BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis
 
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-20-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,778
iTrader: (291)

Reset Pad sensor reset?

My service for front brake pads was coming up soon...

well, I recently installed a BBK recently so I don't run the brake pad sensors

however, my car thinks I need pads... so I have a brake pad warning that pops up...

Dealer says they cannot reset it since I don't have stock brakes.

Any idea what I can do...? the warning is annoying, and the BRAKE in the gauge cluster is constantly on...
and I DO Have pads, I physically checked
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2012, 07:35 PM   #2
Moxie
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Moxie's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 328d Touring/SG 335d
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stuttgart

Posts: 1,859
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
My service for front brake pads was coming up soon...

well, I recently installed a BBK recently so I don't run the brake pad sensors

however, my car thinks I need pads... so I have a brake pad warning that pops up...

Dealer says they cannot reset it since I don't have stock brakes.

Any idea what I can do...? the warning is annoying, and the BRAKE in the gauge cluster is constantly on...
and I DO Have pads, I physically checked
Too easy - Look here - http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...63&postcount=1

I did it a couple times for brakes & oil. You can reset everything yourself. Dealer should have done it for you.
Moxie is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2012, 07:38 PM   #3
Moxie
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Moxie's Avatar
 
Drives: AW 328d Touring/SG 335d
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stuttgart

Posts: 1,859
iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
My service for front brake pads was coming up soon...

well, I recently installed a BBK recently so I don't run the brake pad sensors

however, my car thinks I need pads... so I have a brake pad warning that pops up...

Dealer says they cannot reset it since I don't have stock brakes.

Any idea what I can do...? the warning is annoying, and the BRAKE in the gauge cluster is constantly on...
and I DO Have pads, I physically checked
This link may be better - http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...ight=oil+reset
Moxie is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      02-20-2012, 11:49 PM   #4
tofunin
Private
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: West Covina

Posts: 65
iTrader: (0)

Is the pad sensor still plugged in? I would just zip tie it out of the way so it won't get damaged.

Then all you need to do is reset the brake pads via put key in ignition and press start w/o brake pedal. Then hold your odometer reset until it changes to a menu and then use your gauge toggle to select the front brakes and hold until the clock completes.
tofunin is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2012, 01:02 AM   #5
dapopa9
Captain
 
dapopa9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego

Posts: 612
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moxie View Post
yes this link is better.

If you follow the link above it will reset it if there are still miles remaining before hitting zero. However one thing to note that I have noticed is if your car has gone all the way to the zero miles remaining mark for the brake pad change then it may be a PITA. It seems once it hits zero you physically have to unplug the brake pad sensor cable from the wheel well(front and/or back), turn on the car while unplugged, turn off car, plug sensor back in, and then perform the reset. I could be wrong about this but that was the only way I could get mine to reset.
dapopa9 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2012, 02:45 AM   #6
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,778
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dapopa9 View Post
yes this link is better.

If you follow the link above it will reset it if there are still miles remaining before hitting zero. However one thing to note that I have noticed is if your car has gone all the way to the zero miles remaining mark for the brake pad change then it may be a PITA. It seems once it hits zero you physically have to unplug the brake pad sensor cable from the wheel well(front and/or back), turn on the car while unplugged, turn off car, plug sensor back in, and then perform the reset. I could be wrong about this but that was the only way I could get mine to reset.
oo
mine has gone to 0........and then some....
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 06:30 PM   #7
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,778
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moxie View Post
didn't do it..













persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:11 PM   #8
geneatals
Ninja
 
geneatals's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011.5 E90 M3
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: So Cal (SFV)

Posts: 3,202
iTrader: (2)

wonder if you can get that coded out..
__________________
2011.5 E90 M3 AW l Black Novillo Leather | Carbon Fiber Leather Trim | ZCP | ZP2 | M-DCT | Navigation | Moonroof | 6FL l Pics/Mods
Retired: 2008 535i l AW l Black Dakota Leather l Bamboo Anthracite l ZPP l ZSP l 6FL
geneatals is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:13 PM   #9
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,778
iTrader: (291)

i used this as an excuse to not let my friend drive my car though..lol
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:17 PM   #10
dapopa9
Captain
 
dapopa9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego

Posts: 612
iTrader: (0)

So based on your pics it looks like you did the dash reset procedure correctly.

But as I mentioned before because it is already at zero or below you need to unplug the sensors from the wheel well. I think I actually did the reset while they were unplugged and then again after I plugged them back in. This will remove the light.
dapopa9 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:20 PM   #11
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,778
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dapopa9 View Post
So based on your pics it looks like you did the dash reset procedure correctly.

But as I mentioned before because it is already at zero or below you need to unplug the sensors from the wheel well. I think I actually did the reset while they were unplugged and then again after I plugged them back in. This will remove the light.
Damn so much of a hassle

I just wish the dealer would do it..

If only I could find a set of used oem pads...with less than 3mm life..
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:23 PM   #12
dapopa9
Captain
 
dapopa9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego

Posts: 612
iTrader: (0)

Yeah kinda stinks...the fronts are really easy but the back passenger side you have to pull the wheel well liner off to get to the connection point.
dapopa9 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:29 PM   #13
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,778
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dapopa9 View Post
Yeah kinda stinks...the fronts are really easy but the back passenger side you have to pull the wheel well liner off to get to the connection point.
At least this is only for the fronts...

on my BBK, the rear sensors plugged into the caliper...
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:34 PM   #14
dapopa9
Captain
 
dapopa9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego

Posts: 612
iTrader: (0)

My advice is to keep the sensors plugged in on the wheel well side but NOT plugged in on the brake pad side. Take a zip tie and tie up the loose end to the control arm or something out of the way. Reason for this is on the track I imagine you go through pads quickly and those sensors cost about $20 a piece. If you are monitoring the pads yourself then no need to keep burning through sensors.

**disclaimer - assuming you are monitoring you brake pad thickness with your regularly with your eyes** BECAUSE RACECAR you should.
dapopa9 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:36 PM   #15
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,778
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dapopa9 View Post
My advice is to keep the sensors plugged in on the wheel well side but NOT plugged in on the brake pad side. Take a zip tie and tie up the loose end to the control arm or something out of the way. Reason for this is on the track I imagine you go through pads quickly and those sensors cost about $20 a piece. If you are monitoring the pads yourself then no need to keep burning through sensors.

**disclaimer - assuming you are monitoring you brake pad thickness with your regularly with your eyes** BECAUSE RACECAR you should.
Well the brake bias on this car makes it so you barely use any rear pads.

My StopTech Street pads I had on my stock calipers were at 80% after 7 track days, while the fronts were pretty much gone.

Or are you referring to the front? the front sensors aren't plugged in, they're zip tied. Not sure where though... lol
Yes I do monitor the pad. I check them visually before every track day
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2012, 07:38 PM   #16
dapopa9
Captain
 
dapopa9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2008 E90 M3
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego

Posts: 612
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
Well the brake bias on this car makes it so you barely use any rear pads.

My StopTech Street pads I had on my stock calipers were at 80% after 7 track days, while the fronts were pretty much gone.

Or are you referring to the front? the front sensors aren't plugged in, they're zip tied. Not sure where though... lol
Yes I do monitor the pad. I check them visually before every track day
I was referring to both front and back just to be safe. But yeah you are right the back pads should last much longer than the fronts.
dapopa9 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2012, 04:52 PM   #17
per
Lieutenant
 
Drives: M3 E92
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sweden Gothenburg

Posts: 497
iTrader: (0)

I had exactly the same problem, the solution for me was to buy new sensor and then do the reset procedure that you did.
__________________
M3 E92 ESS VT-625
per is online now   Sweden
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2012, 05:28 PM   #18
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,778
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by per View Post
I had exactly the same problem, the solution for me was to buy new sensor and then do the reset procedure that you did.
Yeah

we had to install new sensors, reset, uninstall new sensors - , then reset, then turn car off, reinstall new senors, reset, then we were good to go
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2012, 05:31 PM   #19
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,079
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
Yeah

we had to install new sensors, reset, uninstall new sensors - , then reset, then turn car off, reinstall new senors, reset, then we were good to go
Wow, what a pain. Gotta be a better/easier way! Is everyone with a BBK really going through this hassle?
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2012, 05:43 PM   #20
persian54
Lieutenant General
 
persian54's Avatar
 
Drives: SL550. Prev: E93 M3/335i/Z435i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: The Valley, SoCal

Posts: 15,778
iTrader: (291)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
Wow, what a pain. Gotta be a better/easier way! Is everyone with a BBK really going through this hassle?
I think this happened cause I let mine go to below 0

I believe if you reset it before then you're good to go

the dealer told me I can "safely" ignore it....yeah it i can safely ignore it, but it's a pain having the damn warning....
persian54 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2012, 05:45 PM   #21
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 13,079
iTrader: (44)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by persian54 View Post
I think this happened cause I let mine go to below 0

I believe if you reset it before then you're good to go

the dealer told me I can "safely" ignore it....yeah it i can safely ignore it, but it's a pain having the damn warning....
Understood.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST