BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Coding / ConnectedDrive / Audio-Video / Electronics / Bluetooth / I-Drive & Nav
 
GT Haus
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-02-2011, 04:22 PM   #23
tma1c
Lieutenant
 
tma1c's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 E93 6MT M3
Join Date: May 2008
Location: philly

Posts: 566
iTrader: (12)

Send a message via AIM to tma1c
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
Was it the Pandora app that got fixed, or the BMW App?
pandora. just get the newest update from app store
tma1c is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-02-2011, 04:23 PM   #24
nelson29
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2005 E60
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando, FL

Posts: 290
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
Was it the Pandora app that got fixed, or the BMW App?
Pandora.
__________________
Dynaudio Esotar2 110,430,650,1200s
Arc PS8/Brax MX4s/Ixos/Straightwire
nelson29 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-02-2011, 04:34 PM   #25
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,463
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tma1c View Post
pandora. just get the newest update from app store
Thanks, will do. Now I just need my car back! Floating across the Atlantic right now.....
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-03-2011, 09:05 AM   #26
///MMB
Member
 
Drives: 2011 e93 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maryland

Posts: 268
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 VW Beetle  [0.00]
Yep, they released an update. Make sure you have at least vers 3.1.15
__________________
2013 991 911
///MMB is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-03-2011, 08:09 PM   #27
NFAM3
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 M3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Miami, FL

Posts: 394
iTrader: (0)

Let me know if the new update works w/ the new ios. I'm waiting to make sure I can still use Pandora before updating my phone.
__________________
2011 BMW M3
NFAM3 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-04-2011, 07:58 AM   #28
///MMB
Member
 
Drives: 2011 e93 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maryland

Posts: 268
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 VW Beetle  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFAM3 View Post
Let me know if the new update works w/ the new ios. I'm waiting to make sure I can still use Pandora before updating my phone.
iOS 5 and pandora 3.1.15 work fine with my BMW apps
__________________
2013 991 911
///MMB is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-06-2011, 03:11 PM   #29
Nautik
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2009 AW M3 DCT
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NoVA

Posts: 599
iTrader: (0)

Anyone able to get Pandora to play in our cars with the Droid OS?
__________________
2009 e92 M3 - AW DCT - Apex Arc8s - Corsa
Nautik is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-06-2011, 04:48 PM   #30
///MMB
Member
 
Drives: 2011 e93 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maryland

Posts: 268
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 VW Beetle  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nautik View Post
Anyone able to get Pandora to play in our cars with the Droid OS?
BMW apps won't work with droid. But it should work over bluetooth.
__________________
2013 991 911
///MMB is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2011, 12:52 PM   #31
Nautik
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2009 AW M3 DCT
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NoVA

Posts: 599
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///MMB View Post
BMW apps won't work with droid. But it should work over bluetooth.
Hmm I was trying to do that but never quite figured it out. The phone connects no problem via bluetooth but how do I get the sound from Pandora to play over the car's speakers? I looked into the media options and all I see is the USB port and standard audio jack (dont have anything plugged into those).

Any ideas? Thanks. I have a 2009 btw.
__________________
2009 e92 M3 - AW DCT - Apex Arc8s - Corsa
Nautik is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-09-2011, 05:40 PM   #32
///MMB
Member
 
Drives: 2011 e93 m3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Maryland

Posts: 268
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 VW Beetle  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nautik View Post
Hmm I was trying to do that but never quite figured it out. The phone connects no problem via bluetooth but how do I get the sound from Pandora to play over the car's speakers? I looked into the media options and all I see is the USB port and standard audio jack (dont have anything plugged into those).

Any ideas? Thanks. I have a 2009 btw.
You have to make sure your phone can support audio profile and that the Bluetooth is setup to work;

__________________
2013 991 911
///MMB is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 01:11 PM   #33
Brenzo
Enlisted Member
 
Brenzo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know if there is a way for Pandora to play via BMWApps integration without the Pandora app up and running?

I find it quite annoying that it stops working should I choose to reply to a text message or check email since that closes the app and thus the connection is lost.

Thanks.
Brenzo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 01:13 PM   #34
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 12,567
iTrader: (39)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brenzo View Post
Does anyone know if there is a way for Pandora to play via BMWApps integration without the Pandora app up and running?

I find it quite annoying that it stops working should I choose to reply to a text message or check email since that closes the app and thus the connection is lost.

Thanks.
I think the whole apps deal is pretty annoying. Sometimes things work and sometimes they don't. Stupid that I have to start the app with the phone sometimes as well.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 01:14 PM   #35
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,463
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brenzo View Post
Does anyone know if there is a way for Pandora to play via BMWApps integration without the Pandora app up and running?

I find it quite annoying that it stops working should I choose to reply to a text message or check email since that closes the app and thus the connection is lost.

Thanks.
Have you tried multi-tasking to a different app? For example, start Pandora, then double click the home button to mail, etc. I can try this later on today.
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 01:19 PM   #36
Brenzo
Enlisted Member
 
Brenzo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
Have you tried multi-tasking to a different app? For example, start Pandora, then double click the home button to mail, etc. I can try this later on today.
I have not tried that, but the way multitasking/background apps work with iOS 5.0+, it should be the same whether double-tapping or simply hitting home button and opening up a new app.

I think the issue is that whatever protocol Pandora and BMW use to integrate the iDrive system must be something that cannot run in the background due to iOS restrictions.

Just a guess...
Brenzo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 01:25 PM   #37
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,463
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brenzo View Post
I have not tried that, but the way multitasking/background apps work with iOS 5.0+, it should be the same whether double-tapping or simply hitting home button and opening up a new app.

I think the issue is that whatever protocol Pandora and BMW use to integrate the iDrive system must be something that cannot run in the background due to iOS restrictions.

Just a guess...
You could be right. But try it just to make sure.

I always thought it was strange that when the iPhone is in the cradle, launching Pandora, it "knows" that it's connected to a BMW, even if though you're not connecting via Plug-in.
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 02:26 PM   #38
Brenzo
Enlisted Member
 
Brenzo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
I always thought it was strange that when the iPhone is in the cradle, launching Pandora, it "knows" that it's connected to a BMW, even if though you're not connecting via Plug-in.
Well I don't connect via a snap/plug-in cradle. I am simply using the USB port.

Also, I tested the double-tap quick app switching and it doesn't change anything - anytime you leave the Pandora app, it will stop playing. I wish I could at least find a logical reason for this, but I can't find anything online. It doesn't make sense that a phone (and vehicle) this powerful can't let these apps run in the background. As long as they are connected via USB, they should work...
Brenzo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 02:28 PM   #39
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 12,567
iTrader: (39)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
The cradle is terrible. I hate it so far. Hardly ever works correctly.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 02:31 PM   #40
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,463
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brenzo View Post
Well I don't connect via a snap/plug-in cradle. I am simply using the USB port.

Also, I tested the double-tap quick app switching and it doesn't change anything - anytime you leave the Pandora app, it will stop playing. I wish I could at least find a logical reason for this, but I can't find anything online. It doesn't make sense that a phone (and vehicle) this powerful can't let these apps run in the background. As long as they are connected via USB, they should work...
Interesting. Well, at least you tried.

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
The cradle is terrible. I hate it so far. Hardly ever works correctly.
I love the cradle, and couldn't go back to just the USB cable. The only thing that is a pain is the fact that the phone is out of reach, unless you want to pull over and fiddle with it.
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 02:33 PM   #41
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 12,567
iTrader: (39)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
I love the cradle, and couldn't go back to just the USB cable. The only thing that is a pain is the fact that the phone is out of reach, unless you want to pull over and fiddle with it.
It's very tempermental. Works sometimes. Other times, I get an error and it won't connect at all.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 02:39 PM   #42
Brenzo
Enlisted Member
 
Brenzo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 BMW 328xi
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
I love the cradle, and couldn't go back to just the USB cable. The only thing that is a pain is the fact that the phone is out of reach, unless you want to pull over and fiddle with it.
This is one of the main reasons I haven't yet invested in a cradle. Also, I will be upgrading to whatever new iPhone Apple releases next year and I am assuming it'll be a different form factor, and thus will not fit in the cradle. Rather not have to purchase a new cradle when these cost about as much as a new phone in the first place.

Instead, I am thinking about getting a ProClip system to mount my phone just to the right of the gear shift and then simply running my USB cable out the center armrest and down the side between the passenger seat and console. I'd connect a tilt-swivel iPhone holder to this mount that would enable me to simply slide the phone out - while still connected - if I wanted to do anything while driving.
Brenzo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 03:04 PM   #43
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,463
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by THE TECH View Post
It's very tempermental. Works sometimes. Other times, I get an error and it won't connect at all.
Mine has only given me the "Plugin not connected" error one time. I just re-inserted and it worked again.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Brenzo View Post
This is one of the main reasons I haven't yet invested in a cradle. Also, I will be upgrading to whatever new iPhone Apple releases next year and I am assuming it'll be a different form factor, and thus will not fit in the cradle. Rather not have to purchase a new cradle when these cost about as much as a new phone in the first place.

Instead, I am thinking about getting a ProClip system to mount my phone just to the right of the gear shift and then simply running my USB cable out the center armrest and down the side between the passenger seat and console. I'd connect a tilt-swivel iPhone holder to this mount that would enable me to simply slide the phone out - while still connected - if I wanted to do anything while driving.
I also don't want to get burned if the next iPhone doesn't fit in the current media cradle. Plus, BMW will probably take 6 months to come out with an updated version of the Media cradle. However, you can buy a cheap 30 pin female to male adapter to plug into the cradle, then attach via cord to iPhone mounted as you described above. That is best of both worlds. You get better view of the phone, 100% forward-compatibility, as well as all the cradle functionality.

Got a link to the ProClip system you're considering?
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2011, 03:05 PM   #44
THE TECH
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
THE TECH's Avatar
 
Drives: BPMsport 2012 E92 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas

Posts: 12,567
iTrader: (39)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to THE TECH Send a message via Skype™ to THE TECH
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
Mine has only given me the "Plugin not connected" error one time. I just re-inserted and it worked again.
Mine seems to work the opposite of yours.
__________________
THE TECH is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST