just saw this. You should not be getting any lean codes. You should be getting catalyst inefficiency DTCs. My guess is you hooked these up to the primary o2 sensors instead of the secondaries. This could be dangerous.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2012, 09:10 AM   #154
///M Huggie
Private
///M Huggie's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
63
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Z4MC
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Alexandria, VA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 Z4 M Coupe  [0.00]
1997 M3 (e36)  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Singletrack View Post
Just saw this. You should not be getting any lean codes. You should be getting catalyst inefficiency DTCs. My guess is you hooked these up to the primary o2 sensors instead of the secondaries. This could be dangerous.
Once I received the dpfix I took the foulers off. The lean codes were with the dpfix installed. I was running rich with just the foulers (w/o the dpfix).

But yes, they were hooked up to the primaries, I don't have secondaries. Thanks for the feedback, I'm learning as I go!
__________________

My Videos: www.youtube.com/user/knkn82
FB: Roi De Coeur IG: @roi_de_coeur
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST