BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
Strasse Wheels
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-06-2011, 03:48 AM   #1
Vancouver_M3
Private
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 61
iTrader: (0)

Saving sequential mode shift speed possible?

I prefer to drive in S4 mode but each time I start the car it defaults to S3. It seems to remember the shift speed for D mode though. Anyone know if there is a trick to this?
Vancouver_M3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2011, 05:01 AM   #2
gthal
Brigadier General
 
gthal's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 M4
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada

Posts: 3,215
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2011 M3  [3.37]
It always defaults to S3 and that cannot be changed. It use to annoy me too but I am so use to putting it in S4 now I don't even notice it.
__________________
2015 Austin Yellow M4 | Black Full Merino Leather | DCT
2014 Corvette Stingray | Z51 | Torch Red | 7MT - Sold
2012 C63 Coupe | Performance package | Obsidian Black - Sold
2011 E92 M3 | Jerez Black | Fox Red | DCT | Competition Package - Sold
gthal is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-06-2011, 05:45 AM   #3
M3SQRD
Colonel
 
M3SQRD's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3s, R56 Cooper S
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: EC

Posts: 2,479
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gthal View Post
It always defaults to S3 and that cannot be changed. It use to annoy me too but I am so use to putting it in S4 now I don't even notice it.
+1 - you'll get used to it over time or if the M button is on your steering wheel you can always use it to get the shift sitting you want at startup.
M3SQRD is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2011, 04:46 AM   #4
Vancouver_M3
Private
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Sedan
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Vancouver BC

Posts: 61
iTrader: (0)

Ok. Thought I'd ask. It's kinda bizarre that it works for D mode but not S. Though ultimately I just like S4 because it rev matches the downshifts. I wonder if that is harder on the tranny than not rev matching and they default it because its easier on the car, especially when cold. Using the M button is a good idea but I usually have it set to gonzo settings for when I want to unleash the beast.
Vancouver_M3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2011, 05:27 AM   #5
creepy coupe
Major General
 
creepy coupe's Avatar
 
Drives: M235i
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK

Posts: 8,173
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Strange, here in the UK it defaults to S2
creepy coupe is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2011, 08:41 AM   #6
mkoesel
Moderator
 
Drives: 2015 SO/CSAT F80 M3
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canton, MI

Posts: 13,743
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by creepy coupe View Post
Strange, here in the UK it defaults to S2
Actually, in the UK it always defaults to D2 at startup, but will remember your S mode setting. In contrast, in the US it defaults to S3 at startup, but will remember your D mode setting.
__________________
A gen-u-ine BMW eff-eight-zero with them tandem clutches in the transmission and that dad gum sun roof on the top-a da cawr.
mkoesel is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2011, 08:43 AM   #7
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,528
iTrader: (0)

Dumb question, but somewhat related: It seems that sometimes when I start the car, and move the shift lever, it remembers if I was in D or S mode. Most of the time S is first, but I thought sometimes it's D, if I drove it in D mode when I last stopped the car.
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2011, 09:51 AM   #8
mkoesel
Moderator
 
Drives: 2015 SO/CSAT F80 M3
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canton, MI

Posts: 13,743
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
Dumb question, but somewhat related: It seems that sometimes when I start the car, and move the shift lever, it remembers if I was in D or S mode. Most of the time S is first, but I thought sometimes it's D, if I drove it in D mode when I last stopped the car.
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=416666

It's a bug and has been fixed. However, if you update your software at this time, keep in mind you'll get the new "safety feature" that won't let you move the car without fastening your seatbelt first (search the forum to see the recent threads about it).
__________________
A gen-u-ine BMW eff-eight-zero with them tandem clutches in the transmission and that dad gum sun roof on the top-a da cawr.
mkoesel is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2011, 10:08 AM   #9
SamS
Brigadier General
 
SamS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ActiveHybrid 3
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 4,528
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoesel View Post
http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=416666

It's a bug and has been fixed. However, if you update your software at this time, keep in mind you'll get the new "safety feature" that won't let you move the car without fastening your seatbelt first (search the forum to see the recent threads about it).
Interesting thread, I had not seen it before. And it verifies I wasn't just going crazy when I observed the random behavior!

You'd think I'd have the latest software, since my car is a '12. I did not notice the inability to shift without the seatbelt situation. I suppose my car's software will get updated to the latest, at the VPC. I'm seat belt 100% of the time, anyways, so not sure if it will bother me.

So what is the correct behavior with the new update? Is it "last mode", or S upon start up?
SamS is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-07-2011, 11:18 AM   #10
mkoesel
Moderator
 
Drives: 2015 SO/CSAT F80 M3
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canton, MI

Posts: 13,743
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamS View Post
I'm seat belt 100% of the time, anyways, so not sure if it will bother me.
I always where mine too, but I do tend to click it on as I am pulling out of the garage and backing down the driveway. So it would probably annoy me, at least until I got used to it.

Quote:
So what is the correct behavior with the new update? Is it "last mode", or S upon start up?
S mode at startup (S3 specifically, as noted above).
__________________
A gen-u-ine BMW eff-eight-zero with them tandem clutches in the transmission and that dad gum sun roof on the top-a da cawr.
mkoesel is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST