BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > M3 (E90 / E92 / E93) > General M3 Forum (E90 + E92 + E93)
 
GT Haus
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-12-2011, 10:11 AM   #1
chuckvic
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 M3 DCT Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: el paso

Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)

software update results

Ok I read the SB of what the software update does officially, as it relates to DCT and aftermarket tester.

Here what it really does: changes the appearance of the map (differing colors, makes other minor design changes, no change in function). I am neutral about the changes.

MIGHT have improved by DCT downshifting in D mode, no detectable change in S mode

Did allow a nice throttle blip in D3, it occurs rarely but NEVER did prior.

Car is 2009 DCT, built Jan 2009, this is first software update. It took the techs awhile to get the car to accept it, I think SA said they had to do another update prior to it accepting the main update.

Not a big issue if this is ignored unless after more driving the shift lag is improved ( maybe).


chuck
chuckvic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-12-2011, 10:29 AM   #2
darwin316
Master Chief
 
darwin316's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 e90 M3 JzB
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NOVA

Posts: 640
iTrader: (0)

Nice. I have a 2009 DCT as well. Will need to get this update done sometime in the summer when the car is due for an oil change.
__________________
| 2009 E90 M3 | JZB | Black Leather, Carbon Leather | M-DCT | 19" OEM Wheels | Tech, Premium & Cold Packages | PDC | Alarm | Premium Sound | iPod Adapter |
| 2011 X5 35i Sports Activity| Sapphire Black, Black Leather, Dark Bamboo | Convenience, Tech & Cold Packages | HUD | Comfort Access | Premium Sound |

darwin316 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2011, 09:43 PM   #3
chd2
Driver
 
chd2's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E92 M3 DCT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Seabrook, TX

Posts: 119
iTrader: (0)

Mine is in for it right now. I hope it helps the downshifting. I am getting tired of hearing the motor go, and nothing happens for about 2 seconds, then all hell breaks loose.
chd2 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2011, 09:48 PM   #4
BCA
Captain
 
Drives: 2014 550i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 775
iTrader: (1)

You sure the Nav just isn't in night mode? That's what mine was in when I got it back from its last software update...once I changed it back to regular (day) mode, it was exactly as it was before.
__________________
2014 550i M Sport | Glacier Silver/Black/Anthracite | Executive | Lighting | Luxury Seating | Black Grilles | 20" OEM Style 303 w/Bridgestone S-04

Past BMWs: 2013 E92 M3, 2012 F10 535i, 2011 E90 335i, 2009 E90 M3, 2008 E70 X5, 2006 E90 330i, 2004 E46 330i
BCA is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-15-2011, 12:00 PM   #5
chuckvic
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 M3 DCT Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: el paso

Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)

good idea about NAV being in night mode, will check. thanks

chuck
chuckvic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 11:08 AM   #6
chuckvic
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 M3 DCT Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: el paso

Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)

The NAV system back to normal, it was in night mode. Still no resolution about oil sensor being in op like the OP from california

chuck
chuckvic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-17-2011, 11:57 PM   #7
kouhii
Private
 
Drives: 09 E90M3DCT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silicon Valley

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

My car was fixed. Dealer did some reprogramming and removed the feature, seems like it's not for 09 models...The feature is gone after the fix. Fault code was found through the scanner.

Last edited by kouhii; 03-18-2011 at 12:11 AM.
kouhii is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 12:09 AM   #8
Poppin Fresh
Colonel
 
Poppin Fresh's Avatar
 
Drives: With a sunroof and front plate
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bergen County NJ

Posts: 2,128
iTrader: (0)

I did the update as well and noticed it would drop down a gear a tad faster when going to a stop on S mode. Throttle blipping is more frequent on S when going down to 3. Nav map looks the or maybe it's because I don't pay attention to it. One thing that got me upset was they deleted my saved music and preset FM stations.
__________________
Poppin Fresh is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 02:43 AM   #9
MMMeister
Enlisted Member
 
MMMeister's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Valencia, CA

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Just got my M3 12k service and noticed the navigation setting I had got reset.
My guess they did an update. Now I see this new (or i just didn't notice) addition to the navi options, "Traffic conditions/Gray Map".


Screen used to be multicolored streets. It was hard to distinguish which is the street, your route or the traffic condition.
This selection made the map easier on the eyes with less clutter and you can easily see the traffic conditions of the streets.
__________________
2011 E92 SG DCT ZCP

Last edited by MMMeister; 03-18-2011 at 03:07 AM.
MMMeister is offline   Philippines
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 04:21 AM   #10
formgen
Second Lieutenant
 
formgen's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 535i
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Charleston

Posts: 213
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MMMeister View Post
Just got my M3 12k service and noticed the navigation setting I had got reset.
My guess they did an update. Now I see this new (or i just didn't notice) addition to the navi options, "Traffic conditions/Gray Map".


Screen used to be multicolored streets. It was hard to distinguish which is the street, your route or the traffic condition.
This selection made the map easier on the eyes with less clutter and you can easily see the traffic conditions of the streets.
thats always been there as an optional view
__________________
2014 535i


Past Vehicles
2011.5 E92 M3, 2009 E93 M3, 2008 335xi, 2004 Mustang GT,....
formgen is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 08:05 AM   #11
chuckvic
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 M3 DCT Coupe
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: el paso

Posts: 134
iTrader: (0)

Kouhii- is the faeture you refer to the instant exact oil level check?? So bottom line itt was a software error and the error code will be available? If my dealer has problems, i hope you will private e mail the name of your dealer, so they can talk to each other. Will keep the board advised of any changes.

chuck
chuckvic is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 08:40 AM   #12
BCA
Captain
 
Drives: 2014 550i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 775
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by formgen View Post
thats always been there as an optional view
You sure? You have an '11.5. I don't remember seeing this view as an option on my '09. I will look today, though. My last software update was last summer, so I may not have it if it's a recent addition.

Edit: I checked a little while ago and my car does have that view. Never noticed it before. Should be quite useful.
__________________
2014 550i M Sport | Glacier Silver/Black/Anthracite | Executive | Lighting | Luxury Seating | Black Grilles | 20" OEM Style 303 w/Bridgestone S-04

Past BMWs: 2013 E92 M3, 2012 F10 535i, 2011 E90 335i, 2009 E90 M3, 2008 E70 X5, 2006 E90 330i, 2004 E46 330i

Last edited by BCA; 03-18-2011 at 01:16 PM.
BCA is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 08:56 AM   #13
Sandye90m3
Captain
 
Sandye90m3's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SoCal

Posts: 758
iTrader: (0)

Hey guys, is there anyway an owner of a e9X DCT M3 locate what software version they have via the Idrive?
__________________
M3.e90 JZB blacked out.coded
Sandye90m3 is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-18-2011, 11:47 AM   #14
kouhii
Private
 
Drives: 09 E90M3DCT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silicon Valley

Posts: 77
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckvic View Post
Kouhii- is the faeture you refer to the instant exact oil level check?? So bottom line itt was a software error and the error code will be available? If my dealer has problems, i hope you will private e mail the name of your dealer, so they can talk to each other. Will keep the board advised of any changes.

chuck
Yes, exact oil level measurement feature. Yup they found the fault code. BMW of Mountain View. Good luck.
kouhii is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-08-2011, 12:45 PM   #15
ShErM m3
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2009 e92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston

Posts: 194
iTrader: (1)

so what's the verdict? is it worth going in to get the update? such a large time commitment
ShErM m3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-08-2011, 01:07 PM   #16
Lagunae92
Captain
 
Drives: BMW e92 M3 Laguna Seca Blue
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Long Beach

Posts: 680
iTrader: (0)

my in-call phone layout is different as well, less fancy looking but more functional?
__________________
2009 e92 M3 Individual Laguna Seca Blue|Black Novillo|DCT|19"rims|Carbon Leather|Premium|Tech.|Heated Seats|Prem. Sound|iPod|
Mods: |Electronic Performance Steering Wheel|ZCP CF Spoiler|ZCP CF Spliters|ZCP CF Mirrors|Edition Front Grilles|Edition Side Grilles|BMW Performance Brake Handle|3D Design Pedals| Style Rumore Exhaust|H&R Springs|LCI Tails|Challenge CF Door Panels|
Lagunae92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-09-2011, 01:16 AM   #17
eeeboy
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 08M3 Space Gray DCT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Irvine

Posts: 275
iTrader: (0)

I got the update and no more Bucking Bronco!!!!
eeeboy is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-09-2011, 04:47 AM   #18
Mjolnir
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 M3 Le Mans Blue ZCP DCT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Virginia

Posts: 264
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShErM m3 View Post
so what's the verdict? is it worth going in to get the update? such a large time commitment
May be getting it done today. What time of time are we talking about?
Mjolnir is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-18-2011, 04:16 PM   #19
aus
Major General
 
Drives: Odysse
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Seal Beach, CA

Posts: 7,295
iTrader: (5)

Anyone else having problems with the damn Power button being on a lot more often than before since the update? It used to happen maybe once a month, now it's 30-50% of the time. This occurs at start up.
__________________
Let me get this straight... You are swapping out parts designed by some of the top engineers in the world because some guys sponsored by a company told you it's "better??" But when you ask the same guy about tracking, "oh no, I have a kid now" or "I just detailed my car." or "i just got new tires."
aus is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.




m3post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST